We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like a resort in the Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lecci
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The garden with all the trees and the beach area is the jewel of the hotel. The swimming area in the sea is surrounded with a net for protection (no dirt or anything there). That's the inviting to go hassle free swimming. I haven't seen any hotel pool. We stayed in room #126 which is very nice on second floor with a terrasse. Slightly through the trees we could see the sea. Be aware of a negative first impression. The entrance area and the reception is not beautiful. Also the hidden speed bumps on the resort road is very unfriendly. The name "Grand Hotel" doesn't fit well. But after that, the hotel is very charming. Parking is free. Breakfast has a good variety of food. If dinner is not inclusive, then the menue is too expensive. The location is a good base for activities in the near forest and mountains. Overall, this resort makes you happy but you have to pay for that. One of the best accommodation for Corsica.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in this beautiful hotel last year and had a wonderful time. We had the chance to meet the owner during our stay who is very elegant ,kind and friendly to her guest.we also thoroughly enjoyed the beach and the quality of the sea.if you looking for a relaxed holiday with great food both in the hotel and in its surroundings this is the place to go.

We stayed here in June 12 but could not choose the exact date from pop-up menu.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Okmen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have stayed here on two occasions! The food, Michelin Starred is truly incomparable! Fresh from their lovely gardens, unique, and a new menu daily, truly wonderful Mediterranean!.... I can not say enough about the service and quality. We stay in top hotels throughout the world, The Hotel rates right up at the top, and the food surpasses most all!
The beach of white sand, is beautiful setting, and very private, with great decks as a choice, for those who do not wish to sit near the water, which is devine. The hotel has a boat which takes guest on excursions.
The spa a Clarins Spa is lovely, with treatments, beauty salon, mani, pedicures, very first class. The pool is nice as well.
Across the street the hotel has a small but adequate fitness center with Technogym equipment, treadmills, bike, elliptical, and Kenesis, has stretching classes for guests, and a very highly qualified personal trainer.
Because we travel with a dog for the last three years we have not stayed at the Hotel, but we do use the fitness center, spa treatments, and eat at the hotel. The managers are lovely people! I totally disagree with anyone who pans this hotel, it's food, services are excellent. The Hotel is one of the reasons we return to Cala Rosa now for five years!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Josmshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay of 4 nights at Cala Rossa. Beautiful surroundings, lovely private beach. Wonderful staff. The dining room staff were exceptional, knowledgeable and always providing service with a smile. The food was excellent, truly a gourmet experience. The selection at breakfast was extensive and varied.
The room was very comfortable and had a secluded balcony which caught the afternoon sun.
I would be very happy to return at a different time of year when we might avoid the rain and wind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Botany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I cannot comment on the hotel or its facilities. However, I can say this: having had to cancel my stay due to a group booking that clashed with my planned visit, the hotel acted in a very fair and equitable manner to compensate me for the inconvenience. I look forward to visiting at a later date and am grateful for the elegant handling of the issue by the general manager.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank outtahere-gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

An odd combination of good and bad points here, but overall not a place we would choose to go back to. Positives first: we had booked one of the recently refurbished suites on the top floor, which was lovely, very well-appointed, with a great bathroom and splendid little dressing area. (Very expensive indeed, but apparently far superior to the smaller unrefurbished rooms). Another big positive is the daily boat trip to St Cyprien beach. It's a wonderful two-hour daily excursion (at no additional charge) along the coast to a secluded beach which has probably the most crystalline water we've seen at Corsica. The hotel's terrace bar overlooking the beach was very pleasant, and good for a light lunch. The reception staff were also very friendly and helpful, and recommended a great restaurant in town for our second night's dinner.

However... the positives didn't make up for the negatives. The hotel's frontage is overgrown and shabby; more like a back door than the main entrance (very dirty glass on the big entry doors too; no doorman and no one on duty at the front desk when we arrived at 5pm). It would be easy to drive past without realising you'd arrived. The interior decoration everywhere else in the hotel was also very tired, dated and not very clean. Stains on the stair carpet, and peeling paint on windows in common parts. At eye-level a couple of inches outside the corridor window directly opposite our room (and within easy reach of a cleaner) lay the skeleton of a bird, which had clearly been quietly decomposing there for at least six months. (Our room, though, was spotless, which only highlighted the contrast with the common parts). The terrace and garden area was also wholly overgrown, weed-infested and, in the morning, featured multiple small piles of sweepings which had been collected together but not removed. (Oddly enough, the kitchen garden beyond the car park was pristine in its tidiness. Clearly a different gardener at work).

The hotel beach was very poky and overcrowded with loungers. There's also a rigorously maintained hierarchy, with all the loungers seemingly pre-allocated to individual rooms whether or not they require them. (Celebrities beware: the umbrellas for each set of loungers have your name and room number displayed prominently on a card). Despite the fact that 80% of the loungers were unoccupied for the entire day, we ended up with one near the far end, where the frontage narrows to a metre-wide strip between fencing and the sea. When we turned up at 10am it and its neighbours were entirely in the shade and remained so for at least another hour; and the tide was up so we were standing in water. (We were there at beginning of September; apparently the tides are different earlier in the season). It's worth noting that the Grand Hotel's beach has gritty sand throughout whereas the sand on the adjoining public beach is fine.

Breakfast is perfectly good, but the hotel's restaurant thinks of itself as a "gastronomique" so dinner is in the grand style, and so is the maitre d. We were given menus and left waiting for almost 20 minutes without any attention at all (not even water or bread from a junior). When we finally (and politely) summoned the maitre d on his way to another table, he was clearly annoyed at being called over: "Well, I was coming to you in a minute, but, OK, I'm here now..." Despite all the big show, service was below the standards you'd expect from such a restaurant: the cutlery for our order was placed awkwardly and askew by one junior; another asked us to move our bread knives from our side plates because there was no room to put the bread down; a junior at breakfast delivered tea cups to our table holding them by hand over the top of the cup not by the handle. Small things but significant. Food was fine, but a little fussy. Not much choice for diners who'd prefer something simpler.

Incidentally, we were very aware on the two nights we were there, of the presence of the owner, the Armani-esque grand seigneur mentioned at length in earlier reviews, who was entertaining a small circle of friends. We had no run-ins with him ourselves, but he clearly enjoys his role as the ruler of all he surveys. Personally, we prefer hotels where the owner chooses to remain behind the scenes, unless ensuring that guests are happy.

Room Tip: Be careful about your choice of room: ask for one that's refurbished and on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank luckythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have just come back from a short stay in this lovely hotel and feel as if we have been away for months. We left stress and fatigue at the door and floated into a little piece of paradise. A lovely Corsican-flavoured decor, a superb spa, competent and friendly staff, gorgeous food and an absolutely stunning setting. We will be back for more!

Room Tip: We had a lovely suite overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SARA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lecci
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#14 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
220 reviews
34 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
3.3 mi away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#3 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
632 reviews
71.3 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
457 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA

Address: Route de Cala Rossa, 20137 Lecci, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio > Lecci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lecci
Price Range: £168 - £1,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hôtel de Cala Rossa is located 8 kms from the village of Porto-Vecchio set in beautiful private gardens that look out onto a white sandy beach. Between the beach and the hotel lie beautifully landscaped gardens in the shade of ancient pine trees that feature a South-facing terrace where you can enjoy breakfast through to dinner in the high season.The beach is equipped with parasols and deck chairs for those who want to laze about in the sun and for the sportier the hotel offers water skiing, sailing, wind surfing and canoeing on the beach. For golfing fans, the small Lezza golf course is 10 kms away, the renowned Spérone 18-hole course, designed by R. Trent Jones Senior is 40 kms away and Murtoli Golf located 50 min from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Porto Vecchio
Grand Hotel De Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA Corsica/Lecci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing