We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent bed and breakfast, and a delightful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Cucco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This review is for the bed and breakfast at Agriturismo Il Cucco. If you are looking for a review of the restaurant located within this B&B, then do a search for "Il Cucco" instead.

The location of this B&B is pretty good. You definitely need a car though. As it is a farm, it is not in the city or anything like that. But it is only about a 5 minute drive to get on to the autostrade for quick access to other cities.

My wife and I stayed in the "Gelosia" room, which had a double bed and private bathroom. The bedroom was quite spacious. Besides the bed, there was a large cabinet, a small desk, and a little sofa. There was also lots of floor space to put our luggage on. And the room also had an air conditioner which was nice.

The bathroom was a bit lacking. It was quite small relative to the bedroom. The mirror over the sink was very old and appeared to be somewhat rusted, although there was a newer mirror hanging on the bathroom door. I think the plumbing in the place must be old because when one person is taking a shower and the other person turns on the cold water at the sink, the shower turns scalding hot. I think this is just the way things are in older places though. Not a big deal.

The room is cleaned for you daily which is nice.

The wifi, although free, is incredibly slow. It felt like I was using a 28k modem or maybe even slower. Not sure if it's maybe because the place is located in more of a rural area?

Truthfully, if I were to rate this place only based on the room itself, I might not have rated it so highly. It's not bad by any means, but it's no luxury hotel. And I don't think it's trying to be. It's a farmhouse B&B, pure and simple.

That being said, I'm giving it 4/5 because the overall experience was indeed very good, largely in part to the owners, Angelo and Alessandra, and their staff. They are just so warm, kind, and friendly; and they really make you feel welcome and valued as guests.

Breakfast is included and they have a nice variety of their fresh breads, organic yogurt, fruits, juices, etc. available.

Also, note that as a guest of the B&B, when you eat at the restaurant, there is no cover charge for you. And you always have the option of a discounted tasting menu.

And speaking of the restaurant, you would be a fool to stay here and not eat at the restaurant. Check out my review for the "Il Cucco" restaurant which features Alessandra's fine home cooking.

Angelo and Alessandra, thank you for a very pleasant stay at Agriturismo Il Cucco!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelo581107, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Cucco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014
Google Translation

Grazie mille della bella e dettagliata recensione. Effettivamente non siamo un hotel di lusso e non vogliamo esserlo; il nostro impegno, infatti, è quello di ospitare e accogliere le persone in una confortevole e familiare casa di campagna. alessandra e angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

A good B&B with comfortable bedrooms and good bathrooms. It has a good location for those wanting to visit Bologna or on their way to another part of Italy as it is not too far from the autostrada. The restaurant is organic and all food is either grown on the farm or sourced from nearby. The cooking is "home-cooking" rather than restaurant but still very good and all in all this B&B is very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweedsider09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelo581107, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Cucco, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014
Google Translation

Grazie mille per aver dedicato tempo e attenzione in questa bella recensione.
alessandra e angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent 4 days in "Il Cucco" with our 11 years old daughter.

The organic farm, country side house & the restaurant are an managed by Alessandra & Angelo.
the house is very well kept & Room was specious, clean & air conditioned, white cotton linen, organic soap & shampoo. Towels were replaced & room was cleaned every day.
the farm is in a good spot to reach all the main cities in Bologna.

Our daughter was happy to see the animals (Donkeys, ducks & chickens) & fruits & vegetables growing in the fields & greenhouse.
Alessandra was almost always around, coking for dinner, making jam, baking biscotti, etc.

Breakfast was reach. With fresh fruits, yogurt, home made organic jams & bread, boiled eggs, cheese & ham, cake & cookies. There were two juice machines to squeeze & make our own orange or other fruits juice.
Dining room had fresh fruits from the farm & cold water during the whole day.

The in-house restaurant was really good.
Nice Italian home made cooking, organic pasta, fresh meat (slow food).
We had two suppers & even our picky daughter ate everything she was served.
There is also a special, discounted menu for the Agriturismo guests.

Alessandra & Angelo were really helpful, advising good places to go, connecting us & giving direction to local markets & food producers (Aceto, Parmigianino, etc.).

We will certainly stay there again if we come to Bologna area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avventuriero8, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Cucco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear guests!
Your words fill us with joy. The opportunity to have you with us for some days was very pleasant, really, our work with people like you, it becomes fun!
See you soon, we hope, Alessandra and Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

dipped in the nature where is possible to have relax without the chaos of the city...with a unique natural breakfast and with rooms of a lost tradition...excellent position to visit the cities of Bologna and Ferrara...great staff very helpful and courteous...so simple but unique, thanks Cucco for the great time

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreaf_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Dear All,

Having lived in Italy for the last 10 years and the last 3 years in Bologna this restaurant does live up to any of these excellent reviews. This is an average osteria (agrioturismo) with restaurant prices, overall a poor rating in my book.

Went there to have Easter lunch with the family 2 days ago and this is my experience:
- poor parking facilities. Space for 12 cars. Restaurant has space for over 80 guest.

Easter menu:
1) Food.
All the food was prepared in the morning making the salad dull and starting to turn brown at the edges. All the meat except the steak was prepared early in the day making it extremely dry.

2) Service Average/below average.
Waiters did not know what they were serving. We asked for a nice bottle of wine and we were given house wine.

Menu : Starter Green salad with 8 thinly sliced egg. Then a fresh spinach soup. 4 kinds of meat. Dessert 1 ball of ice cream with 1 slice of sweet bread.

Generally the food/service here was not better than a visit to an average trattoria any where in Italy, and we paid restaurant prices : 50e / person.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeppy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avventuriero8, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Cucco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Good morning, sir.
I apologize if I answer in Italian, but none on Easter has had the need to converse in English and then I read that you live in Italy for ten years, why talk in Italian definitely better than me to talk about the 'English .
We are sorry that you have not found good, however, in his review, there are some inaccuracies that undermine its credibility.
The first is that the menu was made up of many flow which together give a sense to the same. In fact, in major Holidays such as Christmas and Easter, we offer our customers a menu specific and articulated, which finds its reason in the fact that members of the host family can share the same course throughout the duration of the meal, just as happens when is invited to a lunch at the home of important relatives.
In this case, the menu consisted of a starter greetings with eggs, Easter symbol, creamed spinach, duck ravioli, three types of meat, a baked and other freshly cooked, garnish asparagus, potatoes and vegetables fantasy , all organic, homemade ice cream and dove, as well as bread and pasta.
The cost of the Easter menu was €. 32.00 (same as last year), excluding drinks: we consider a fair price with no additional costs of service and cover.
The second thing is that no day that our client has spent €. 50.00 per head.
A family of four, only, had no pleasure in finding qusta formula and was therefore the only one to take only a part, however large, of the menu. The wine served was not what the House, but a Pignoletto Reno Bonezzi organic, sparkling and, having chosen not to take the whole bottle, was served in half-liter carafe. The final bill was, outright, of € .25,00 each for a total of €. 109.00 with drinks for four people, that is €. 27.25 apiece.
Another couple with a child who has eaten a plate of pasta, has spent a total of €. 88.00 with quality wine and other beverages. This was the highest average expenditure: everyone else has spent between €. And € 36.00. 38.00 per head.
The third thing is that the price is not related to the type of place where you find, there are restaurants where you spend little trattorias where you spend a lot and also for the farm is this: those of us who prepare everything in house - bread, pasta, sweets, ice cream, biscuits, jams, yogurt - and uses high quality raw materials, can not have low prices.
Then, it is a fair law judge not positive our kitchen and our tastes, and this, as I mentioned earlier, sorry. But we are aware that it is almost impossible to please everyone!
Sincerely, Alessandra e Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Greena77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Matti367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altedo
Santo Stefano
Agriturismo Ben Ti Voglio
Agriturismo Ben Ti Voglio
#7 of 122 in Bologna
127 reviews
Agriturismo Flabeto
#1 of 4 in Budrio
57 reviews
Agriturismo Rio Verde
#1 of 8 in Sasso Marconi
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agriturismo Palazzo Minelli
#1 of 1 in Sala Bolognese
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Cucco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Cucco

Address: Via Nazionale 83, 40051 Altedo, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Altedo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Altedo
Price Range: £64 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the farm-house "Il Cucco"! Since sixteen years, we have opened our family run farm-house to all those people who wish to spend some great time in the country. Every day we do our best to prepare simple and homemade dishes, made with fresh vegetables we pick from our garden and with meat coming directly from our henhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Il Cucco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing