We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and views- great food too”
Review of Aurora - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aurora
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and views- great food too”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Probably one of the best locations for a restaurant along the coast. Some great coffee selections and the beans they use are 100% perfect. No bitterness just smooth coffees every time.
Have visited many since it opened for snacks, coffees, evening drinks and lunches. Never once has this place failed to deliver good quality food.
Why not 5 stars?
I think some of the prices (even for the location) is a bit too steep to,pay. A proper balance needs to be found that delivers value to customers and isnt all about cost.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckie Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great Value Sunday Lunch.”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Having visited the Aurora on several occasions and had a good meal we decided to give their Sunday Lunch a try. As previously stated the location is great situated on the beach adjacent to the Caravan park at Strathlene. This time we found the service to be quick attentive and efficient. With special mention for the young blond haired waitress who was very good at her job. I would recommend that you book as the place was out the door with contented diners. At only £12.00 for 2 courses no wonder. We started with prawn cocktail which was nicely presented and very tasty. For our main we had the roast beef which came with ample beef I had 2 thick large slices surrounded by Roast, boiled, and mashed potatoes broccoli, carrots, green beans and deep fried cauliflower. The food was delicious and well worth the money. The lunch menu has 3 starters, 3 mains, and 3 sweets, but we were to full to have any pudding. In addition the restaurants normal menu is also available.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigbobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was fine”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We got to Aurora about 2.30 pm so were not surprised that the lunch menu had ended. I had Cullen Skink which was delicious, as well as a freshly made Egg Mayo sandwich. My husband had coffee (the broth was finished!) and a very tasty chicken and chilli sandwich with coleslaw and crisps. The view is amazing! The only snag was that they close at 4 pm so by 3.30 it was obvious that they were cleaning up prior to leaving and I found this a bit unwelcoming. The staff were, however, friendly and smiling. We will be back to give it a fairer trial.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulineT479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckie
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Poor service and food”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Amazing views and location but thats all it has to offer. The waiting staff need to smile more and are clearly in need of some training. The food is average cafe food and quite expensive for what is on the plate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golfwidow53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We went for Sunday lunch with elderly parents, having phoned to book a table first. The food on the Sunday Lunch menu was excellent, extremely tasty and well presented, with choices to suit even the plainest of eaters. The service was very friendly and attentive with "off menu" requests being catered for easily. The portions were big and great value for money. And the view was fantastic! It is worth a visit but note that they now close early and don't seem to cater for evening meals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dams0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing