We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel in Sri Lanka near Galle”
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahanda Kanda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the KK for 5 nights and it was absolute heaven. From the moment we arrived we were looked after incredibly well by the delightful staff and cannot recommend this place enough. Set in a tea plantation in the most beautiful surroundings the KK offers a large swimming pool, a fantastic bar and a stunning dining room with delicious food. All rooms are completely individual and perfectly quiet set well apart from each other throughout the grounds which gives great privacy. Our room was huge with superb interior and a large private balcony/terrace with wonderful views (monkeys and birdlife to entertain). There is a great deal on offer to do and cannot recommend highly enough the escorted bike ride to the beach. The hotel can organise a tuk tuk to take you into Galle or to the beach (only 20 minutes away) which is a fun trip, where you can join the crowds, but we were always overjoyed to get back to the KK to be spoilt by all they had to offer. If you're near Galle you must stay at the KK or at least visit. We will definitely stay there again and hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Kahanda Kanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The is a hotel like no other hotel. This is M&S hotel ( english humour) because the rooms are housed in small detached Bungalow and each Bungalow ( i'm using the word Bungalow because its the only way to describe the resort ) which is hidden away in the hills of Sri Lanka. is unique in itself, from internal double shower rooms to external bathroom.all with there own grounds for privacy. This is a great place to spend some me /us time.

The staff the food the views are all fabulous, this is the top of the range resort, and trust me the staff and owner take the time and care to ensure you enjoy your stay. I'm a fussy eater, but even i struggled to find food i didn't like as they carter for all. and what they don't have on the menu , was easly made available on a polite request ,

Room Tip: you do not have to worry about noise because you are roomed in detached building, every building is...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I went for dinner. Little did we know what a gorgeous setting this would be. A sprawling tea estate surrounded by beautiful open bar and a restaurant close by with sunken pools in the middle simply made this an enchanting evening for us.

Food was pretty great and we shared the evening with a few other couples and a cat and the water body in the distance with the trees dotting the pink and orange horizon simply made our evening.

Recommended for a relaxing, romantic day and we will be going back to stay the night soon!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank smalljourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

After a week of sightseeing and Sri Lankan roads, two nights and days at KK was the perfect pickmeup. The setting, staff and food were absolutely first class, and the bedroom was one of the best we have ever stayed in - loved the monkeys and the peacocks giving a background chorus, the verandah and the view. Not cheap but worth every penny, a real jewel in the jungle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Fantastic hotel that was hard to leave. Beautiful setting in a working tea plantation that has been magically transformed into a relaxing hotel. The individual chalets were absolutely superb. Each one individually decorated with homely touches and fresh flowers. Ours had a lovely verandah looking into the plantation with views of the wildlife including monkeys. The welcome was great with flower garlands and coconut juice from freshly cut coconuts. We used their minibus for our transfer from Colombo and it was a nice, new air-conditioned vehicle very sensibly driven. They also transferred us to our next hotel which was helpful. Beautiful and relaxed bar and restaurant area. Good food at sensible prices. Smallish pool but lovely views over the lake below. Great massages and bicycles to borrow with a nice 10km local cycle - great fun.
Service was good but could perhaps have been more proactive anticipating our needs such as drinks round the pool or simply pouring the wine at dinner (which they did but randomly). The only irritation was charging for bottled water in the rooms. At the price we paid I would have expected them to be complimentary. Apart from that small gripe this place was fantastic.

Room Tip: We had rooms 3 and 4 which were nearest the pool and excellent. Others were further away but all so...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

So many people have reviewed KK more eloquently than I can, with deservedly excellent ratings. Difficult to add much more. This place is utterly sublime. World class style, food, service in an utterly stunning, relaxed and low key setting, that doesn't take itself too seriously. In short, it is my perfect retreat... If I had time I would wax lyrical for ages. Goerge and his team have created something very special that brings out the very very best of everything that Sri Lanka has to offer.

And I love it that he defends his staff utterly, against the couple of idiotic 'poor' ratings which out of pure curiosity I couldn't help but read. Read them.

Why only 99/100? For a small investment, I think the air conditioning units (12 years old? Hacienda Suite) could / should be replaced with new smaller, quieter model. They are pretty noisy if you like to sleep with the aircon on (mind you the marital strife that this in itself creates is barely worth it!).

Now for the really spoilt bit... the poached eggs were made in a mould and not 'au naturel'. And a bit on the hard side a couple of times. The rest of the food was incredible (as were the eggs!) and the wine was actually very good value (compared to other places we stayed).

Every thing was so perfect at KK that I have had to resort to splitting hairs about the shape of my eggs benedict. Kind of sums it up.

Can't wait to come back if I ever get the chance.

Room Tip: Hacienda Suite - was down the hill a bit (50m - puff puff) but as a result utterly secluded and tran...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ifimhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was our second time to Kahanda Kanda. Our first time was on our honeymoon and this time with our parents and sister/brother in law. We were blown away the first time and this visit was just as good.

Our arrival was in the early hours of the morning after a delayed flight and we were surprised to see a team of people to welcome us. It was a great sight after a long journey!

We stayed in the Araliya suite which was very spacious and had lovely views across the valley. Squirrels, monkeys, peacocks and various birds could all be viewed from the balcony. Our family were in the Mango and Tamarind suites which were beautiful. They also had a day bed area inside as well as larger more comfortable looking day beds outside so they would be my pick next time. The downside is that both of these rooms had barely any hot water/shower pressure whereas ours was fine.

The common areas are divine - you can really while away the days by the pool or in the lounge. The pool is a perfect temperature and all areas have views down across the tea estate to the lake. I don't understand the comments about the pool being murky - it is tiled in black slate so that is the colour of the tiles. It completely suits the surroundings as a bright blue sparkly pool would look out of place.

Food was good - not quite as memorable as our first visit (I didn't see the same chef so may have changed). The BBQ on Christmas day was fantastic.

The highlights of our stay were early morning walks in the area (locals are so friendly), a bike ride from KK down to Wijaya beach one afternoon and the celebrations on Christmas day (love the band!)

The service is lovely - everyone is so friendly. We had a lovely send off after 6 nights and I almost shed a tear!

Room Tip: Mango or Tamarind
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perthmila6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angulugaha
2.6 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
396 reviews
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#14 of 33 in Unawatuna
39 reviews
10.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,763 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Address: | Kahanda Kanda, Angulugaha 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range: £209 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kahanda Kanda 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing