We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent meal”

The Old Coach House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Coach House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Buckie B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I were starting a ten-day Speyside Whiskey Walk in Buckie. A local we met on the bus from Elgin recommended this place for dinner, so we tried it out. The food was adequate and the portions were good, but the place was a little run-down and the server seemed distracted. We enjoyed the meal but we didn't exactly feel entirely welcome, though I can't say the service was bad. A lot of locals were dining there, so it must have something going for it. If you want a decent Scottish meal, it's a decent place. If you are looking for something fancy, or for a lovely experience, go somewhere else.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I booked in to this hotel for one night as I was on Business. I would not recomend needs a little TLC bit run down. No soap in the bathroom/cupboard bed was clean, I ate in the hotel that night. Food was good the service not to bad. In the morning I could not find anyone to tell me where to get breakfast rang the bell several times eventually someone came as she was outside having a smoke. Once I got breakfast it look like a dogs dinner no presentation.
I would not book this hotel again.

Carroy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buckie hotels

Stonehaven
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Fourth time in two weeks I have returned to this hotel for an evening meal. Food first three times, excellent. Last night, poor. Saddle of lamb with red currant "jus" and minted mash. Lamb overlooked, jus was as thick as treacle and very intense flavour and all vegetables coated in it. The minted mash was green and no flavour of potato left. I pointed out my disappointment to hotel owner, no apology, no reduction in bill. No hospitality skills shown, never a "nice to see you again" or "welcome back" on the upside, staff in public bar excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The carvery unfortunately was not working on the day I and a few of our car club visited the area.
The dining room was well laid out and clearly had a number of regular locals in for their lunch. Despite the carvery having blown a fuse the staff were all very attentive.
The meal I had was hot and served on even hotter plates! My only regret given what I consider to be excellent food and service is the location which is nearly 60 miles from my home. That said if I am inthe area again on a Sunday this will be my first choice. I would recommend that if you are going to have lunch you should book first and not rely on there being free tables as you could easily be turned away

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agadir, Morocco
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Excellent food at a great price,. We visited today not for the first time to have a carvery lunch. The starters were superb my wife had Cullen Skink and I had the Pate we only waited minutes for it to be served, for main course we had the carvery, we both went for the pork, it was cooked perfectly and accompanied with a good selection of veg which wasnt overcooked also roast potato, boiled potato, stuffing yorkshire puddings and gravy all of which we helped ourselves to except the pork, we were both served 3 generous slices,for sweet my wife asked for vanilla ice cream I had the pineapple pavalova which was massive the total bill including drinks was under £30 great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We travelled for 2 weeks in Scotland. The Only night with no reservation, for adventure.. We found this one at 7h at night. We were à bit disapointed by the rooms. It looked like a cheep motel room, with left over used soap in the shower. We Also think We had à ghost expérience? But the food was good. And the young lady who serves us was Very Nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypno2claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Four of us had a really nice evening meal here.
Home made soup for starters, they even gave two of us half portions of Cullen Skink.
Two of us had 12oz sirloin steaks, one lasagne and one steak and guinness pie.......no complaints ar all.
This is the third time we've eaten here and we'd certainly return again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HiYaHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckie
4.7 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
12.2 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
15.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kintrae Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
The Mill House Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Seashore Cottage
Seashore Cottage
#5 of 8 in Buckie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House Hotel

Property: The Old Coach House Hotel
Address: High Street, Buckie AB56 1AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Buckie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buckie
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Hotel Buckie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing