We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts and charming Chateau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ecrosnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful hosts and charming Chateau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We come to the Rambouillet area frequently to visit my elderly mother and have stayed in all the hotels in the area. Chateau de Jonvilliers is by far the best. It is a lovely small Chateau, in fabulous grounds, filled with beautiful old French furniture and art that has been in the family for generations. Virginie and her American husband Richard simply couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable and to provide information and advice. She made such a fuss of my mother when she came to pay a visit (and have a good look round!). She set up a picnic table in the grounds and my mother was thrilled to bits. There are five charming bedrooms on the top floor - we stayed in the larger Chartres room (really, it's a mini suite) - well worth the ten euros extra. Breakfast is comunal around a large table in the stunning dining room. Virginie makes everyone feel very welcome and ensures that it is a lovely friendly start to the day. It's a hugely upmarket Bed & Breakfast and not a Hotel as such but don't let that worry you unless you absolutely have to have a trouser press. This is SO much nicer than the very dull chain hotels in Rambouillet. The rooms are beautiful and well equipped with lovely bathrooms. Chartres and Rambouillet are nearby and there is a direct ttain service into Paris. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The slightly more expensive Chartres room was fantastic with front and rear garden views and a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles1952_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here to 'do' the Palais de Versailles driving back up through France. So glad we did.
Lovely old house. Third generation owners. Very atmospheric and quirky. Five bedrooms on the top floor; Small guest lounge with free tea and coffee. Virginie very welcoming. Breakfast lovely, served around a large table in the dining room. Very much like staying as a house guest in a friend's home. Virginie very helpful in recommending a local restaurant. Grounds lovely. So quiet at night! OK, the building is old, but that just adds to the atmosphere.
Lovely grounds. Fell in love with the pug and its eight week old grand'daughter!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Virginie and Richard were excellent hosts. Virginie is French and Richard is from the US, and they live in the B&B which is a real chateau that has been in the family for several generations. They shared their home with us for 4 nights. They were both very helpful on tips about what to see and where to go. They gave us leaflets and brochures about places to go as well as their map of France to help us supplement our GPS and to find our way around. They told us about the light show in Chartres, which we didnt know about. And gave us good advice about seeing the Abbey in Cerney.

The chateau is decorated beautifully. We were upgraded to a wonderful room with a view of both the front and back of the estate, a private bathroom and an extra bedroom. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was well outfitted with the necessities and the towel heater was a real luxury. We were treated like family guests and would definitely recomend this B&B to anyone wanting to get away from it all. Jonvilliers is a very small village about an hour outside of Paris.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaKayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on route to the Loire Valley and received a warm welcome from Virginie. Our room was on the small side but perfectly adequate for one night and had a clean and modern en suite attached. There was also a small area on the landing where guests were able to make complimentary hot drinks and use the internet, also free of charge. A lovely breakfast was served in the dining room and we were able to meet and chat to the other guests. Virginie is a natural and excels at the role of hostess, advising you what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at Chateau de Jonvilliers for 3 nights on our way to Ceret in the south west. Virginnie is an excellent host, it is not long before you feel completely at home. It is so quiet there that you cannot help but get a really good nights sleep. Although we did not visit Paris it is well postioned. Giverny is about 1:20 hours going across country rather than use the route round Paris, much quieter and more scenic. Chartres is well worth a visit to see the cathedral. With Virginnie's advise on where to park you can get very close to the centre without any parking charges.
We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnevillebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We picked this B&B as a first stop, close to Paris, after commencing our European holiday and were not disappointed.

The house and the settings were magnificent and we were very impressed with the warmth of the hosts. Unfortunately, we were out of season for the home cooked meals but were directed to a very nice hotel in Epernon.

Value for money and a pleasant start to our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband and I had stayed a week in the bed and breakfast two years ago for business. We vowed to return for a true vacation. This time, we rented the cottage behind the bed and breakfast for two weeks.
The cottage is well appointed, comfortably furnished, and happily situated. It was nice to have a full kitchen as well as a laundry room. Plenty of hot water. All the appliances were new looking and worked great.
The living room is very comfortable and relaxing, and is where we enjoyed playing board games while drinking hot chocolate. The dinning room has such a nice view over the front yard it was pleasant to eat breakfast in there with the morning sun streaming in, with entertainment provided by the local squirrels.
We slept like a rock every night because 1) the bed is very comfortable; 2) being so far out in the countryside with no city lights, it’s very, very dark; and 3) it’s extremely quiet. Even though we wanted to visit different places in and around the area, there was a good 3 to 4 days where we were quite content to just stay put at the cottage and walk around the grounds, it is that inviting, comfortable and relaxing.
Our hosts Virginie and Richard are helpful, concerned with the comfort of their guests, and so very kind. Truly lovely people!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneAustenFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecrosnes
3.1 mi away
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maintenon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Epi Hotel
Epi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Epernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau d'Esclimont
Chateau d'Esclimont
#1 of 1 in Saint Symphorien le Chateau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Ferme de Bouchemont
La Ferme de Bouchemont
#1 of 1 in Saint Symphorien le Chateau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aux Charmes de Maintenon
Aux Charmes de Maintenon
#1 of 1 in Maintenon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Bergerie de l'Aqueduc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 rue Lucien petit | Jonvilliers, 28320 Ecrosnes, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Eure-et-Loir > Ecrosnes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ecrosnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located not far from Chartres and half an hour from Versailles, the Château de Jonvilliers is home to two spacious and quiet, self-catering cottages. Nestled in 35 acres of woods and gardens, the cottages sleep six and seven respectively. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast France/Ecrosnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing