We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Chalet La Giettaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet La Giettaz
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here with our children aged almost 4 and almost 6. Chris and Miranda were very welcoming, starting from the initial booking with quick responses. Our apartment was spacious, two bedrooms with two ensuite bathrooms, two small balconies (handy for airing out ski jackets). Showers and hot water were all great, kitchen with dishwasher. We didn't use the hot tub and sauna but these are also available. The nearby cosy bar (in a separate building therefore not remotely disturbing) had wifi and games with a large selection of DVDs and books to borrow and meals can be ordered in advance to eat there if you wish. The croissants / pains au chocolat and baguette delivered daily in the morning were also a very nice touch as was the welcome pack with jam, local cheese, tea bags, milk and even a bottle of wine.

We booked our kids into morning ski lessons with the Ecole de Ski Français (ESF) which start at 10am and finish at 12, so in a few mornings took advantage of the child care facility Les Petits Montagnards to drop them off early. They were then taken to their lessons by their carer and we picked them up after a morning's ski. This all worked out fine. Nursery slopes also at Le Plan with a small green piste for learned before taking the chairlift for blue pistes. There's also a small luging area near Club Piou Piou (for little children).

Access to a large ski area is just 10 mins drive away from Chalet La Giettaz at Le Plan - either using the chalet's minibus service or using the ski bus which stops just outside the chalet. (We had a car with us so didn't do this - Le Plan even has a free parking area). There is a small grocery shop in Le Plan, or one in Le Flumet a bit further down the road, or a very large Intermarché in Praz sur Arly.

From Geneva Airport it's about 1.5 hours going over the Col des Aravis (without traffic) and all in all of you're looking for a quiet holiday then this is a much better option than pricey Megève, with access to the same ski area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Mandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have loved skiing the Megeve area and when we decided last minute to go skiing this year, this chalet cropped up in the search as they had had a cancellation. Lucky for us! The chalet is very well equipped and furnished (loved the dressing gowns!
) plus there was a welcome basket of goodies waiting for us on arrival. On site there was a warm and friendly bar area. Each day if you didn't want to cook you could eat in. Rob and Noelleens food was fantastic. The chalet has its own bus to the slopes ( only 10 mins away) and these slopes are much quieter. All I all nothing was too much trouble for Chris and Miranda and we will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitstableJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Myself and my wife took our children 5 and 6 year olds on their first ski trip and I have to say that Chalet La Giettaz was a perfect place to stay. The ski region is excellent and extremeley quiet we didn't queue for one lift. The ski school was very professional and we had both kids up the mountain by the end of the week. Chris and Miranda simply can't do enough, Rob and his partner who do the cooking and shuttle runs are well mannered, nothing was too much trouble.

They have an adjoining bar which is cosy and very sociable and they have a great DVD collection for when the kids are in bed! We will certainly be returning, very dubious writing this review as this place is a gem and is certainly one of the French Alps best kept secrets and would like it to stay that way!. The food we had was super, hearty portions and very well cooked, kids food is also great, we also cooked ourselves, if you get a shopping list to Chris before you go, he will arrange all that before you arrive to get you stocked up for the week. Just great..thanks for a brilliant week.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

As a group of 10 people on a budget snow sports holiday in January, Chalet La Giettaz was a perfect low key location for our trip.

We rented a couple of two bed apartments opposite each other on the main stairwell, and the apartments were very comfortable and well equipped. The only problem was getting 10 people around one table (that is until we found the table extension on our last meal together..) Chris and Miranda were very attentive hosts, helping us out whenever they could. The location is very picturesque and the village is small and friendly. The milk and cheese from the dairy next door was quite a surprise and very delicious!

I was very surprised at how cost effective going to a resort that is well off the beaten track was. The lift passes at Le Plan were significantly cheaper than the bigger resorts, and the area offered some very very good skiing, with no queues and very quiet pistes (you would normally only see a handful of people on your way down, any more and it would be busy!) Having a car allowed us to use the Intermarche in Praz sur Arly, which turned out to be very cheap and we managed to keep well within our small budget for the trip. The bar at Chalet La Giettaz offers a pint of beer for €4 which is again very cheap compared to the big resorts.

The other big plus for me was the many ski resorts within an easy drive from the Chalet in addition to Le Portes du Mont Blanc area; Megeve, La Clusaz, ND de Bellecome and the Val d'Arly areas to name a few. This allowed us to have some great great skiing over the 7 days we were there.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and everyone in the group, from the beginners to the more advanced skiers had a great time.

FM

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergus_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We've stayed with Chris and Miranda 5 or 6 times now and it's been equally fabulous each time. The chalet has large rooms with individual kitchens, so you can cook there, go out, or have a dinner prepared by Chris and Miranda in the bar. We normally stay in a room with a balcony, sofa beds, and view of the mountains. When we went there after our civil marriage, Chris and Miranda left a bottle of champagne in the fridge (in addition to the cheese and milk normally left as a welcome) and gave us a large room with a very large bathroom. They also have a spa you can use. Chris will deliver breakfast in the morning to your door. We've been there alone, with friends and with family and all of us have been impressed with the service and cleanliness of the chalet. The closest lift is a 5-10 minute drive away but there are a number of other mountains you can ski at a bit further. This is an excellent place to stay and good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 8 days in the middle of July and had a terrific time. I was bit anxious that our kids (9, six and 3) would not have enough to do, but from the word go, they loved it. Chris and Miranda put us up in the 3 bedroom duplex apartment and there was loads of room. In the morning we'd sit and have a coffee as the day began to heat up as our kids attempted to catch crickets and jumped from the jacuzzi to the paddling pool. There is loads to do nearby; we swam at the lake nearby, went to the pool in la clusaz (where we also went on the cable cars and the luge), caught the little train up to the mer du glace in Chamonix, cycled to annecy, saw the tour in Grand Bornand (great swimming pool) and had a stunning lunch on our first day in a restaurant up in the mountains. All in all a really brilliant trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrikerMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as group of 9 in the room for 10. Double room was great but bunk room was probably better suited to kids. Balcony was welcome and kitchen well stocked and decent size.

Breakfast was good (delivered to door) and excellent local produce from farm opposite. The sauna and jacquuzi were clean and most welcome at end of day.

Can't walk anywhere of note fron here but lifts to slopes wherever you wanted to go were free and welll organised. Chris and miranda were fantastic hosts and really made the stay. Welcoming, professional but still fun. I got engaged whilst on mountain and when they heard, they broke open a complimentary bottle of wine.

The communal area with well stocked bar and log fire were just what we needed and the evening food was hearty and unbeatable valu for money. Absolutely no reason to eat in town unless you really want to.

We'll be regular visitors as the access to variety of ski areas combined with price and service is tough to beat.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7RAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Giettaz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Flor'Alpes
Hotel Flor'Alpes
#1 of 2 in La Giettaz
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Soleil d'Or
Hotel Le Soleil d'Or
#2 of 2 in La Giettaz
13 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Destiere
La Destiere
#2 of 2 in La Giettaz
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet La Giettaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet La Giettaz

Address: Route du Col des Aravis, 73590 La Giettaz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > La Giettaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in La Giettaz
Price Range: £71 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet La Giettaz is a brand-new development of 10 self-contained boutique apartments, with private spa and bar complex, located in the picturesque Alpine village of La Giettaz, just a short drive from Megève, La Clusaz, Mont Blanc and the Chamonix Valley, and little more than 5 minutes on our private shuttle to the local ski lift - part of the 445km Evasion Mont Blanc domain. The surrounding area is a year-round natural playground with mountains, valleys, forests, rivers, lakes and waterfalls for you to explore, or simply to sit and gaze at from the comfort of the Chalet. Around every corner, fabulous views stretch across acres of magnificent scenery, under the imposing presence of Mont Blanc and an ever-changing landscape of colours and sounds.Situated in one large chalet, all of our spacious apartments benefit from spectacular views across the valley, and have been comfortably furnished with a touch of luxury to provide restful and welcoming accommodation in a beautiful mountain setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet La Giettaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing