We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to rate”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Brean B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013

First impressions and info on the website were very good and we were looking forward to staying here for a one night stopover. Our welcome was lovely and we were shown to our room which was in the main house and was very nice -4 poster bed and overlooking the garden.
The shower however was pretty dreadful -either lukewarm or scalding hot and no control over the temperature. However, what really let's it down was the breakfast -as stated in a previous review - value quality sausage - just the one - cheap bacon, Happy Shopper yoghurt (4 for £1.25) own brand cereal, thin toast and the cups all had tea and coffee stains inside.
This has the potential to be a really good hotel/motel but not with the standard of the food served and there are a few snags - shower for one that really need looking at. The welcome given and the lovely grounds have helped me to give it a better rating than I would have done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherino56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

After going to Brean for over 25 years we decided to take our mum for a short break for the weekend on 19-20th July & booked 2 nights at the Rectory. After arriving late on Friday night we were then asked for full payment and shown to 2 adjoining rooms 10-11 on the car park. These were very basic, in which our double room had no hot water in the bathroom sink. Had to then ask for coat hangers due to having none as wardrobe had just been assembled, this was the reason why screws still remained on the bedroom carpet. To our dismay kitchen windows had been left open and had accumulated an array of insects. Next morning we were astonished to find numerous cobwebs and throughout uncleanliness not to the standard of a 4 star establishment. The outside light was not working and to cap it all breakfast on both mornings involved a long wait.
On the day of departure much later than anticipated due to late breakfast service, we informed the lady owner of our disappointment and did not think it was worth the money. In which she agreed these were not one of their best rooms. She left and came back with a very arrogant and obnoxious man expressing that we should have mentioned something so he could have moved us. However when we booked we were told we had the last rooms available therefore we could not have moved anywhere else. He also stated they could have cleaned for us, but it should have been clean on arrival and should not need be requested. We were also told we could have taken a jug of hot water from the kitchen to bathroom. This was very disappointing, would not recommend it and will not be returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We only popped in for a cream tea with our 3 dogs whilst caravanning in Brean. Garden was securely fenced and our dogs enjoyed playing ball with the owners Collie. Cream Tea was lovely. Homemade scones, plenty of jam and cream plus great tea and coffee. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was a one night stop over for us, the room was very clean and bed comfortable, the grounds were very nice, this motel is located around 0.5 miles from all the attractions in Brean, so best of both worlds, when in the motel you get a nice tranquil setting but can have a nice stroll into where all the action is, breakfast was very nice and can be taken al fresco if you want.

There was a small childrens play area, and dogs are welcome, each room has a bench situated outside which allowed for a pleasant evening sitting outside if you wanted, which was a welcome to us seeing as the weather was at its best.

All in all a very pleasant stay, and seeing as we are regular visitors to Brean for short overnight stays we will use this motel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lms1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this motel one night only. The motel is quite nice with clean cozy rooms and a very good breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful with us. Most of the guest are retired couples. We drove to the seaside in Brean some 5-10 min and also visited Weston-super-Mare which is quite close by car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed on Saturday for one night with our dog and 5 year old son. The room was very clean, comfy bed and brilliant shower. The garden was lovely, the owners were nice and friendly and made us (including our dog) very welcome. Breakfast in the conservatory was nice. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My partner and I stayed for the weekend and was very satisfied with this establishment. Rooms were clean and tidy the grounds were idyllic we are looking to stay again! Thankyou to the owners for a relaxing stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl7732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brean
4.2 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
196 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
639 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
919 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yew Tree House
Yew Tree House
#1 of 1 in Berrow
136 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ashbourne House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: The Old Rectory Church Road, Brean, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea > Brean
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brean
Price Range: £75 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Rectory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Brean
The Old Rectory Brean, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing