We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice get away, but be prepared to travel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calas de Liencres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calas de Liencres
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Liencres
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice get away, but be prepared to travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

A really tough review, wish I could give 3 and a half stars but not good enough for a 4 star rating. I'll start with the pros and cons.

Pros: Really nice modern hotel, rooms were very clean and fresh, as well as the lobby and cafeteria. Short stroll to an absolutely fantastic beach, very quiet and local. Whole area is off the main tourist trail, really nice get away.

Cons: Rooms missing some amenities such as an air conditioner or a fan, as well as a fly screen. The rooms got very stuffy and if you opened up the windows for air there were lots of bugs. Also as this a residential/rural area one day we returned and there was a strong smell of manure in the air, as we had left our windows opened all day for air our room had an unpleasant smell.

The hotel itself is relatively new and modern, rooms had a really nice feel and the hotel definitely grew on us. The staff were very friendly, especially the girls who were fantastic at helping us around the area and with food/drinks. As mentioned before the breakfast isn't amazing, quite basic and sometimes felt a bit stale, but there was fresh fruit, Spanish omelets, eggs and yoghurts were an upside.

However the main issue with this hotel is the location. Liencres is about 10km west of Santander, and is accessible by car or bus. The buses (S7, S8 and S9 from the central bus station in Santander) run every half an hour with a travel time of about 30-40 minutes and cost €1.40 per trip. The last bus is at 10:30pm so be aware if you want to come back after that to have about €20 for a taxi. There isn't that much in Liencres, a few restaurants and a few local shops (fruit and veg, cafe, bakery etc) which help. There is a beautiful beach which is the highlight of the area and an absolute must, even if staying in Santander, but not much else. If you have a car it makes getting around a lot easier, and there are some fantastic restaurants up the road (recommend El Don, a small Mexican restaurant in the suburb before Liencres).

But if you want to explore the area or do day trips without a car be prepared to have to do regular trips to Santander and go from there.

All in all a really nice place if you want a get away for a few days, but if staying here because it's a cheaper alternative budget travel expenses as they will start to add up

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSztajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalasdeLiencres, Gerente at Calas de Liencres, responded to this review, 4 October 2015
Google Translation
Estimado cliente
Agradecemos su comentario.
Sobre lo que nos atañe , el aire acondicionado, como podrá comprobar no disponemos de el ni lo publicitamos , no obstante en recepción disponen de ventiladores a disposición de los clientes.
Sobre el resto de sus comentarios , indicarle que la ubicación de Liencres con respecto a Santander (la conocen al hacer la reserva)... No puedo indicarle nada mas
Esperamos contar con su presencia en futuras visitas a nuestra comunidad.
Atentamente
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
17
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pambula beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We'd expected much after reading others' reviews,and perhaps we just got a dud room, but the place was almost empty (late October, 2012) so there was p,entry of opportunity to give us a decent one. The shower was broken, the very loud fan in the bathroom ran all the time whether the bathroom light was on or not (until my husband found a way to stop it in the fuse box!), and a bright light flashed on the smoke detector in the ceiling all night - 'normal' I was told when I mentioned it at check out. Breakfast was simply appalling - stale sliced bread, processed cheese, cheap processed ham. Not what we have come to expect at hotels the same price and cheaper. Really, really poor.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny5257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalasdeLiencres, Gerente at Calas de Liencres, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear customers
First of all sorry because your stay in our hotel has not been as pleasant as we desired we had.
And tell them:
The smell Extractor of the bathroom is automatically turned on when the lights in the bathroom, and when turned off it has a timer which lasts approximately 2 minutes after turn off the bathroom light.
(Unit bound by Spanish legislation fire) smoke detector has a negligible light indicating that it works, if that light is off means the detector doesn´t work, and doen´t notify our customers of possible smoke fire or any problem with fire .
And with regard to breakfast it is a subjective opinion.
I hope to have answered all your questions.
Thank you for your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liencres hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Wonderful room with a balcony. Clean new nice view. We liked the service we got from the staff. It's a new hotel which deserve more stars than it have. Nice place to stay and come back to. We loved it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalasdeLiencres, Gerente at Calas de Liencres, responded to this review, 4 October 2015
Google Translation
Estimado cliente
Agradecemos su comentario.
Esperamos contar con su presencia en futuras visitas a nuestra comunidad.
Atentamente
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Liencres was a good surprise. Small village and fantastic views. And amazing beaches. Unfortunately the weather was not that great. The Cala de Liencres hotel is at a stone's throw from those marvelous landscapes. Very clean and tidy room and bathroom. Its staff was always nice and helpful. The hotel has also a restaurant service with typical dishes and sandwiches. Not a great cuicine, to be honest. All in all a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFixer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalasdeLiencres, Gerente at Calas de Liencres, responded to this review, 4 October 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente
Agradecemos su comentario sobre nuestras instalaciones , y sobre nuestro personal.
No dudes en reservar de nuevo , y esperamos que en su nueva estancia el tiempo sea maravillos
Atentamente
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liencres
2.8 mi away
Aparthotel Playas de Liencres
Aparthotel Playas de Liencres
#1 of 1 in Boo de Pielagos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.7 mi away
Milagros Golf
Milagros Golf
#1 of 1 in Mogro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Camargo
Hotel Camargo
#1 of 1 in Igollo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Brisas
Hotel Boutique Las Brisas
#18 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calas de Liencres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calas de Liencres

Property: Calas de Liencres
Address: Barrio de la Sierra 2a, 39120 Liencres, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Liencres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Liencres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Calas de Liencres 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Calas de Liencres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing