We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ecrosnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here on the way back from the Dordogne. Room was pleasant, although having the windows open a little was a slight challenge. Walls very thin, felt like we had to whisper. The chateau is lovely, breakfast was ok. Dinner recommendation in the nearby town was very good.
Not sure we would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecat4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed here in April 2007 on our way to Taize for retreat. It was a wonderful experience and we hope to stay here again soon. Arriving in the afternoon, tired from a long flight from the US our hosts, Richard and Virginie Thompson, were very gracious to allow us to check into our top floor room two hours early so that we could treat ourselves to lovely warm showers, snuggle into our fluffy towels and melt into our comfy beds for a luxurious nap before venturing out for dinner. We went to a local restaurant recommended by our hosts and it was delicious as only a lingering French meal can be. We told them they had been recommended and we were staying at Chateau de Jonvilliers only to be treated to extraordinary service, jovial wait staff, and a most kind acceptance of our very poor french. The next morning we feasted on a perfectly appointed breakfast, mingled with the other guests, and were regaled by our hostess with stories about the family history of the house. We then ventured forth to Chartres Cathedral and enjoyed two tours by Malcolm Miller (he adjusted the afternoon tour noting our presence). We made sure we visited on Friday so that we could walk the labyrinth. We also took the crypt tour en Francaise and then retired to have dinner next door as we watched the Chartres en lumiers begin. Later that evening I curled up with a book and a cup of verveine on a cosy chair in the hall. The next morning we awoke to yummy coffee and pastry and spent the morning lazily walking the grounds were we saw an assortment of wildlife including an enormous deer bounding through the woods. We went to the local supermarket and bought some bread and cheese for lunch as our host explained about the cottage renovations they were only just then beginning to undertake. I have kept up on the renovations through the blog and the website which is excellent and I guarantee that if you want to experience France, French culture, and a warm family atmosphere alongside old worlde charm - that you will enjoy your stay here and fall in love with the house, the grounds, and Richard and Virginie.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gradstudent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Warm welcome, lovely house and great breakfast.
We were made very welcome and enjoyed chatting over crepes and home made jams for breakfast. Most confortable bed we slept in for our time in France.
Only complaint would be lack of blind or curtains at bathroom window.
In the middle of nowhere, so don't choose if you want to eat out.
We stayed for one night on our way further south and will consider it for the next time we are that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MytripsLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in the Cottage du Potager for four nights at the end of August 2012. Not many Gites offer stays of less than a week so perfect for our needs, meant we could come home midweek and avoid the weekend rush.
The cottage was quirky and unusual, very tastefully decorated, definitely not from IKEA, and had everything you would need. Probably best suited for two couples, although there was plenty of room for six people. The grounds were enormous, with deer running through the woods. No shops in the village, but the owners brought us bread and croissants on our first day, and its only a five minute drive to a large Hyper U. Also easy to get to Paris if you drive to Rambouillet and catch the train (one ticket from here covers Metro and RER as well.) Handy for Versailles and Chartres too.
As for the owners, they couldn't do enough for us. We had the misfortune to break down on our last day with power steering failure, and they helped us with translating the mechanic, offered us another nights stay free of charge if we couldn't be rescued, and drove us to pick up a hire car to get home. They also searched for and posted back my sons Ipod which he left behind. Highly recommended, would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms are identical, mirror images. Both beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

On the positive side, the cottage we stayed in was decently appointed, well provided with crockery and cutlery and stocked with the annoying basics (salt, sugar, toilet rolls etc) that can add a lot of hassle to self-catering and allows three night stays.

On the negative side, we had specifically booked the cottage Hortensias after much research to find the right place. When we arrived at 5pm, we were told that a "plumbing problem" meant it wasn't available and we had to go into Potagers (we were offered a cancellation, but at that time of day for 6 people and 3 nights we didn't have any realistic options). This "plumbing problem" didn't prevent a different family being in Hortensias throughout our stay.

Potagers felt clearly second best - no proper upstairs windows (all either very high skylights which could only be reached by climbing on the bench below or floor level windows). It was configured in a way which didn't really work for our party, elderly parents who would have been on the ground floor in Hortensias ended up climbing a tricky staircase with a difficult top semi step in Potagers, another member of the party camped out in the living room and a further one was too old for what at best was a child's bed but was more of a lounge area outside an en suite. This cottage was situated right on the road where traffic started at around 5 a.m. and was pretty constant from then on (whereas Hortensias is set away from the road.

When we went to pay the next morning and reiterated our discontent Richard made it clear that they could have just cancelled us instead (odd, as the cottage we had actually booked was happily occupied by someone else) and that the terms and conditions allow them to switch guests between cottages if they wish (and still take the full amount - no gesture towards customer satisfaction here (in the interests of fairness, they did offer for two people to stay in the B&B but that isn't really the point when you have arranged to meet as a family to stay together for a few nights)).

So, if you want to stay in the self-catering make sure you read the terms and conditions as they will be quoted back at you and be aware that as per the Ts and Cs, your choice of cottage can and might be treated as of no more than passing interest.

Room Tip: Book Hortensias rather than Potagers and hope you actually get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a real find. Remote enough to be inaccessible without a car, but close enough to the main line route to Paris, or to Chartres to use as a place to break your journey, as we did. Suited us very well, as we were spending time in Paris to see the end of the Tour de France. Quirky place, in the best way possible. Friendly helpful hosts, who seemed to have all the time in the world to help and get to know their guests in an unhurried fashion. Comfortable rooms, and a superb home made breakfast around a big table, comme en famille, where all the guests could chat. I loved the pugs too. Host's family actually went out of their way to show us some aspects of the garden, in particular the Harris hawk! I cannot recommend this place strongly enough

Room Tip: Ask!! We were up in the gods, but that was ok. If you hav a disabliity they will accommodate that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Absolutely perfect place to stay, peaceful,unique and ideal as a base for travelling. Virginie and Richard are the perfect hosts, we felt comfortable and relaxed from the start. Rooms were quirky,clean and comfortable.
(loved the pugs)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev_allen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecrosnes
3.1 mi away
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maintenon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Epi Hotel
Epi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Epernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau d'Esclimont
Chateau d'Esclimont
#1 of 1 in Saint Symphorien le Chateau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Ferme de Bouchemont
La Ferme de Bouchemont
#1 of 1 in Saint Symphorien le Chateau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aux Charmes de Maintenon
Aux Charmes de Maintenon
#1 of 1 in Maintenon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Bergerie de l'Aqueduc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chateau de Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 rue Lucien petit | Jonvilliers, 28320 Ecrosnes, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Eure-et-Loir > Ecrosnes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ecrosnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located not far from Chartres and half an hour from Versailles, the Château de Jonvilliers is home to two spacious and quiet, self-catering cottages. Nestled in 35 acres of woods and gardens, the cottages sleep six and seven respectively. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Jonvilliers Bed & Breakfast France/Ecrosnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing