We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cream tea we've had for years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Brean B&B and Inns
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best cream tea we've had for years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We only popped in for a cream tea with our 3 dogs whilst caravanning in Brean. Garden was securely fenced and our dogs enjoyed playing ball with the owners Collie. Cream Tea was lovely. Homemade scones, plenty of jam and cream plus great tea and coffee. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    54
    35
    22
    34
See reviews for
65
109
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was a one night stop over for us, the room was very clean and bed comfortable, the grounds were very nice, this motel is located around 0.5 miles from all the attractions in Brean, so best of both worlds, when in the motel you get a nice tranquil setting but can have a nice stroll into where all the action is, breakfast was very nice and can be taken al fresco if you want.

There was a small childrens play area, and dogs are welcome, each room has a bench situated outside which allowed for a pleasant evening sitting outside if you wanted, which was a welcome to us seeing as the weather was at its best.

All in all a very pleasant stay, and seeing as we are regular visitors to Brean for short overnight stays we will use this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lms1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv, null, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this motel one night only. The motel is quite nice with clean cozy rooms and a very good breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful with us. Most of the guest are retired couples. We drove to the seaside in Brean some 5-10 min and also visited Weston-super-Mare which is quite close by car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed on Saturday for one night with our dog and 5 year old son. The room was very clean, comfy bed and brilliant shower. The garden was lovely, the owners were nice and friendly and made us (including our dog) very welcome. Breakfast in the conservatory was nice. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My partner and I stayed for the weekend and was very satisfied with this establishment. Rooms were clean and tidy the grounds were idyllic we are looking to stay again! Thankyou to the owners for a relaxing stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl7732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Clean comfortable room, friendly and informative owners,breakfast to set you up for the day and cream teas in the garden, what more could you ask for.Location is on the edge of Brean which is quiet and peaceful considering that Brean has numerous caravan sites and a small leisure park. Plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking, distance making this motel ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was a one night stop over. . . lovely clean room, comfortable with all of the ameneties required. Close to all the Brean attractions we needed to visit.

Breakfast was in a lovely conservatory. Food was a little disappointing - it had all the elements of a good breakfast but there was a hint of cheap about it. Value yoghurts, very thin bread, low quality meat products. Now we all expect breakfasts to be low value but to openly display things like the 4 yoghurts for £1 kind of put us off. Also the conservatory was roasting and the yoghurts were just out on the side, not in a bowl of iced water and so they would turn pretty quickly.

Wendy the owner was friendly enough, although she didn't seem comfortable talking to people. Her partner ventured from the kitchen whilst we were having breakfast, but didn't speak to us, they then preceeded to have a bit of a disagreement which could be sensed before he returned to the kitchen. Not the friendly atmosphere I expected.

On the whole this stay did what it needed to do but it was lacking in polish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brean
4.2 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare East (A370) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare Ea...
#7 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Church Road, Brean, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea > Brean
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Rectory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Brean
The Old Rectory Brean, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing