We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Tropics”
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahanda Kanda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Tropics”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I have recently returned from the most heavenly holiday at Kahanda Kanda. We have had the great fortune of traveling extensively throughout Asia and found KK to provide the most authentic experience in capturing old Ceylon with the ultimate in style and service. We stayed in the stunning Peacock suite with a private terrace on which we could watch the picking of tea and from our room had amazing views of lake Koggala below. One hears the sounds of monkeys and tropical birds which combined with beautiful food being served leaves one feeling truly removed the hectic outside world. We found the staff very friendly and helpful; Henry was able to look after our demanding needs with a smile and kind sincerity while the owner, George, was incredibly friendly and informative.
This is a place to rejuvenate and be inspired .. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved the Peacock Suite .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLeese2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    47
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
315
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

KK is totally worth the journey, we loved our short stay. 2 nights was not enough though. George was an impeccable host, even if tired from hosting a wedding party! Great recommendation for lunch on our way to the airport George, thank you. Villa Bentota Paradise had excellent food! Nice shop too..

Staff: Chinthana is an excellent manager - and has a good balance of calm, while taking care of business. The rest of the staff was great, very accommodating and attentive but not intrusive.

Food: Superb - great breakfast. Excellent dinners. Wow!

Other:
We enjoy birds, and had planned to do a couple of trips to nearby sites. No need. Simply kick back on a chair by the pool and watch the incredible display. Our bird list was 30 in 24 hours - without trying too hard.
Take time to visit the White Tea plantation close by for an afternoon.
KK is up in the hills, so be prepared for a quiet stay. We took a tuk-tuk down to Galle, which was awesome. Local village guy, who totally too care of us. Do this.
No kids - awesome for couples.
If you want beach time, best to stay at KK for a few nights then on the beach for a few nights - we stayed a Fortress. Cool, but a little impersonal.

Areas of improvement: Hard to come up with any, except...perhaps time for new bikes?

Cheers,
Frank & Judy Pet

Room Tip: We stayed in Peacock room - outside showers. We checked out some of the other rooms - all are awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankp8291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Kahanda Kanda for 7 nights and had the most amazing time. Everything from the tranquil location, delicious 3 course meals, wide range of activities and extremely friendly staff made our trip one of the most memorable holidays we’ve experience together. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We loved our stay at Kahanda Kanda. We spent 3 nights here and it was so lovely and peaceful and felt like we were staying at our own private villa. The grounds are really wonderful as was our room (we stayed in the Peacock Suite). The staff were fabulous and the food was delicious. I am pregnant and a vegetarian and the staff and chef were amazing at catering to our needs. Every day they prepared us tailored menus and gave us so much variety and made us feel really special. This really made our stay!
If you fancy a change of scenery for lunch we'd recommend a visit to Why Beach, a small boutique villa on the beach. KK can call them for you and arrange lunch and we spent a couple of hours here on their sun loungers which was nice.
If we come back to Sri Lanka we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FNCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon and would highly recommend it. We stayed in a room a short walk from the main buildings which was perfect. The fresh water pool is amazing and we did yoga which was incredible looking over the hills. The food is great and the only negative I can think of is that the service was a little slow at times....but in Sri Lanka the pace of life is much slower, thankfully!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeBlask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

If you are visiting Sri Lanka then you would be crazy not to include a stay at KK in your itinerary, you will not be disappointed. It's simply a beautiful place, run by amazing people who genuinely want to make your stay there perfect. We have just spent 7 amazing nights in the Dubu suite enjoying the faultless hospitality of George and his wonderful team. We married in an intimate and magical ceremony under the huge mango tree in the grounds of the Dubu suite, it was perfect and we cannot thank George and his team enough for making it so unforgettable ...... and doing all the hard work organising it! In short, amazing setting, amazing owner, amazing staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We were unsure where to stay while in Sri Lanka, would it be in the tea Mountains, Animal reserve or coastal or could we squeeze in all 3 in 4 days?! All our problems were solved when I stumbled across KK. It ticks every single experience in one.4km from the beach. 1km from Virgin White tea company. Monkeys and iguanas on your doorstep. Above all the rooms and hotel are spectacular. Superior to any other hotel we popped into on our stay in the Galle/Hakaduwa/Unawatuna area. Well worth paying that little extra for this luxury experience. Tip go hire a scooter for $6 a day and travel the area. The food was amazing at the hotel all though slightly limited. There are no spa facilities as such which would have been nice like steam/sauna but im really clutching at straws to find faults. Book a room or at the very least dine at the hotel. As for Sri Lanka. our first time. Clean incredible food and wonderful hospital people above that of India or Nepal. Go go go

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hewhodares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angulugaha
2.6 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,404 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#15 of 32 in Unawatuna
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
253 reviews
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
6.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Property: Kahanda Kanda
Address: | Kahanda Kanda, Angulugaha 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kahanda Kanda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing