We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modest”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Brean B&B and Inns
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Modest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Understand that the Old Rectory B&B is set amidst an ocean of caravans, static caravans, 50's chalet style holiday camps, kiss me quick hats and tens of thousands of ordinary folk enjoying their Sun newspaper £50 / week summer holiday special. I don't say that to be patronising or condescending, it's a fact, Brean is not The French Riviera. But it is a value-for-money, low cost resort with a fantastic beach, amusement arcades and chips with everything.

As such, the Old Rectory's accommodation, by comparison to most nearby, is a palace. Solid walls, no condensation, warm and clean. But that is where it stops. Rooms are really small, I mean box-like. It maybe better than most accommodation in Brean but, if you have images of The Ritz in your head, think again. I only say that because The Old Rectory's prices are out of kilter with its location. For the room we had, it should have cost no more than £40 instead of nearly £70.

Very pleasant people, good parking - never hung around to try the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portmeirionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    54
    35
    22
    34
See reviews for
66
109
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just stayed here for two nights very nice room and the owners are very polite and helpful. Great choice on the breakfast menu . It's situated in a great place for pubs and restaurants . Would stay here over and over again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodyincov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had looked forward eagerly to our four nights stay at The Old Rectory, having booked to stay for a break to include New Year - and had tickets for the County & Western party at The Tavern in Brean. We felt that this would be a complete change,from attending a party in our own area, and a really nice intimate break for the just the two of us and our beloved Westie. At £70 per night ,yes. we anticipated that it would have a few frills, and would be a nice way to start 2014,particularly as I had retired in the December, and felt I had something to celebrate! The website pictures looks lovely, and although I realised that some of the rooms naturally were in the grounds of the "rectory",. we presumed that they would follow that theme through ,even though a "motel". The reality was that our room was more like a chalet at Pontin's,clean and tidy enough,with a double and,single bed, and set of bunk beds! There were no wardrobes,clothes hanging consisting of an assortment of hangers on coat hooks on the wall,two chests of drawers,one so damp and stale that the musty smell would linger in the room after opening! No heating in the bathroom,and to anticipate using in the morning we both needed to remember to not shut the bathroom door when we went to bed! Condensation was such a problem in there that the floor became soaking by morning, and in consequence very slippy.Perhaps we should have complained,but as usual when you are there,you really haven't the energy to moan,and wonder if you are imagining it,but a week on I have had time to reflect on our visit.......On a positive note the breakfast was lovely,served in a warm conservatory adjoining the "rectory",by a lovely friendly family, tables were set out beautifully,with quality breakfast crockery in evidence,and there was a great choice on the menu which included kippers! So all in all had a a nice break,despite atrocious weather,and visited Weston (8 miles away)and Burnham (4 miles)
but was still left feeling a bit disappointed by The Old Rectory,it really didn't live up to our expectations

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mezShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
540 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My room was clean, well-decorated, an en-suite and cleaned weekly with a change of beedding too. The area is quiet, the staff polite and there are facilities locally for food, drink and entertainment. It is close to a few tons and the motorway, so ideal for an out-of-season getaway. Plenty of free parking too and a Post Office within 200 yards. .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having not visited Brean in a number of years we selected the old rectory on reccomendation from family. Our stay was so relaxing and stress free. The staff and Owners are a delight making every effort to make our stay enjoyable. The room was lovely, the bed so comfy we slept thruough a thunderstorm. There was a tv, tea and coffee making facilities and an en-suite. All areas of the old rectory were spotlessly clean, the food was well presented and plentiful and during our stay all we heard was praises from the other guests. I have already reccomended several of my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this motel for 3 nights as a anniversary treat was pleased with our room and owners made us feel very welcome breakfast was lovely with a good selection and the owners very friendly lovely and helpful would recommend staying here will definitely stay here again thanks for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My partner & I have just stayed at the rectory for two nights. This is our fourth visit here, & we are looking to return in late October. Always a warm welcome friendly couple great breakfast nothing too much trouble. We have stayed in several of the rooms & found them clean tidy & comfortable. Looking forward to our next visit! Fred & Heather Wolverhampton 28th - 30th Sept 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart N, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brean
4.2 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare East (A370) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare Ea...
#7 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Church Road, Brean, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea > Brean
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Rectory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Brean
The Old Rectory Brean, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing