We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality”
Review of Le Foineau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Foineau
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm Hospitality”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our second visit at Le Foineau since last year. Nicolas and Melina are great hosts and truly make their guests feel comfortable in their lovely home. Each night, dinner is offered, and is always delicious and served with special care. The dining area includes a large table around which everyone can sit and converse easily. Nicolas is always charming and has a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDLEE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Melina & Nicholas's B&B. Our bedroom was light and spacious. There is a lounge, kitchen, patio, garden and pool available for your use. We stayed 2 nights and both nights Melina cooked us a lovely 4 course meal, great to be able to come in after a busy day to a lovely meal and not have to drive. Melina was great to talk to and gave us lots of good ideas of what to do and what life in France is like. It was a pleasure to stay here, thank you both regards Maxine & John

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMaxKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were a party of 2 families (4 adults and 3 kids 3-5 yr old) and we decided on a little road trip from Paris to Burgundy, with Le Foineau as our base for about a week. We wanted something low-key, but still fun and exciting for all. Staying in the countryside with chickens and farms nearby was certainly a welcomed heaven for us city folks to unplug and recharge. It's easy to find with Google Maps and a convenient hop to Tournus, Beaune and Cluny.

The rooms and facilities were charming, tasteful and well thought-out. Once we learned that Nicolas was very hands-on from design to build-out, we felt even more special to stay there. (The dining table is truly a work of art!)

As the title of this review indicates, Nicolas and Melina are truly the host and hostess with the most. They are knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and gave us great tips on points of interest and restaurant recommendations - especially that we have young kids. Breakfasts and dinners were fantastic. Fresh coffee awaited, like magic, for some of us who woke way before we intended to. It's very thoughtful that the kids could have their dinner a bit earlier so we can steal away for some adult conversations and enjoy Nicolas' company over a glass (or 2, or 3) of wine.

Melina and Nicolas were always accommodating and respectful, that it's impossible to not relax and enjoy our time at Le Foineau. Le Foineau (and the chickens) are definitely our little one's favorite part of the trip, and she regards "Mr. Nicolas" like an old friend. I'm certain that she will take us back for a visit as soon as she can.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLee646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had read the tripadvisor reviews and so we looked forward to staying at this Bed & Breakfast while we traveled from Switzerland to Brittany. As we pulled off the highway and onto the back roads of Burgundy, we were tired and ready for our stop. We were hoping that we wouldn't be disappointed, after all, this took us 20 mins. out of our way in each direction and well into the countryside and was a bit "off the beaten track".....
What we discovered upon pulling up to this tiny, quiet village, was a B& B full of charm, a delight!

Our hosts, Mélina et Nicolas BALLON-DERVAULT, greeted us warmly. Melina was taking care of the kitchen , while Nicolas showed us around and accompanied us to the two rooms we reserved. We were 2 adults traveling with 2 teenage boys. Our rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean. We were told to assemble in the dining room at 19:30hrs for dinner.

We soon realized that our host was a wealth of knowledge regarding the region, the wines and food. He was passionate about Burgundy, enthusiastic and entertaining. We started off with a delicious apero of special drinks from the area, followed by an appetizer of delicious homemade Pate de Campagne (made from the neighbor's piggy), followed by an entree of Poulet de Bresse, which melted in my mouth. It was sooooooooo good! The dessert was a Pate a choux pastry with homemade ice cream. Of course , every course was accompanied by the perfect wine and we finished off the meal with a Marc de Bourgogne. We sat there for three hours and savored everything! Our table companions were a Belgian family, on their way to the Camargue.

Nicolas recommended that we visit Brancion, a medieval village nearby. Definitely worth a visit
to see the castle and the the village plus the Romanesque church dating back to the 14th Century with its beautiful frescoes.

On the way back to the highway, we stopped in Tournus, where we walked through the Saturday morning Farmer's market. This picturesque town, on the bank of the Saone River.

So glad we had the chance to stay at Le Foineau. They do it right! Merci, c'etait super!

Room Tip: Our rooms were perfect for us. We stayed in the upstairs double room,"Sur la route des vins&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfodru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsten, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We enjoyed the tastefully decorated rooms, the wonderful meal and above all the warm and enthusiastic welcome which Melina and Nicloas gave us so much that we came back for another night after our planned tour of the area. We were made to feel really at home in this very well renovated converted barn. It was still too cold to use the pool, but we enjoyed sitting in the large garden talking to our hosts' 2 friendly chickens! This is a B&B we would love to return to for a longer stay. We were very grateful to Nicolas for his wine recommendation - Cave de Bissy at Bissy sous Cruchard - where we bought good wine at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: There are just 3 rooms, each with a different character and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Warm and friendly hosts, clean room and wonderful situation in the heart of the forests and medieval castles of Burguny. Do you need more than that? To talk with Nicolas about his country and its problems drinking a good wine? You'll have it too. Surely we'll return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Le Foineau is situated in picturesque French country side, down a drive from a quiet but well maintained road, with plenty of parking.

The buildings are characterful and the grounds beautiful, I stayed at Le Foineau on two occasions, and was in a different room both times. The rooms were large, well decorated, and very comfortable. The rooms were quiet, and a thoroughly good nights sleep was had.

Breakfast is a continental affair, fresh coffee, juice, cereals, brioche etc, as well a delicious spiced bread which I understand to be a bit of a speciality at Le Foineau.

The hosts of Le Foineau are what really made the place for me. Always cheerful and helpful, attentive, and speak English better than I do it seemed.

I thoroughly enjoyed both of my stats at Le Foineau, and will recommend this place to friends and family in the future.

Thanks for a great stay.

10/10.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bresse-sur-Grosne
1.3 mi away
La Place Hotel Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Le Clos des Tourelles
Le Clos des Tourelles
#1 of 1 in Sennecey-le-Grand
56 reviews
13.1 mi away
La Pierre Folle
La Pierre Folle
#2 of 14 in Cluny
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Chateau de Burnand
Chateau de Burnand
#1 of 1 in Burnand
39 reviews
9.1 mi away
Le Clos du Grand Bois
0.0 mi away
Chateau de Bresse sur Grosne
Chateau de Bresse sur Grosne
#2 of 2 in Bresse-sur-Grosne
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Foineau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Foineau

Property: Le Foineau
Address: Colombier sous Uxelles, Colombier le bas | Colombier, 71460 Bresse-sur-Grosne, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Bresse-sur-Grosne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bresse-sur-Grosne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The maison d'hôtes (B&B) is next to our house, it is a converted barn and has been stylishly refurbished to make you feel at home in a separate area.Our home is in the village of Colombier, along a cul-de-sac village street in a quiet area, near CLUNY, MACON, TAIZE.You can visit our beautiful region with our free bycicles,enjoy the large pool or just relax in the shade of the orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Foineau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing