We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional looking pub but outstanding service and food”

The Old Thatched Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Adstock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Old Thatched Inn is an award winning gastropub in a lovely village in Buckinghamshire. The restaurant is open for every day for lunch and dinner. Lunch is served from 12noon-2.30pm and dinner from 5pm-9pm Monday to Saturday. Sunday we serve food from 12noon-8pm. The bar is open from 12noon-11pm Monday - Saturday and 12noon-9pm on Sunday. The Old Thatched Inn dates back to 1702 and combines this heritage with a menu that fuses the freshest seasonal ingredients cooked with emphasis on taste, with modern presentation. Please take a look at our website for all our menus and events.
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Don't be fooled by the traditional look to this pub restaurant in the small village of Adstock, it serves far from traditional pub food!
The service is always first class and friendly and the food excellent quality. I have been here at other times for family occasions and as a couple and have never been disappointed.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone for any occasion at any time of year.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teresa502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S R, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Hi Teresa, we're thrilled to hear you haven't been disappointed with each of your visits. I have passed your comments on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 344 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2015

Our first visit,but it won't be our last !!!
My son and his wife live in the village and they are huge fans of this pub.
We had chicken & ham hock pie.Aylesbury duck.
It was superb .
I'm very quick to give critism of poor food and service.
I can't recommend this pub enough,great food,great service ,well priced.
Try it out .

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S R, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Hi Paul, we're delighted to have met your expectations and you enjoyed your visit. With family in the village we hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Time and time again we have enjoyed superb food and a warm reception at The Old Thatched Inn.

The pub is homely and stylish with excellent food and wines. The fish dishes are particularly good.

Andy the owner has an amazing memory for names and the location in the pub you like to sit making you feel incredibly welcome and your custom appreciated.

I particularly love the winter time with the two large roaring fires and the hot mulled wine on tap such a cosy place to share a drink or meal.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank florence034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S R, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Thank you so much for your comments, it is very satisfying to know that on each visit we meet your expectations. Andy is very touched by your comments and appreciation. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

It's a few weeks since we went, dropped in one lunch time whilst running errands in Milton Keynes which is two hours from home. The pub area is beamed and full of character.
We were able to come in with our two dogs, and were offered a table in the bar area and were then able to choose from the main menu. (we were pleased, especially as we thought we might have to sit outside and the weather looked iffy!)
Husband went for fish and chips- and was not disappointed. Food here is well above standard pub fare. I wish I could remember now what I ate...but it was very good. They do get busy, so be prepared to wait for food...it is fresh (at least ours was)

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank plantaholicdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S R, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Thank you for your visit and review, we are always very thankful to hear from customers, new and old. We hope you'll visit us again if you're near this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Ploughmans was disappointing. local pies are available, but this one tasted like Costco's finest ! We also tried to visit just for a drink, but were discouraged from sitting at one of the tables, despite it being the end of the lunch service an t he table was empty

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank 120suev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S R, Public Relations Manager at The Old Thatched Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Hi Sue, thank you for taking the time to comment. We're sorry to hear you were not overjoyed with your food. I'd like to reassure you that our pies are hand made and I will pass your comment on to the head chef. I'm not sure why you were disouraged to sit at a table so I will look into this further, it could have been the case that it was reserved. We do hope you will try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Thatched Inn also viewed

Winslow, Aylesbury Vale
Granborough, Aylesbury Vale
 
Gawcott, Aylesbury Vale
Swanbourne, Milton Keynes
 
Beachampton, Aylesbury Vale
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Old Thatched Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing