We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Kahanda Kanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahanda Kanda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Kahanda Kanda. We spent 2 nights there and it was so amazing peaceful and felt like we were staying at our own private villa. The property including the rooms are really wonderful, the staff were fabulous with great service and the food was delicious. if and when we revisit Sri Lanka we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotter501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    47
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
315
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

At the recommendation of our host in Galle, we visited KK for lunch and have vowed to return to stay. An elegant, beautifully situated retreat. It was a hot day and the manager generously allowed us a swim in the pool which was very kind given we were not staying guests. Our cocktails were fantastic and lunch was delicious. An all too short but memorable visit to KK. Congratulations to George Cooper and his staff for creating such a beautiful experience for guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A big thanks to George Cooper and his team.
Our room was stunning, the staff exceptional and food lovely.
We really wanted for nothing on our stay here.
Was beautiful to wake up to monkeys in the trees outside our window, and peacocks flittering their way through the tea plants.
This hotel approx 20 km outside Galle but would definitely recommend a few days here.
And the heavenly Mr Cooper was well read and engaging. Enjoyed his hosting.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank amandagcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our suite was beautiful and secluded, with a nice verandah to sit out surrounded by the forest and private sun loungers in the open. We seek design and class in our places of stay and this one lives up to standards. The all side open lobby lounge and dining spaces are really inviting. The breakfast was great, though choices for other meals were restricted and pricey. Not worth spending the money for its relatively costly accommodation, but if one intends to spend time relaxing, just lounging in peace and quiet, then this property is surely a good option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdityaGupta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Here is the place where to stay in Sri Lanka, your own villa isolated among seven others in a luxurious estate perched on a hill above the jungle and a distant lake. Zen, so zen after a day on the nearby sunkissed beaches, or the nearby old historical town of Galle established by the Portuguese in the 15th century.
Relax by the pool, dine when you want as the day ends, chat with friendly owner George Cooper, and congratulate his choice for a tremendously brillant young chef who loves what he does, and does it well.

Room Tip: Ask for the villa just under the lobby...It offers the very best view in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pdefermor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We got married at Kahanda Kanda in February with over 45 guests in our party, many of which had travelled as far as Canada! The memory of our first stay, vivid in our minds, there was no debate as to where we would tie the knot after a stunning trip several months earlier..

The week of our wedding was beyond expectations and George and the KK team once again surpassed themselves. Myself and my husband were thrilled with the organisation, service and attention to detail throughout the week- my mother spent most of the week jaw dropped!

Our wedding day was flawless and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our intimate yet exotic day which has been nicknamed 'Cirque du Nuptials' by our friends on account of the elephant, incredible fire dancers and firework display. I was very fond of Sri Lanka and KK prior to our big day but they both firmly hold a place in my heart now.
Our friends and family who travelled from Australia, Canada, the UK and the Middle East were all taken aback by the beauty of the Island, the people and the hospitality we received wherever we went.

This being our third visit to KK, we were excited to see the new rooms and changes which had been made to the landscape. Needless to say, Georges style and taste is unwavering. Chic, bold and utterly luxurious from the moment you step onto the slate steps at the top of the drive way.

We booked all 9 rooms for 4 days and our family and friends could not have been more impressed- one afternoon was even spent touring the various rooms. The service we received really made our trip as no request was too big or too small. We spent a couple of days lazing by the pool ordering snacks and a steady stream of drinks. The willingness of the staff to make your stay a complete joy is evident- every morning we were greeted at breakfast with smiles and there was even some banter between us all by the end of the week. Nothing is too much trouble for these guys- after our rehearsal dinner on the beach, a couple of the bridesmaids had perhaps enjoyed the champagne too much. When we returned to KK, Henry arranged for jam sandwiches to be brought to the living pavilion to soak up some of the bubbles. This was just once instance of going the extra mile!


From the moment we contacted George with our enquiry to hold the wedding at KK, the planning process was a breeze. All communication was done via Skype and email and our faith that George could deliver what we wanted was never questioned. To be frank, once we gave an idea of what we wanted, colour scheme, atmosphere etc, George just got on with it! Venue aside, George's experience with weddings, design and events planning is an asset. George chose the flowers, the lighting, the table decoration and it was all very Midsummer Nights Dream via Asia- perfection! The process from start to finish was a complete joy.

It really was the best few days. All of our guests left KK with many happy memories and smiles!

The ceremony took place on the lawn overlooking Koggola Lake which is simply beautiful. We were lucky enough to have Matthew as our celebrant and his warmth really added to the ceremony. All of our documents had been organised a few days prior and the local registrar tied up all of the loose ends on the day.
We had an elephant and Kandayan drummers which were thoroughly enjoyed by kids and adults alike. Following our delicious dinner, we enjoyed Chinese lanterns, fire eaters and fireworks before the party started. I was slightly concerned all of these extras may have been too much and rather ostentatious but they were brilliant. You only get married once (hopefully)!


From the breakfasts, homemade jam, light lunches and delicate canapés after the ceremony to the wedding menu - it was delicious and extremely well presented. Our family and friends are still talking about it! The day after the wedding we held a 'recovery' lunch of Sri Lankan buffet at KK. George was taken away on business but the well oiled machine rolled on. We sat rather blurry eyed watching the guys erect a food hut from bamboo, string and palm leaves. This was a military operation. We indulged in a selection of curries, rot is, side dishes and desserts, all washed down with a Lion beer. I think most of the guests had third helpings- the cashew curry was to die for.


The week at KK is a week my husband and I will never forget. We wondered whether we should have had a traditional wedding at home but I am so glad we didn't. It was more than we ever could have hoped for and suited our passion for travel and adventure perfectly! Our gratitude and thanks really cannot be summed up in a review such as this. Perfection personified!

Be back soon!

Room Tip: The Dubu is stunning if you want total romance, luxury and peace. However, all of the rooms are divi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alissia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I have recently returned from the most heavenly holiday at Kahanda Kanda. We have had the great fortune of traveling extensively throughout Asia and found KK to provide the most authentic experience in capturing old Ceylon with the ultimate in style and service. We stayed in the stunning Peacock suite with a private terrace on which we could watch the picking of tea and from our room had amazing views of lake Koggala below. One hears the sounds of monkeys and tropical birds which combined with beautiful food being served leaves one feeling truly removed the hectic outside world. We found the staff very friendly and helpful; Henry was able to look after our demanding needs with a smile and kind sincerity while the owner, George, was incredibly friendly and informative.
This is a place to rejuvenate and be inspired .. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved the Peacock Suite .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLeese2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angulugaha
2.6 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,404 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#16 of 32 in Unawatuna
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
251 reviews
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
6.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahanda Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahanda Kanda

Property: Kahanda Kanda
Address: | Kahanda Kanda, Angulugaha 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Angulugaha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angulugaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kahanda Kanda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 5 suites, that service is truly individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Priceline so you can book your Kahanda Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahanda Kanda Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Hotel Angulugaha
Kahanda Kanda Sri Lanka/Angulugaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing