We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food”

Gurkha Village Nepalese Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gurkha Village Nepalese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Kidlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$18
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Tibetan, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A relatively new restaurant in Kidlington but the food is top quality. Been there half a dozen times in the last 6/7 months and would highly recommend. A good offering of Nepalese and Indian food, all presented really well and good value for money. Try it you will not be disappointed

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    69
    17
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent meal and a very nice experience!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently visited this restaurant with a group of work colleagues and whilst despite booking, our table was not ready! That said, the staff were very attentive and this minor delay did not detract from our experience.
I have in fact eaten here on two previous occasions and like the previous times, this was a very pleasurable experience.
We went through the usual poppadum experience with some very interesting pickles to the main course. I chose the Ghurka Special Mix Mash Karahi which was absolutely outstanding and I would thoroughly recommend.
It was great to wash everything down with Nepalese lager!
A great experience and will certainly visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJM511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Food was actually really good especially the sound & smells of the sizzling dishes. Service does occasionally let it down eg items ordered left out of takeaway or when eating in & paying staff by cash no change given as assumed all change is for tip when should be left for customers to tip accordingly or not depending on service received.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyDit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, beer and service”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Food was really good, much better than Indian curries. You have to try nepalese beer and if you can't decide your food let staff help you to decide. You have to try dumplings...they are called momo! Overall great place to have great good with excellent service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rajib P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A great curry house”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We recently visited the Gurkha Village whilst on business in Oxfordshire and had a great night.

Unfortunately our table for six wasn't ready when we arrived, despite booking, which was a bit annoying but we waited in the bar with a round of Gurkha Lagers.

When our table was ready we were seated next to a very boistorous party of about 20. So if you want a quiet business or romantic meal then maybe this isn't the place for you but this is a curry house so what do you expect.

After the poppadoms and pickles with extra pickles delivered we ordered our food.

The menu is Nepalese so slightly different that your normal Indian restaurant and we all ordered starters and mains and as usual wentt overboard on the rice and naans.

The starters arrived promptly and the consensus was that they were all very good. Our mains and the mountains of rice and naans arrived after a decent break and again everyone raved about them.

Washed down with more Gurkha Lager we all had a great night.

Also a special thanks to the management who helped us get a taxi back to our hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Village Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Gurkha Village Nepalese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing