We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal and great venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sturdy's Castle Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Started out at the Old spud pub in Woodstock but that has changed hands . Bit awkward as went was my nephews birthday and he wanted a steak! So we left there after a short rude remark from the waiter. Decided to go to Sturdys Castle as family have been here before. Turned out to be fabulous . Just had a lovely evening here with excellent food and great service!
Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, room is very clean and fresh. Nice little touches such as refreshments and toiletries provided.
Pub is lovely, staff are very polite and welcoming and the food is delicious. Will deffinatly recommend this accomodation, very good location aswell and plenty of car parking spaces.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_D010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely hotel and pub, beautifully decorated in old charm. Exceptional receptionist dealt with booking in with a friendly professional persona, even though there was a problem (not their fault) Large clean bedrooms quiet as set back from the road. Evening meal in the bar area was homely and great value with 2 for 1 offer. Breakfast in main restaurant, bright and airy, with an extensive choice on the menu. Easy distance of Oxford city centre and Bicester Village outlets stores. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: room 18 was a large corner one but all ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoRicEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for one night and found it to be lovely. It's neat and homely and the rooms are comfortable and clean.
The only thing I would mark it down for is the food. We had seafood platter for starters which was nice. For the main my husband had a mixed grill which was adequate and I had spaghetti bolognase which was ok but not great. The breakfast however was lovely with plenty of choice.
All in all we would defiantly stay here again we could find no real fault with it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have used this pub/hotel for many years, with previous owners and under the new(ish) management, its location is excellent and the area is beautiful.

We continue to use this place as its centrally located for the 20+ members of the family, there is also plenty of parking .... BUT there is always a problem !! from booking us in on the wrong date to wrong food orders to a very rude duty manager.

The duty manager who was on shift on Mothers day was so rude to a member of staff in front of me, and other customers, im surprised she didn't walk out !

The food is always good and the staff are very efficient and friendly but it would appear the management need to be reminded of this, they do not respond to email enquiries and are very curt and unhelpful on the phone, considering we are spending a lot of money I would expect some level of politeness ?

We have difficulty finding somewhere that can fit us all in which is why we use the place, again the parking is good and the gardens nice to sit in (watch out for broken glass) its a great location and easy to find, have not seen the rooms but know they are not cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I love it when you get to a place and the staff are genuinely enthusiastic about their work.
Pub grub done well.
Excellent room.
Perfick!
Top tip. Bring a small dog with you for extra attention from the charming staff!
This place really is dog-friendly (rather than just about dog tolerant like some).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Food order was wrong after a 30 minute wait.
Over cooked fish and rock hard burgers (at ��13 EACH may I add)
Drinks warm with no ice. Waitresses with faces like they were chewing wasps with an attitude to rival a manure pile.
Stay away from this highly overpriced, microwaved food shambles.

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank Ljeg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidlington
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#28 of 44 in Oxford
231 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,701 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
3.5 mi away
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
#1 of 5 in Kidlington
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturdy's Castle Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturdy's Castle Country Inn

Address: Banbury Road, Kidlington OX5 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range: £82 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturdy's Castle Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sturdy's Castle Country Inn, located between the West Oxfordshire villages of Tackley and Kidlington and conveniently located near to Woodstock, can not only offer its visitors comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation and quality cuisine in its 80 seat restaurant, but also a friendly and relaxing bar lounge in which to enjoy a drink with friends and family. Sturdy's Castle is the perfect setting for those seeking somewhere to stay close to the many of Oxfordshire's delightful tourist attractions. Located just outside of Kidlington on the A4260 Oxford to Banbury Road, Sturdy's Castle sits at the gateway to the Cotswolds, boasting some of Britain's most beautiful countryside, towns & villages. Blenheim Palace, the ancestral home of Winston Churchill, can be found less than 3 miles away in the charming market town of Woodstock; and the famous dreaming spires of the internationally renowned university city of Oxford are also a mere 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Sturdy's Castle Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturdy's Castle Country Inn Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing