We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit- Christmas at KK”
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahanda Kanda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was our second time to Kahanda Kanda. Our first time was on our honeymoon and this time with our parents and sister/brother in law. We were blown away the first time and this visit was just as good.

Our arrival was in the early hours of the morning after a delayed flight and we were surprised to see a team of people to welcome us. It was a great sight after a long journey!

We stayed in the Araliya suite which was very spacious and had lovely views across the valley. Squirrels, monkeys, peacocks and various birds could all be viewed from the balcony. Our family were in the Mango and Tamarind suites which were beautiful. They also had a day bed area inside as well as larger more comfortable looking day beds outside so they would be my pick next time. The downside is that both of these rooms had barely any hot water/shower pressure whereas ours was fine.

The common areas are divine - you can really while away the days by the pool or in the lounge. The pool is a perfect temperature and all areas have views down across the tea estate to the lake. I don't understand the comments about the pool being murky - it is tiled in black slate so that is the colour of the tiles. It completely suits the surroundings as a bright blue sparkly pool would look out of place.

Food was good - not quite as memorable as our first visit (I didn't see the same chef so may have changed). The BBQ on Christmas day was fantastic.

The highlights of our stay were early morning walks in the area (locals are so friendly), a bike ride from KK down to Wijaya beach one afternoon and the celebrations on Christmas day (love the band!)

The service is lovely - everyone is so friendly. We had a lovely send off after 6 nights and I almost shed a tear!

Room Tip: Mango or Tamarind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perthmila6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

KK is perfect, a beautiful hotel, stunning gardens, wonderful wonderful staff and service. The main communal space - the lounge and bar is an amazing room with lots of comfortable areas, and absolutely stunning views down over the lake. Lots of games and a wonderful library of novels, interior design books and everything you need to know about Sri Lanka.
The food was fantastic, one night there was a buffet of lots of different curry which was definitely the best curry we had our whole trip.
The highlight was our room- the Hacienda Suite, down a path away from the main part of the hotel. a beautiful room, the bathroom even had 2 outdoor showers.
The air conditioning did seem quite noisy compared to some but it did have to compete with the noise of the monkey playing in the trees.
The whole staff were fantastic, the setting wonderful, and George the owner went out of his way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Away from the rush of the city this is a haven of tranquillity
With good food and friendly staff

We had to leave a 6.00 am to go on a Whale watching trip but they insisted on seeing us off with a packed breakfast to eat on the boat

A very large swimming pool for such a small boutique hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

From the moment we arrived at KK we felt very welcome and at home. The hotel has a serene tranquillity to it, which calms and relaxes you immediately, with the noises of nature surrounding you 24/7. And the tea plantation and raised position makes the air seem clean and pure.

George, the owner was very warm and nothing was too much, he would check with you at meal times that everything was ok and if there was anything that he could help with, we mentioned we had not had a cookery class which was meant to be arranged at a previous hotel and it was sorted immediately, and we have cooked the Sri Lankan dishes since being home, with great success. All of the staff were helpful and friendly with a smiley disposition ( which I feel makes a difference to the whole experience).

We stayed in the lovely Dubo villa, which is a Balinese teak villa, with beautiful gardens and private pool. It is at the bottom perimeter of the property but the walk to and from the villa in the morning and evening helped with working off a little of the delicious breakfasts and dinners, especially the wonderful chocolate brownies. There is a little road noise, but nothing compared with other properties we stayed at nearby. The communal areas were designed with open sided airy modern elegance, with enough space and room for intimate drinks and meals without being vast and impersonal.

We saw so much wildlife from our sun loungers, which was totally as it should be, wild, rather than interacting with humans.

We only stayed for 3 nights, but would definitely love to return next year, and maybe try one of the other villas which all seem to have their own individual charm.

Room Tip: Dubo Villa is the only villa with private pool but is furthest from main area (5min walk up steep hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were booked in here for 3 nights and for the last 2 we were one of only two couples staying there. I can confirm what others have said, this is an idylic location but a long way out from Galle . We had a car and driver and it was no problem for us , but a long way in a Tuk Tuk .Service was excellent and in particular Mahinda was exceptional .George Cooper the owner is very genial. The swimming pool which we did not use looked a bit murky and for us the whole scene was a very peaceful stay , if you want to see monkeys, mongoose, peacocks and numerous bird speices from you room then is the place . The his and hers outside bathrooms were fine but some may not appreciate, the wifi was fine and could be obtained in the room, which was spacious yet decorated as though you were a guest in a friends house .We had ordered a Sri Lankan dinner for the second night and what was delivered some 9 dishes was the best we had in Sri Lanka, and the Sri Lankan breakfast was also a treat . Food and service were good providing you appreciate and understand the location you will enjoy this experience

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peacock room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent one night at this hotel, it is mesmerising property right at the centre of nature (and a tea estate). I truly loved the feel of the hotel, rustic and true to the local architectural style. The rooms are beautiful and we had one that overlooked the plantations. in the evening it was most enjoyable to sit in the veranda/balcony of the room and gaze at the greenery, listening to the sound of the trees.

The staff on duty gave us amazing service, every meal was attended to in detail. We were asked what time we would like to have our lunch/dinner and where etc. The Sri Lankan breakfast with hoppers and dhal curry was the highlight of our trip. :)

A few pointers; although the hotel is in the southern district of Galle, it is quite a fair bit away from the coastline. We took a tuk tuk ride to unawatuna to do a bit of sea bathing.
Also, the dining areas at the hotel are outdoor, and were swarmed with mosquitoes, it would be best to prepare lots of repellent. Within the rooms itself we weren't troubled by the mosquitoes. We also noticed that the pool had lots of leaves and debris from the trees, but it could be because it was quite windy while we were there.

All in all we had a pleasant stay, with impeccable service, amazing food, and pure relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Nothing much to say here except that we had a wonderful time staying in this hotel. It is beautiful, peaceful, interesting and utterly relaxing. We particularly loved watching the large troop of monkeys eating mangos and bananas close to our verandah. They were unaware of us and we watched them for hours! The menu could lean a little more towards local cuisine but the staff and service could not be faulted. A delightful, stunning, gem of a little hotel in a beautiful part of Sri Lanka. I will dream of returning and would do so at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: The rooms have very different views. They are all lovely but we liked looking onto the jungle where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaffaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angulugaha
2.6 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
421 reviews
3.3 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#15 of 33 in Unawatuna
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
298 reviews
10.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Address: | Kahanda Kanda, Angulugaha 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range: £234 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kahanda Kanda 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing