We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming hideaway in rural France, with wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2 Cosy bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
191 reviews
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2
Cosy bedroom
Stylish Gite
Modern Bathrooms with a twist
Secret Garden Cottage twin room - Time for bed
Another lovely bedroom
Private dining
Nearby Grottes - Stunning
Short stroll to the boulangerie in Ferrals
Nearby Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ferrals-les-Corbieres, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 191 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
lornacrof...
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming hideaway in rural France, with wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 25 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We have just enjoyed a lovely 10 night stay at Maison de la Roche, staying in Honeysuckle Cottage. This small cluster of two gites and cottage, plus Honor the owner’s house, is situated behind solid wooden gates in the pretty village of Ferrals les Corbieres. From the courtyard with shady seating under the plane trees where you can safely watch your little ones running to and fro into the playroom or on the swing, to the ‘secret garden’ with olive trees, cacti and herbs, the shared pool (adult standing height even at the deep end so great for kids), and the profusion of orange trees and jasmine, the whole Impression is of a very pretty, tranquil space, in which to escape from the day-to-day and enjoy perfect family time!

Honor the owner is an absolute delight, very helpful, knowledgable and friendly, and great with kids - as is her gorgeous big fluffy dog Bob, a real softy.

The area is great with loads to do for both kids and adults - Mediaeval villages, Cathar castles, beaches, vineyards, local markets, dinosaur parks and even driving distance to Spain. Honor has a huge list of recommendations and I doubt you’ll have time for them all!

Maison de la Roche is a great base for exploring the area, and Honor’s warm personality made it feel like we were her house guests and friends - a home from home in beautiful rural France.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
It was such a pleasure to meet you and it was lovely to look after your delightful daughter too one night - Thank you for choosing here and Bob is looking forward to Poppys return very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous with great atmosphere ”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We found this gite via “tots to travel” as we wanted something that was suitable for our toddler and baby, but we also wanted somewhere that was pretty and charming....we certainly weren’t disappointed. It was a beautiful gite, in a gorgeous setting, with plenty of outdoor seating round the pool, courtyard or under some lovely trees. Our toddler loved finding the secret trampoline and the “toy room” was the first thing he told his grandparents about when we got home! (Lots of buckets & spades, books, dvds, indoor toys- we didn’t take anything on holiday with us from home and our toddler didn’t want for more).
We had lots of fun at the huge sandy beach (30mins away, easy drive), Carcassonne (if you have a toddler you’ll be the proud owners of a plastic sword within minutes!!) and we even drove to Montpellier to go to the aquarium (really really was worth the drive, it was brilliant with lots of interactive stuff to do for kids as young as 2 and we got free entry into the space ‘museum’ which was also lots of interactive fun), Montpellier old town itself was worth going to for lunch or shopping.
All in all a brilliant place to stay. I’d recommend it for families and I’d love to stay there just as a couple too as it had a lovely romantic atmosphere and lots of places to visit close by that would be more fun without a double buggy!
Thanks Honor, lovely to have met you and hope Rome was wonderful. Julia & Matt x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you so much and so glad you had a lovely time (Sorry I took the weather with me to the UK and Rome) but impressed that you did so many things and were so busy. Look forward to seeing you back here again one day soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here just for 4 nights in April 2018 and can't recommend it highly enough. The gite we rented was in impeccable condition. It's located on the edge of the village but this only means a gentle and pleasant 10 minute amble into the centre where there is a bar/bistro and restaurant. There's not a great deal to the village other than that but it's a pleasant and pretty enough village in that rustic manner typical of rural France. In the accommodation itself the bedrooms were lovely, the shower was fantastic and the open plan living room, dining area/kitchen was excellent. Whenever we've gone self catering a regular complaint has always been poorly equipped or fitted out kitchen. This was not the case at all here as everything we needed to prepare food was available. Unfortunately due to the poor weather in the lead up to our stay the pool wasn't open so not able to comment on that aspect of the accommodation. We did however enjoy sitting out in the enclosed courtyard area to enjoy the warm sunny weather with a glass of the local red. Honor was an excellent host who was always available for help and advice if required. She had great knowledge of events and activities taking place locally and I would like to thank her for the welcome pack of wine, cheese and bread. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to visit Ferrals or to use it as a base to explore the wider area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you for choosing here to stay - It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to you coming back here again one day very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmandJim5...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent week in perfect location for the beach and the countryside”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week staying at Maison de la Roche during the Easter holidays. Honor and Bob the dog (very gentle and friendly) made us feel incredibly welcome - the gite was spacious, homely and beautifully decorated. It had everything we needed for a comfortable week in this wonderful part of France, and we were welcomed by a bottle from a local vineyard, cheese and bread which was a lovely thought.

Despite the variable weather (still better than the UK!) in April, Honor gave us lots of great ideas and recommendations of places to visit, the best local markets, etc, and we struggled to decide what not to do - one week was just not enough! Highlights for us were the medieval city of Carcassone, Grotte de Limousis, the market at Mirepoix, and Gruissan (the beach, the town and the Flamingos!). Our young boys would also add the dinosaur museum at Esperaza which was a great way to spend a few hours on a rainy day. The Abbey at Lagrasse is also only a short drive from the gite and again the historic town was beautiful.

We look forward to returning to take advantage of the pool at the gite and see the vineyards at their best. Thank you Honor for a great week at your lovely gites.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holiday - It was great that you really made the most of your time despite the weather . You did so much but hope you have left some stuff to do so you can come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaora58
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Peacefully, beautifully perfect”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed here as a group - and was so pleased from the 'get go' - Honor met us all and showed us our Gites, which are just perfect - they're spacious and well equipped and so very comfortable - The house and gardens are so beautiful and peaceful and the swimming pool is a boon - I would recommend here to anyone and I will certainly be going back :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2017
Thank you Karen and it was lovely to meet you and all the ladies! What an inspiring group of women! You are a born organiser and I look forward to the next Holistic weekend retreat next year and seeing you even sooner ! Honor x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraEn20...
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location and wonderful host!”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Two couples traveling together - we rented the two gites with a shared landing which worked perfectly for us. Well equipped kitchens which we appreciated as we cooked in most evenings. Fantastic central location to base ourselves and do a different day trip each day to historic points of interest, the Cathar Castles particularly. Honor is a friendly, helpful and knowledgeable host who went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and in the know on local happenings like the various markets, hidden boutiques and live music. Excellent experience all round.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Dear Laura
Thank you so much for firstly choosing to stay here and for being such fun happy guests and thirdly for taking the time to write this review. I know you went out to visit a lot but you left a lot to see even closer to the gites so fingers cross you choose to come back again one day soon. Best wishes to all and maybe see you one day in the USA or SA!!! XXX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a place to visit, Gites are huge and equipped with everything you can think of. Honor is the ultimate host, we really did not want for anything. fantastic stay, would defiantly recommend a visit. We will be back!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Oh thank you Jeannette . A real joy to meet you and definitely can't wait to meet you again and hopefully bring your family next time!! Best wishes Honor and Emma (and Holly and Bob)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing