We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice staff, nice place.”
Review of Mayflower

Mayflower
Ranked #20 of 28 Restaurants in Kidlington
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We provide authentic Szechuan dishes and Chinese food for dining in, take away and deliveries.
Oxford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, nice staff, nice place.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The Mayflower is one of the oldest established Chinese restaurants/takeaways in the area & has always been good. Many no doubt recall its previous title - Pak Ho.
It always hits the mark for me & most of the staff have been there long enough to know their clients well which always helps to provide a good service. The food is good too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NandPOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Owner at Mayflower, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Hi NandPOxford, we are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience here. Please do support us more and we will not let you down.

From:
The Management Team of Mayflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    4
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“They just do not get good service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

So I ordered a take away from here last week and when I got home they got the order wrong. Sadly much of the other food was already on plates so I returned the incorrect dish which they changed but refused to give fresh rice. My issue was the rice was already on a plate and cold. The answer from these guys was to Microwave it. This is supposed to be fresh food and they think I should microwave rice (which I didn't think was recommended anyway). The rice was only changed after a hell of a fuss and another customer telling them it was out of order to tell me to microwave rice.

The food is actually great but with service like this they can swing

And to add to it at no point was an apology offered for stuffing the order up in the first place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Owner at Mayflower, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Hi Chris, i'm sorry to hear that from you. We just took over the restaurant and we hope that we can provide better service to our beloved customers. Please do try us out and i'm sure that you won't regret it.

From:
The Management Team of Mayflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Well as it was a special occasion we thought we would try somewhere new. We had had a take away from the May Flower many moons ago and it seemed ok so we thought we would have a sit down meal.

We parked up outside next to a car that appeared to have been abandoned across 2 parking spaces (I know this seems unimportant, but it is a point we will get back to later)

We where eventually greeted and shown to our table after we entered the resturant. The Restaurant was empty apart from one other party which we where seated right next to! I have to admit that the decor is nice and in style with what you would expect from a Chinese restaurant.

We ordered some drinks and they turned up with complementary prawn crackers. As we were deciding what to eat. My partner noticed out of the windows (we could see where our car was parked) the owners of the slap dash parked car walked out of the resturant pushed the wing mirrors in on our car whilst having a laugh about it. My partner rushed out side to ask them why they felt that was necessary, they shouted some abuse and wheelspan up the road. (Keep with me on this it is like an Agatha Christie script)

So anyway we ordered a set menu with a few extras, the food I would rate somewhere between nothing special and Poor.

The waitress was like being served by your an enthusiastic grandma she would come shuffling up to the table with a huge smile, she was polite and pleasant but would disappear for large amounts of time which lead to long waits between courses.

As there was only ours and one other table in use for the whole time we were having our meal, it was like having a meal in a library (I know this is not really the restaurants fault) however I am sure a bit of piped in background music would of lifted the mood a bit.

Then when we asked for the bill. As mentioned in other reviews there was no itemisation, just Food, Drink... and then what I first though was the latest update on Greece National debt, so when we finally found a late night bank that would let us remortgage our house on the fly. We where then told that the card machine was not working very well, followed by "Get Cash, Sainsbury's"
We finally convinced the waitress to try the card machine, which took about 5 minutes to print out a recite. Happy times, no jaunt to Sainsbury's for us.

So as we were leaving, guess who was sat in the bar waiting to deliver the next phone order... You guessed it the slap dash parking pair...

All they need now is for Brasil Fawlty to be behind the bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank A_Welshman_in_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Owner at Mayflower, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Hi Welshman, i'm really sorry to hear that from you. Please do try us out again because we had removed all the drivers who are not respecting the customers and we had made some adjustment in our restaurant and such. Please come back to try us out. Thanks.

With regards,
The Management Team of Mayflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food average,service appalling”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Went here recently with friends and family to celebrate a special occasion. I did not arrange the gathering but was a guest and agreed with others that they did not give us enough food for the price the head of the party paid as well as the standard and quantity of food. I am pleased to say that this is a local restaurant that will now be easily overlooked in the future.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oxgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Owner at Mayflower, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Thanks for the advice Oxgeezer, but rest assured that the food and service which are provided in this restaurant are getting better as we had just took over this place since August 2014. Please come in and try us again and i'm sure that you will have a wonderful time here.

From:
The Management of Mayflower Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal & Evening”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We came New Years Eve we reserved a table a bit shocked though at the request of £10 pp to reserve the table! So that was £50 to reserve, they were busy so guess they did not want people not turning up. The food was lovely we had the set menu but they were very accommodating and we changed one of the starters. The service despite been busy was prompt and courteous. We went last NYE too. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Owner at Mayflower, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Thank you for the great comment. We will do our best in the future to serve our customer with better food and service in the future.

From:
The new management team of Mayflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayflower also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing