We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet La Giettaz
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Flor'Alpes(La Giettaz)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel U'Fredy(La Clusaz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Gotty(La Clusaz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Hotel L'Eau Vive(Saint-Nicolas-la-Chapelle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Bellachat(La Clusaz)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
70
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaguettesauna and jacuzziexclusive useminute drivemegevechriscyclingalpsvillagetonneschaletsnowslopesgroupwine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just returned from 4 days with three friends at the very reasonably priced Chalet La Giettaz. Our hosts Chris and Rob were very welcoming, helpful and accommodating and happy to ferry us to and from the ski lift at Le Plan and the village. We also used the free, very efficient ski bus (actually a luxury coach) back from Le Plan which was great. The apartment was excellent - three bedrooms, two showers, one toilet. Simply but comfortably furnish, warm and clean. Good beds, nice bed linen and fabulous views. Wine, cheese, milk, OJ, tea and coffee provided on arrival plus fresh bread and croissants every morning at 8am. Dressing gowns and slippers also provided for trips to the lovely hot tub and sauna - you book your slot in advance. We ate two nights in the cosy bar (fantastic veggie food options - rare in these parts - cooked by a vegetarian chef who knows what she's doing). Great selection of books and games to borrow. We had two good meals in the village - recommend trying both local restaurants. Staff in both were very warm and welcoming and drove us back to the chalet at the end of the evening!

Skiing was good, lots of tree-lined slopes. It was very hot when we were there and the snow on south-facing slopes was soft by late morning. The slopes at La Giettaz are north-facing and stayed good all day so, taking the advice of a friendly local tourist guide who was advising people at the top of a lift, this is where we spent the afternoons. Never made it over to Megeve.

Returned home with gorgeous cheese from the dairy next door. Their Reblochon cost 5.5 euros compared to 30 in Geneva airport!

All in all, though a little off the beaten track, a great trip largely due to the attention to detail at the chalet and the friendly welcome by chalet hosts and locals. 10% discount in ski hire shop at Le Plan if you mention Chalet La Giettaz. They will also store your skis overnight, though not boots. Great for a quiet trip as there's little in the way of shops or nightlife. If intending to self-cater would recommend stocking up for entire trip at a supermarket on the way as shops small and only carry basics.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterflyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here with our children aged almost 4 and almost 6. Chris and Miranda were very welcoming, starting from the initial booking with quick responses. Our apartment was spacious, two bedrooms with two ensuite bathrooms, two small balconies (handy for airing out ski jackets). Showers and hot water were all great, kitchen with dishwasher. We didn't use the hot tub and sauna but these are also available. The nearby cosy bar (in a separate building therefore not remotely disturbing) had wifi and games with a large selection of DVDs and books to borrow and meals can be ordered in advance to eat there if you wish. The croissants / pains au chocolat and baguette delivered daily in the morning were also a very nice touch as was the welcome pack with jam, local cheese, tea bags, milk and even a bottle of wine.

We booked our kids into morning ski lessons with the Ecole de Ski Français (ESF) which start at 10am and finish at 12, so in a few mornings took advantage of the child care facility Les Petits Montagnards to drop them off early. They were then taken to their lessons by their carer and we picked them up after a morning's ski. This all worked out fine. Nursery slopes also at Le Plan with a small green piste for learned before taking the chairlift for blue pistes. There's also a small luging area near Club Piou Piou (for little children).

Access to a large ski area is just 10 mins drive away from Chalet La Giettaz at Le Plan - either using the chalet's minibus service or using the ski bus which stops just outside the chalet. (We had a car with us so didn't do this - Le Plan even has a free parking area). There is a small grocery shop in Le Plan, or one in Le Flumet a bit further down the road, or a very large Intermarché in Praz sur Arly.

From Geneva Airport it's about 1.5 hours going over the Col des Aravis (without traffic) and all in all of you're looking for a quiet holiday then this is a much better option than pricey Megève, with access to the same ski area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Mandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have loved skiing the Megeve area and when we decided last minute to go skiing this year, this chalet cropped up in the search as they had had a cancellation. Lucky for us! The chalet is very well equipped and furnished (loved the dressing gowns!
) plus there was a welcome basket of goodies waiting for us on arrival. On site there was a warm and friendly bar area. Each day if you didn't want to cook you could eat in. Rob and Noelleens food was fantastic. The chalet has its own bus to the slopes ( only 10 mins away) and these slopes are much quieter. All I all nothing was too much trouble for Chris and Miranda and we will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitstableJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Myself and my wife took our children 5 and 6 year olds on their first ski trip and I have to say that Chalet La Giettaz was a perfect place to stay. The ski region is excellent and extremeley quiet we didn't queue for one lift. The ski school was very professional and we had both kids up the mountain by the end of the week. Chris and Miranda simply can't do enough, Rob and his partner who do the cooking and shuttle runs are well mannered, nothing was too much trouble.

They have an adjoining bar which is cosy and very sociable and they have a great DVD collection for when the kids are in bed! We will certainly be returning, very dubious writing this review as this place is a gem and is certainly one of the French Alps best kept secrets and would like it to stay that way!. The food we had was super, hearty portions and very well cooked, kids food is also great, we also cooked ourselves, if you get a shopping list to Chris before you go, he will arrange all that before you arrive to get you stocked up for the week. Just great..thanks for a brilliant week.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

As a group of 10 people on a budget snow sports holiday in January, Chalet La Giettaz was a perfect low key location for our trip.

We rented a couple of two bed apartments opposite each other on the main stairwell, and the apartments were very comfortable and well equipped. The only problem was getting 10 people around one table (that is until we found the table extension on our last meal together..) Chris and Miranda were very attentive hosts, helping us out whenever they could. The location is very picturesque and the village is small and friendly. The milk and cheese from the dairy next door was quite a surprise and very delicious!

I was very surprised at how cost effective going to a resort that is well off the beaten track was. The lift passes at Le Plan were significantly cheaper than the bigger resorts, and the area offered some very very good skiing, with no queues and very quiet pistes (you would normally only see a handful of people on your way down, any more and it would be busy!) Having a car allowed us to use the Intermarche in Praz sur Arly, which turned out to be very cheap and we managed to keep well within our small budget for the trip. The bar at Chalet La Giettaz offers a pint of beer for €4 which is again very cheap compared to the big resorts.

The other big plus for me was the many ski resorts within an easy drive from the Chalet in addition to Le Portes du Mont Blanc area; Megeve, La Clusaz, ND de Bellecome and the Val d'Arly areas to name a few. This allowed us to have some great great skiing over the 7 days we were there.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and everyone in the group, from the beginners to the more advanced skiers had a great time.

FM

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergus_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews