We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
72
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baguette every morning croissants walking routes comfortable apartment tour de france washing machine sauna and hot tub excellent hosts great holiday other guests chris cycling mountains chalet
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Booked through booking.com as it seemed great value for money and wasn't disappointed. We are a family with 5 adults and it worked out as cheap as camping in a mid range campsite but with all the facilities and privacy of an apartment. The chalet is on a route through france(Geneva to nice) so it was lovely to see all the cars and cyclists enjoying the fantastic roads and scenery during the day, at night there was no traffic and we woke up to the sound of cow bells in the morning.
The sports shop in the village is great for hiring bikes. We ordered milk and cheese from the farm next door which was gorgeous.
There's a foot path that goes past the chalet which is well sign posted, a lovely waterfall down the valley and only 5 or 6 km up hill to the col which rewards you with great views of Mont Blanc.
You had to book hot tub (sauna was not working unfortunately week we were there) for half hours slots but got exclusive use during this time.
Will definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nicolah154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

....and this Chalet apartment was perfect. I was travelling with my son, daughter-in-law and twin grandchildren (age 5 yrs). Our apartment was located on the top floor with 2 ensuite bedrooms with an additional sleeping loft above the open space lounge diner/kitchen. A perfect space for children.
The kitchen area is perfect for whipping up your meals...but there is also the option of booking evening meals. A very tempting menu on offer. In our apartment there was a fine welcome pack awaiting us...Orange juice, milk, coffee, tea, pots of raspberry jam and chocolate spread, chocolate biscuits and a bottle of wine. Every morning of our stay bread,croissants and pan au chocolat delivered from the local village boulangerie.
Our apartment had two small balconies ideal for viewing the stunning scenery. The open living space included two sofas as well as a sturdy wooden table with benches. For entertainment there is a TV and DVD player....and there is a grand library of books, games and DVDs available to borrow from the chalet's bar.
Bedrooms are spacious with good stage space and comfortable beds...I slept soundly.
The Spa consists of a bubbling hot tub and a roomy sauna with showers to cool down in. Certainly a bonus for those that have spent the day walking/skiing/cycling.
Bar L'Escale offers an array of refreshments but I enjoyed a cool beer after a hot day exploring. The bar TV was showing major sport tournaments, Euro football, Tour du France cycling and Wimbledon tennis...keeping us up to date. Wifi is only available in the bar...but it is free.
Finally the hosts; Chris and Miranda are just lovely to chat with as they are warm and welcoming folk who are very knowledgeable of their area.
I hope to return with a few friends to explore more of the Alps in the not too distant future.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank avril_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletLaGiettaz, Owner at Chalet La Giettaz, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you so much for leaving a review and for your kind words Avril - we really enjoyed meeting you all and, just so you know for your next trip, we now have free WiFi throughout the whole chalet.

Looking forward to seeing you again,

Miranda and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

My family and I arrived at the chalet about 20.45. We were greeted by Chris, who was extremely friendly and he showed us to our apartment. He had supplied us with milk, tea, coffee, biscuits, jam and various other essentials. We were overjoyed with this after a long day traveling, as the supermarket had already shut. The views were amazing from every angle of the chalet. Our rooms were clean and spacious. Throughout the trip, Chris and Miranda were very helpful and friendly. Chris was very helpful with providing my husband with cycling routes, advice and suggestions where we could take our children. The food they served was delicious! We all had a lovely time and will definitely be returning in the very near future.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank moburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

We've had several Christmas breaks here and we will definitely return again. The hospitality, food and helpfulness of the managers and staff of the chalet, cannot be matched. Unusually, there was not much snow this time but in such a beautiful location that did not matter. We were able to explore the area on foot and by car. Lake Annecy and the cable cars from Chamonix were high points. A relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable break.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MSH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Wonderfully positioned and easy to find chalet in a friendly and quiet Alpine location. Chris runs a great service here, offering helpful advice on the array of sights and activities to do in the area and beyond. I have never been to the mountains in summer (I ski instead), so I was a little concerned I would be bored, but not the case! Wonderful cycling, hiking in amazing countryside and swimming in local lakes - what more could you want? The apartments were spacious and nicely decorated - furnished with everything you could possibly need during your stay. We managed to book one of the dog friendly apartments, and our dog very much enjoyed her time running around the mountains there. We would love to visit again soon!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sarahcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews