We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siblu Villages - La Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We came in August 2011, we'll be back in July. We loved every minute of every day and we can't wait to be back! The location, the entertainment, the accommodation, the weather were all spot on. Go if you can!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Birchy20698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsg40, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are coming back! We hope that you will have an even greater time this year! Thank you very much for posting your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

We booked last year and came with 2 friends and had a great time - though the standard of the mobile homes varied considerably from very good to very old. This year we came back on our own and luckily had a lovely chalet close to the lake. We have 3 children aged 7, 10 and 12 and they loved the pool in the morning and the lake in the afternoon. The lake had lots of activities and it is worth hiring a kayak and trying windsurfing. The beaches nearby were great we went to minizman but make sure you are by the lifeguards as the waves are big!! There are great cycle paths nearby and we had a great time cycling in the late afternoon. We didnt bother with the entertainment but overall a great campsite in a lovely location, great on site safe beach and close to lovely locations (make sure you do the pyla de dune) do not bother with aqua land overpriced and massive queues!) didn't have a problem with noise and people very friendly. We are seriously thinking of coming back again next year - if we could guarantee the same chalet we would be booked already! Kids would love to come back but worried we will get a location away fro the beach,

Room Tip: By the lake if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1st-time-usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsg40, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

We are very pleased that you had a great time with us! It is true that with the lake and all the activities it has to offer La Reserve is ideal for families. We hope to see you next year! Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at La Reserva for two weeks in the start of the school summer holidays (end of July, start of Aug 12).
Pro's:
The caravan was very good, even had a dishwasher and our own washing machine which we have never had before.
Onsite shop very good, excellent bread and fruit (better than local supermarket).
Lake with beach is nice.
One time I had to ask someone to call for a small plumbing issue, it was sorted promptly even at nearly 9pm.
Great beaches in the area, esp Mimizan.
Cons:
OMG! you will not believe the volume of the evening entertainment, and it goes on until about 1am.
Our caravan was next to one of the main roads within the site, so after the noise of the entertainment had died down, we then had drunk people walking home to their caravan talking loudly through the night.
All the entertainment we saw was in French, even a kids Pinnochio show.
We didn't go to the onsite restaurant but another family we met there had been for a birthday and said it was dreadful.
It's miles from everything, definately need a car.

Room Tip: Our 'excellence' caravan was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sunnysam095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsg40, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

We are sorry that you found he village to be too noisy. The outside entertainment ends at 11 PM and the indoor bar Airial was renovated this year. In all venues we strictly measure and respect the level of decibels. I am surprised that you only saw the entertainment in French since our entertainment teams are bilingual and all shows are held in both French and English. We thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we hope that to have the pleasure to welcome you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Luckily for us our friend owns one of the park homes at La Reserve. We went out of season (middle september) so the facilities were pretty quiet but most things were open ie the pool, bar and shop. Restaurant closed in the evenings but didn't mind this as we had a couple of bbqs on our own terrace and then some meals out.
Because it was quiet and the weather was a bit iffy some of the days we didn't try any watersports but we did use the beach on the lake, and it was clean, tidy and a lovely spot for fishing or a picnic!
A couple of nights we went to the bar for a music quiz and then karaoke, the drinks were cheap and the service at the bar was really good. The owner also included us even though most of the other people were French which was lovely and he was so welcoming to us. The rest of the staff are so friendly too.
The site itself feels very safe and is well maintained and even though there are a lot of park homes you still get a lot of privacy around your own terrace and not much noise from other people.
The shop is ok for bits and bobs, the pastries are really good in the mornings but for anything else I'd say go to L'Clerc or Intermarche which are about 10 min away at most.
If we went again we would go when it's a bit busier ie in June/July and make use of the watersports and the beach parties they sometimes do. When we went out in Mimizan and Biscarosse it was very quiet in the evenings even though the beach was quite busy during the day. A lot of the gift shops and bars were closed but we did find a handful of good restaurants which was all we needed really.

Room Tip: Ask for a park home in the trees as you seem to get more privacy than the ones that aren't near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMorgan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsg40, Responsable relations publiques at Siblu Villages - La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your nice comments about the village and the teams on park! We are pleased to know that you had a lovely time at La Réserve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We first went here about 15 years ago, and have been back 4 times now. We have a boat and the fresh water lake is just perfect for waterskiing, wake boarding and the like. There is a little harbour where, for a fee, you can moor your boat for your holiday, and then it is just so easy to walk down, launch and be on the water in no time at all. The beach by the lake is lovely, the pool area has been updated and is now a relaxing place to be with nice new comfy sun loungers, although the pool is still freezing!
You do have to travel to other beaches, but Mimizan and Biscarosse are just beautiful and a must if you have surfers in the family.
We will be back, my 2 boys (13 & 12) say it is the best place they have ever been on holiday. Although I might prefer a 5* all inclusive, for the boat & surf & wake boarding mad kids and husband I have this is where they love to be.
The vans are clean, comfortable, well spaced out and have everything you need. The staff on site are friendly and helpful. Great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsg40, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

It is very nice to know that you had a great time at La Réserve! The village, the lake, the beach and the pools will be waiting for you and the teams will be pelased to wlecome you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have just returned from a week at this oark and were thoroughly impressed. Our caravan was an excellence with a balcony and was immaculate upon arrival with a bottle of wine waiting for us.
The park itself was pefect for the children and all the equipment in the play park and sports areas was clean and and in good condition.
We have stayed at these types of parks before and expect them to have a certain amount of wear and tear especially towards the end of the season. However, the pool area was clean and there were no broken tiles or flaking paint in sight. Everything looked well cared for and the staff were all very helpful. The shop is not extortionate as I expected it to be, but they do run out of pain au chocolate in the morning if you are late risers like us !
The evening entertainment was good and the children enjoyed the kids clubs (We have an 8, 7 and 3 year old).
The park is quite isolated and there isn't much to see unless you are prepared to travel. For us this was rather fortunate as we couldn't persuade the kids to leave the park anyway.
My only crticism of the park is that the take-away food bar is pricey and not particulaly good and as the park is quite some distance from civilisation, if you are not prepared to cook, then you may be disappointed by the on-site eateries.
We will definately use Siblu again and look forward to next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loucozade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsg40, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

It is always a pleasure for the teams to receive nice comments from our holidaymakers, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just come back from a week at La reserve, and really enjoyed the place. What you have to remember with these types of resorts is that they are simply mobile home parks in the sun. Think of it that way and you won't disappointed.

We booked a private 'owner home' very last minute and although it was 5 or 6 years old it was still very clean and tidy and under the trees so it was always the same temp, even when it went above 30 degrees. We had a good look at the Siblu owned homes and they looked very nice but I would go for the larger ones if you can afford it as the small ones looked a little basic.

We took our 8 year old daughter and she loved it. The pools and slides kept her entertained most days and she made new friends, so if your only taking one child you should be fine. I would say that it was half French and half English and we noticed that the French generally didn't come out to the pool until the late afternoon. Never had an issue with loungers as the pool doesn't open until ten so no early morning 'reserving trips' required as you see elsewhere in the world.

Take bikes if you can as the whole park and surrounding area is completely flat and with bike paths everywhere. Hiring on-site could work out expensive (3 bikes for a week around 150 euros!)

Entertainment in the evenings 60/40 bias towards the French and standard holiday camp stuff; nothing serious and aimed at the kids. All the staff I encountered were polite and spoke enough English to get you through the day.

Onsite shop a bit expensive (but to be expected), so if you can, go to Perentis and the Intermache supermarket for better value.

If you can, have a day at Mimizan beach. It's a lovely resort with a fantastic beach and the best Ice cream parlours I've ever seen! Don't go on a Thursday as parking can be a problem due to a local Market.

Aqualand, which is about 40 minutes away, is worth a trip, but you need to get there early and rent the rubber rings you need for most of the rides. We got there about 12 and the queues were pretty long. Rent a ring and you get to jump the queues, but these were sold out by the time we got there. The rides are very good though, really fast if you like that sort of thing!

Would highly recommend the place, but it is a good 9 - 10 hours from Calais and about 60 euros in tolls each way, so be prepared!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsg40, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

WIth the on site beach on the lake, its pools and its kids clubs La Réserve is indeed a very good place for families and we are happy that you think so too! We hope to have the pleasure to see you on the village again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gastes
4.2 mi away
Les Cottages du Lac
Les Cottages du Lac
#1 of 4 in Parentis-en-Born
350 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Domaine de Gascogne
5.5 mi away
Hype Hotel
Hype Hotel
#1 of 11 in Biscarrosse
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lakeside
Lakeside
#3 of 4 in Parentis-en-Born
61 reviews
16.9 mi away
Siblu Villages - Les Dunes de Contis
Siblu Villages - Les Dunes de Co...
#3 of 4 in Saint-Julien-en-Born
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevloc
Sevloc
#2 of 5 in Gastes
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siblu Villages - La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siblu Villages - La Reserve

Address: 1229 avenue Felix Ducournau, 40160 Gastes, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Gastes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Gastes
Price Range: £45 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siblu Villages - La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 818
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday village has its own lakeside sandy beach on the calm and clear waters of Lake Biscarrosse. We offer a wide range of water sports and the village is packed with fantastic facilities including fully lifeguarded outdoor pools with waterslides and an indoor heated pool, bars and a restaurant, tennis courts, free childrens'clubs, bike hire. The stunning sandy beaches of Aquitaine are nearby. Cycle paths lead from the holiday village through the surrounding forest and to the coast. Our village is aimed at families and offers a little bit of paradise for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siblu Villages - La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siblu Village Camping - La Reserve Hotel Parentis-En-Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing