We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Top Elegance!”
Review of Residenza Farnese

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Farnese
Ranked #1 of 6 Farnese B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in several excellent B&Bs in Italy and France during a recent visit. None can compare to the excellence of the Residenza Farnese. It's an amazingly beautiful, tasteful, elegant and delightful experience, truly a cut above other "good" to "great" places to stay. Francesca moved to Farnese from Rome, and renovated the spaces with an elegant sophistication and attention to traveler's needs. The best bathroom found in our travels - very spacious shower, excellent amenities and elegant decor. The room was delightful - spotlessly clean, spacious and warmly welcoming, much like Francesca herself. We had booked a single night given our itinerary, and only wished we had stayed longer!

Also, Francesca recommended Piazetta del Sole for diner - our best dinner of the trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anjrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have spent ten days here and enjoyed exceptional hospitality; we were made very welcome by Francesca (our hostess); the breakfasts were exceptionally good and the room spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
This bed and breakfast is very special and despite the very cool and wet weather we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Let me tell you that we have done 8 citys in Italy for over one month, and this location will stay in our heads forever . Francesca ,she's the most welcoming persone ever. I remember that we took a reservation to the best restaurant in Farnese and she offer to take us there , because we had no ideea where this resto is .Beside's that it's was one off the best restourants in this hole vacation. If you want to see what Italy is about ... this is the place .
We will go back , and that is a promis that we made because it was an OUTSANDING experience.
The rooms are simply impeccable modern and roustic in the same time ...

I recomand this place 100 %

Florin and Claudia ( Canada )

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nistor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at this B&B for a week in late September-early October, 2012. It's a very attractive, well-run, highly satisfying environment. Francesca, the owner, is warm and helpful. She aims to please, and does so. Her English is quite good. She prepares a nutritious and satisfying daily breakfast which, in nice weather, can be taken on her flower-lined terrace. The bedroom was spacious and just everything about the place was enjoyable. 5 stars.

Bob and Lynn

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is charming. Small but attractive room with a relatively large modern bathroom and a big shuttered window. Staff are sophisticated and helpful with excellent English. The breakfast is an absolute treat. Great location.

3  Thank robyn94
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Residenza Farnese is a lovely B&B that was a perfect home base for us as we explored the charming town of Farnese and the surrounding area. Francesca is a gracious, kind and attentive host who has created a beautiful, peaceful B&B that we would recommend to anyone. It was perfect for even our large family of 6. The parents felt pampered in the lovely "L'Amour" room while our 3 teenagers and 10 year old shared 2 rooms upstairs. It truly felt like vacation to have the rare privacy of a couples suite while our children are perfectly safe and happy in 2 other rooms. Francesca has created a beautiful, artistic and contemporary decor within the thick stone walls of a centuries-old building, allowing for every modern convenience but maintaining the charm of the building and Farnese. The sunporch where she served a tasty and complete breakfast each day was a perfect start to each day. In a word: GO. If you haven't been to Farnese, it's wonderful, and this B&B and is worth the trip alone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JESSPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed here during June as part of a retreat and could not have asked for a better place to temporarily call home. The B&B is located in the medieval town of Farnese in Tuscany. Francesca, the owner, has taken an old building and completely transformed the interior without losing any of the charm. The bathrooms are all new and sleek, the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. Unlike most places in Tuscany, air-conditioners and ceiling fans are used, which helped considerably since we were experiencing temperatures in the high 90's during the day. Breakfast was a delight each morning, with Francesca's home-baked torts and cakes, yogurt and ricotta from local sources (we know because we met the farmers), cereal, fruit, toast, and capuccino or caffe americano, if that's your preference. One of our group requested boiled eggs; the next morning and every day thereafter still warm eggs were waiting for us. We sat on the balcony full of flowers, watched the swallows and the occasional cat on roof tops while planning our daily activities. It was a civilized and special way to begin each day. Francesca is a lovely host who makes every guest feel welcome.

The old town of Farnese is a warren of tiny, narrow cobblestone streets, so only the smallest of cars can get through (we still managed to scrape our side mirrors even though they were pulled in) and parking is limited to the main parking lot down the hill from the B&B. It's easy enough to walk the distance, but something to consider if guests are hauling huge bags or lots of luggage. Be sure to visit the Rokkabar in town - a tiny space that sells tobacco, candy and gelato besides being an internet hot-spot, bar, deli and local hangout.

From Farnese we made day trips to Lago del Bolsena (like Lake Tahoe but with warm water) and the towns of Orvietto and Civitta Bangoregio, all of which are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnese
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Cerrosughero
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Il Bottino
#4 of 6 in Farnese
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio Torreano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
B&B Qui dormi l'Etrusco
5.7 mi away
Villa Vacasio
Villa Vacasio
#1 of 15 in Pitigliano
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Gelsomino
Il Gelsomino
#2 of 6 in Farnese
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Farnese

Address: Via Giovanni Battista Passeri 165, 01010 Farnese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Farnese
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Farnese
Price Range: £52 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Residenza Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Farnese Hotel Farnese
Residenza Farnese Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing