We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service.”
Review of Rockpool Cafe

Rockpool Cafe
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Buckie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ayamonte, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slow service.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Looks good, nice items for sale from a Buckie shop. Service slow throughout, not sure if the locals got served before us. Food was good once it arrived. Good clean toilets. Main meals sounded really good, could be tempted back for a lunch. Shame it is not open all week.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank noneallowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    54
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely spot to stop for lunch”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had a lovely light lunch here in May. Lovely location just before the famous arches and then on to the glorious beach. Very good menu and clean and spotless. Highly recommended to break your journey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb Quality”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Very busy with reservations, but the staff fitted us in nonetheless. I had Cullen skink, which was superb, a bottle of dandelion and burdock and a flat white coffee, the latter was a bit strong for my taste, but my partner for lunch would have liked it. She had a posh salmon sandwich, which she rated as excellent; plenty of filling, which always seems to put a smile on her face! She had a bottle of the Victorian lemonade.

The staff were lovely. The service of the drinks was a little slow, but they were busy so you can't knock them for that. Would definitely recommend it and would go back, but I would say that booking is essential as we saw people turned away. We visited on Sunday just after midday.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank evrynameistaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great place for a coffee & a scone or a meal.
Good homely food and excellent service.
Probably best to book a table as it's very busy.
Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sky8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We first tried Rockpool on the Thursday of a week's stay in Cullen and wished we'd found it earlier!

We had an excellent lunch (appropriately perhaps the best Cullen Skink ever!) great service (we were lucky to be squeezed in without a reservation) and all at a very reasonable cost - it's just a pity they don't open at night.

Go there if you can, make sure to book and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellinRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockpool Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rockpool Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing