We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ecrosnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Absolutely perfect place to stay, peaceful,unique and ideal as a base for travelling. Virginie and Richard are the perfect hosts, we felt comfortable and relaxed from the start. Rooms were quirky,clean and comfortable.
(loved the pugs)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev_allen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is a fab place to stay, we loved our room it was very comfortable and quirky with various weird and wonderful collection of old pics and even a pair of very old boxing gloves. The bed was very comfortable. The Chateau is lovely I wish we had seen more but was only there for 1 night. Plenty of restaurants nearby but you do need a car. Virginia was very welcoming and the whole place oozed French charm. Definitely would recommend this one and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll, Scotland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

As we drove up the tree-lined avenue to the Chateau de Jonvilliers it was like moving backwards to a bygone age. The chateau revealed itself as we drove through the gates and round the irregular triangle driveway. The car looked incongruous in the period setting. We should have been in costume in a Julian Fellowes-written movie.

The magic continued as we stepped inside to be welcomed by Virginie, who inherited the estate from her family and strives, very successfully, to continue its traditions. She showed us up two flights of curving staircases to our room on the top floor which was beautifully arrayed with lovely fabrics (tulip pillowcases looking like a 17th-century still-life!) and antique furniture - even the bathroom had a superb marble washstand complete with china bowl and ewer (this was decorative; we used a modern handbasin).

On the middle landing was a fabulous (Louis Quinze?) ormolu cupboard with a beautiful (art deco?) clock and a lovely bouquet of fresh blue irises in a vase, a perfect tableau. This touch was typical of Virginie who takes a real pleasure in 'doing up' the rooms in wonderful ways.

We had a delightful overnight stay here. The seemingly remote location, in a tiny hamlet where the chateau is the main feature, is only a stone's throw from Paris - it's only a short drive to nearby Rambouillet where you can park your car all day and take the train to Paris, no problem. Also handy for Chartres (our hostess had provided a gorgeous guide to Chartres Cathedral in the little sitting room available to visitors where you could relax and enjoy your glass of wine (a small kitchen adjoined with facilities).

Breakfast in the morning was in an impressive dining room at a huge table with a beautiful flowered cloth supporting all sorts of delectable treats, including home-made brioches. The furniture and ornaments around the room occupied one's attention throughout the repast - such lovely things, carefully preserved and treasured and shared with visitors.

It was a pity we had only allowed one night here on our holiday tour but I hope we might be back to take advantage of the location so near Paris and Chartres. It would be such a delight to return here after a day's sightseeing or shopping and relax in such an exquisite place.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms are on the first and top floors requiring a staircase climb. Either back or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We didn't want to stay too close to Paris, and this was an excellent choice. Thanks Tripadvisor! And thanks to Richard and Virginie for making this such a wonderful experience. As we were the only guests the first night, Virginie gave us the Chartres room for our stay. Breakfast was wonderful, and on the second morning we were able to meet their Scottish relatives who had arrived for a few days. You DO need a car and you DO need to be able to navigate well to this charming location. There are several options to taking the train into Paris, and Richard and Virginie will carefully explain them to you. Chartres is close enough that we drove there for dinner one night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucedodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the cottage for a week last summer and highly recommend it. Friendly welcome from the owners, cottage well equipped, very comfortable and spacious. Both bedrooms had their own bathroom and there was also a generous sitting area alongside each. This meant that with two teenagers, everyone had their own space but equally, there was ample seating for a larger party in the living room at night. We would definitely recommend and return. The garden area has ample furniture and my husband enjoyed talking to the friendly chickens who wandered over from the chateau. Travel into Paris was easy by train from the local station.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliza_bSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We loved this place, a beautiful chateau in a small french town with lots of local charm and friendly hosts. What more can you ask for? Richard and Virginie were incredibly helpful and full of advice. Virignie was born for this job, we would have stayed with them longer if we knew how nice and relaxing it would be out there. This is an ideal location to visit Chartres, Versailles and other 'suburban' attractions before going in to Paris. It is very easy to get around, dinner in Ecrosnes or Chartres is a quick trip, really an ideal place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed in the cottage at Jonvillier for three weeks in September / October. The layout of the cottage was great for our extended family group. it was very homely with everything needed to make for a relaxing holiday - the kitchen was particularly well equipped which made it easy for having meals at home.
Jonvillier was a great base for our trip - easy train access to Paris, easy motorway access to drive to the Loire, Disneyland, Monet's Garden, Chartres, and close to castles of Maintenon, and Rambouillet, - there are so many things to do.
Richard and Virginie were lovely hosts - the kitchen even had some essential food provisions for us when we arrived.which was a lovely touch.
We'd love to come back one day!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyh0lidayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecrosnes
6.0 mi away
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maintenon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.3 mi away
Epi Hotel
Epi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Epernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau d'Esclimont
Chateau d'Esclimont
#1 of 1 in Saint Symphorien le Chateau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Bergerie de l'Aqueduc
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 rue Lucien petit | Jonvilliers, 28320 Ecrosnes, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Eure-et-Loir > Ecrosnes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ecrosnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located not far from Chartres and half an hour from Versailles, the Château de Jonvilliers is home to two spacious and quiet, self-catering cottages. Nestled in 35 acres of woods and gardens, the cottages sleep six and seven respectively. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast France/Ecrosnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing