We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing for travel or business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sturdy's Castle Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On a recent business trip this was chosen for me so with no expectations I easily found the destination. Started with a friendly greeting, pleasant surroundings and nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation is motel style in lovely courtyard on 2 levels. Table booked and the food was excellent, served well and hot and good choice of real beers. Well relaxed and a good night sleep in spacious and comfy room including WiFi, and the usual trimmings. One thing that was annoying was the room above had guests and could hear the thud of feet walking about. Breakfast was plentiful and quality ingredients. I was well impressed from start to finish and wether your on business or pleasure I would not hesitate in staying there to visit the area further.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper level so that you can avoid the irritation of being below others walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_rally_dudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

we decided to go there on Saturday 5th July as we had been there a few times, Stacey the assistant manager was bubbly as ever and gave us a warm greeting as if we had been life long friends. we came out stuffed after trying their brunch and didn't need to eat for the rest of the day.. will be going back fore sure

Room Tip: we didn't stay there so haven't commented on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank penfold64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for one night on a leisure trip to Oxford and to Blenheim Palace. Location of hotel was very good for this, being only a few miles from Pear Tree Park and Ride car park for Oxford City and only about 3 miles from Blenheim. We were in a ground floor lodge room behind the main hotel, which meant it was queit despite the busy road running past the front of the main hotel.

The room was reasonably spacious, clean, and equipped with tea/ coffee making facilities plus complimentary bottled sparkling water. Bathroom was fine. The main negative was that we found the beds too soft, lumpy and uncomfortable. (It may well be that the matresses are in need of replacement in the room we were in). We were also woken around 6.15am by the noise of an early riser in the room above, who trampled around for over half an hour like an elephant or so it sounded from below.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which had a good varied menu. We both had lamb, which was not cheap but was excellent quality. We avoided the two-for-one pub classics, although these seemed to be popular. The included breakfast offered a good simple range and was of good quality. My wife's full English was enormous! And the fruit juice passed my own quality test, ie it was not diluted children's cordial drink.

I would have rated this hotel higher had it not been for the rather uncomfortable beds and the early morning disturbance, as everything else was pretty good.

Room Tip: First floor rooms should avoid disturbance from early risers stamping around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at Study's Castle for one night last weekend and found it to be perfectly pleasant. Room was very clean and a good size with a window facing out the back onto fields. Good touches like bottles of water and small toiletries. Not luxurious as rooms go but the bed was good and large. I ate in the restaurant where I found the young guy serving me very efficient. Food was good and there seemed to be some kind of wine promotion on. Check out easy next morning and I was off to the flower show at Blenheim Palace which was the reason for my visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This truly is a value for money place to stay. The room was spotless, the food was plentiful, very enjoyable, and value for money. The beer was excellent and well kept. Staff were vey polite and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was a memorable one which it certainly was, cannot fault Sturdys Castle in any way, would have no hesitation in recommending it. My wife is cautious about accommodation but any worries she may have had soon disappeared.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I Booked up Sturdy's Castle in Early January because I was Participating in this years Blenheim Triathlon and found the online booking Very Good and easy to make a booking.
I Stayed @ Sturdy's Castle near Oxford from the 7th to the 9th June for the Blenheim Triathlon and found Hotel/Restaurant with Ease and the reception Staff where helpful and knowledgeable and brought me to my room, The Room was very spacious and clean and tidy with a large kingsized Bed. The Facilities within the room was also excellent, the only thing that i found unusual was the hand grab and the back of bath so you could not rest your head properly.
The Restaurant where i Had dinner and Breakfast was again Excellent and good Staffing too with a good menu. The food was Excellent and piping hot and well presented.
I spoke to the Manager on the 8th June and told him that i found the accommodation Excellent and that I will be returning next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have double glazing and can't hear any traffic from the Main Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinKeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Was on business and stayed here for 5 nights in May and was really impressed. The rooms were spacious and clean. And the restaurant was great. The cooked breakfast in the morning was not a buffet but you could order them off the menu. And if you are in a hurry, you could do order the night before. The staff were all very pleasant and cheery.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidlington
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,671 reviews
1.9 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
840 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturdy's Castle Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturdy's Castle Country Inn

Address: Banbury Road, Kidlington OX5 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range: £93 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturdy's Castle Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sturdy's Castle Country Inn, located between the West Oxfordshire villages of Tackley and Kidlington and conveniently located near to Woodstock, can not only offer its visitors comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation and quality cuisine in its 80 seat restaurant, but also a friendly and relaxing bar lounge in which to enjoy a drink with friends and family. Sturdy's Castle is the perfect setting for those seeking somewhere to stay close to the many of Oxfordshire's delightful tourist attractions. Located just outside of Kidlington on the A4260 Oxford to Banbury Road, Sturdy's Castle sits at the gateway to the Cotswolds, boasting some of Britain's most beautiful countryside, towns & villages. Blenheim Palace, the ancestral home of Winston Churchill, can be found less than 3 miles away in the charming market town of Woodstock; and the famous dreaming spires of the internationally renowned university city of Oxford are also a mere 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Sturdy's Castle Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturdy's Castle Country Inn Kidlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing