We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Aven d'Orgnac Grand Site de France (Grotte et Cite de la Prehistoire)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cave and the Cité de la Préhistoire - Aven d' Orgnac in Ardèche - 30 mn from Vallon Pont-d'Arc and the Chauvet Cave (Unesco since June 2014). The Aven d'Orgnac has the label Grand Site de France, label of sustainable tourism rewarding the most beautiful French landscapes.
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cave tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was my first cave tour. It was amazingly beautiful inside, unlike anything I have ever seen. I was with friends who translated things into English for me. I think there was a specific time for shows in English, but most of the people I was with didn't speak it very well. The light placement inside is phenomenal, and the light show at the end was pretty cool. I would definitely go back and visit, has a restaurant on site as well. If you want to take photos, bring a nice camera. Mine was terrible with the backlighting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lafluvnliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    207
    27
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome stalagmites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We went during the first week of October and were in a party of four for the first tour of the day (french language). We've only been studying French for a couple of years but had no trouble following what was being said. The guide was very friendly and informative (though just how much can you say about a cave?) and the lighting system in the cave was really well done.

The only thing I found a little jarring was the loud music/light show at the end of the tour. They do it in the cave! There was so much noise that I'm surprised they aren't worried about it harming the delicate structures in the cave.

The facilities are nice and very new looking. They were in the process of building a museum when we were there (2013).

For "les sportifs" there are other tours at the same place that go to other parts of the 4km system of caves but they require advance reservations and you might need to know how to rappel & do true spelunking.

The drive to get to the site was beautiful, though as with many country roads in France it was pretty narrow from time to time. There is a large parking lot across the street from the site and no fee charged to park your car.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Fascinating place, realy very exciting! Perfect guide deusche and english speaking ( and lovely whistle songs!), there will be placed near grotte very modern prehistorical museum in 2014.
Sightseeing is easy, safe, and comfortable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tygrysek2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a must see cave of stalagmites, we sew many of this caves all over the world , this one is
Number 1. The combination of a huge hall with huge stalagmites and a very comfortable walk down of 700 stairs and elovator up is really good. The one hour tour was interesting and full of humor. They have both french and english speaking tours in differnt hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ofer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best caves of the Ardeche region”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Arriving at the location, parking and visitor's centre are very convenient. Free parking.
It is advised in summer time to come in time, as a waiting time of an hour to enter the caves is not an exception. Do not worry, there is sufficient shade and a number of displays explaining the scene.
The visit itself was great ! (Be aware that most visits are in French. English visits are available but only at specific times). The guide was fantastic : clear understandable scientific information combined with humour.
The caves itself were magnificent, descending to 120 m below surface. All is very well covered with superb lightning spots, putting clear emphasis on the spots to look at. Not enough eyes to look at this nature magnificence.
I've seen even better caves in the South of France, but in the Ardeche region this is really the top.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aven d'Orgnac Grand Site de France (Grotte et Cite de la Prehistoire) also viewed

Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, Ardeche
Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, Ardeche
 
Lablachere, Ardeche
Saint-Marcel-d'Ardeche, Ardeche
 

Been to Aven d'Orgnac Grand Site de France (Grotte et Cite de la Prehistoire)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing