We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing family cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious lounge with wood burning stove and baby grand piano.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lounge with wood burning stove and baby grand piano.
Cosy wood stove for cooler evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Spacious lounge with wood burning stove and baby grand piano.
Cosy wood stove for cooler evenings
Oak floored diningroom.
Shower room
Four poster bed and vanity basin in master bedroom
Second 'king size' bedroom
Twin room
Sheltered family friendly beach
Picturesque and tranquil Findochty
Looking west from the harbour
Overlooking the marina
Boats in the marina
A view of Findochty
Much photographed harbour and church
Traditional painted fisherman's cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frank Jes...
Catania, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing family cottage!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our best European trip! From booking through return everything was perfect. The cottage was wonderful and Ian and Ishbel treated us like long list relatives! I have never had such a warm welcome or delightful stay as we had in Scotland. The beds were heavenly (soft, lovely comforters with loads of pillows), kitchen was perfect for our family, and the piano and fireplace were a touch of home. Findochty was easy to find and the multiple emails from the owners truly made me feel like we were visiting friends. I would go back tomorrow and my family still laments the fact that we couldn't stay longer. The cottage is chock full of maps and information on absolutely everything there is to do in the area. 5 star all the way! Also, the welcome hamper was more than plentiful for our family of four! Ian and Ishbel are the best;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The piano and the proximity to the amazing coastal trail!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alannah C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Great Weekend”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a lovely stay in Findtochty. The cottage was immacutely presented and had everything we needed for our stay. We couldn't fault the friendly welcome and the house was perfectly clean. The locals were also very friendly and we enjoyed an excellent meal in the local pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcjasper
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Fantastic cottage, well equipped, immaculately clean. The beds were very comfy. Breakfast pack in fridge was much appreciated after a long journey.
Definitely recommend this holiday house. Sitting out on the patio in the blazing sun with a coffee was bliss. The house is only a stones throw from the beach and the children loved running down & playing on the sand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beds were very comfy
Liked least: only one bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jockstew1...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely house in a lovely place”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I knew fron the excellent video on the web and the response to my enquiries that this would be a good choice and I was not disappointed. The cottage has lots of spaces (there was 5 of us), it was well equiped in every respect and completely hassle free. Add to that that it was adjacent to the lovely harbour and an easy drive to lots of golf courses and places of interest. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortasble sitting room with a log fire for the colded evenings.
Liked least: The living room needed the fire because the radiator was too small for the room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONAB
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Dealing with Ishbel and Ian was very easy, they were quick to respond to emails and were very helpful. I had never heard of Findochty before but would not hesitate to go back to the village and the same cottage. Ishbel and Ian provide a welcome pack including enough food to make sandwiches, milk and fruit etc which means if you arrive tired and hungry you will be catered for. The cottage is equipped with the extras that you don't find elsewhere including tea towels, kitchen roll, bin liners etc which means you don't have to take everything with you.

The location was perfect we had four boys between the ages of 7 and 11, with the beach being just metres away from the front door, it meant the children could experience the freedom to roam that they don't have in the city. The cottage is near to the coastal path which will offer you breath taking views on the walk to Cullen. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no mobile service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyJay77...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Coastal Cottage is the most pleasant cottage we have stayed in”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We first went to Coastal Cottage in 2011 with our grandchildren, we all enjoyed it so much that it was a unanimous decision to return again last year for another week. The kids are teenagers now so not easily pleased,but they fished every day from the local harbours and were taken out one day by one of the local fishermen in a boat, they absolutely loved it. The cottage is traditional, very cosy and comfortable with everything in it you could possibly need, and so close to the harbour too, the log burner and the piano were big hits with the kids. Bedrooms were brilliant, good big spacious comfortable rooms, as were all other rooms. A nice surprise were the books, CD's, and lots of games which kept us occupied in the evenings. The owners are very friendly and made us feel welcome on our arrival, the village itself is beautiful with just the right amount of shops. No doubt we will be going back again either later this year or next, if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Findochty or the surrounding area for a holiday then I can think of nowhere better. I would personally recommend it very highly indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and warm feeling of the cottage itself
Liked least: No bad points at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark a
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in July 2012

A very well equipped and clean cottage. Owners were very helpful and able to recommend plenty of places to visit. Our children enjoyed playing the games provided and flying the kite. Lovely beach at Sandend and Spey Bay is worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and quiet location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing