We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
Ranked #5 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have had 4 nights at the Smokehouse and it has been a fabulous experience! The decor and ambience is just relaxing and so very English. Our room was just amazing - a beautiful 4 poster bed and lovely couches - very roomy. We have loved the dining areas - breakfast in the conservatory and we found the lady and the other staff very friendly and polite. Our breakfasts have been delicious and the home made jams yummy. We have had the scones and tea in the beautiful gardens and our night meals in the dining room very tasty! The soups are delicious and the roast dinners are huge serves and the vegetables fresh. We love how you book the time for dinner and then have a pre dinner drink in the bar by the fire with Joe the lovely bar attendant very friendly. After 4 days here and reading some of the negative reviews I find it hard to understand why these were written as we have found the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable and would recommend it to anyone looking for a more personal stay rather than a large hotel. Yes it is old but such a fabulous experience. And the gardens are just awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    122
    61
    34
    33
See reviews for
87
170
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with a full family. So we had 2 suites and one deluxe room. The 2 person suite is very spacious and very charming. Well worth the money. The family suite and deluxe rooms are okay.

However, the service leaves a lot to be desired. The breakfast lady should be made redundant. Terrible attitude to great you in the morning. The food is as bad as the service. And they allow outsiders to eat breakfast and take pictures slowing the service to a hault. It took almost 1 hour to serve the breakfast. Either hire more people or only allow outsiders to dine there.

Most charming hotel in CH, but being the most expensive you would expect better service from the entire staff. Althought the front desk was helpful it is not exactly the most polite or friendly staff you will meet.

The hotel should be experienced for at least one night. It is a very nice walk to tanah rata (30 minutes). The wifi is excellent and a beautiful scenery surrounded by the golf course.

If the owner made an attitude adjustment with the staff this hotel would be unbeatable in CH.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The price of what you are going to pay for the breakfast is a total ripped off! The muffin is hard and it felt like a brick! The fruits served were only a few pieces and that is with some funny smell to it. The orange juice tasted so sour! Waited for an hour for such lousy quality of food! The light breakfast costs RM26 and it's a ripped off! The table were not immediately cleaned and was left it unattended until the other guests complaining about the waiting time. The toasts bread were cold and hard just like a brick! Not recommended for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sherylckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We saw the introduction of the Smokehouse in a Japanese tourism magazine and decided to experience it ourselves. When we arrived at the Smokehouse, we were mesmerized by the gardens and the environment.

Unfortunately, The Staffs are not welcoming, bad service attitude, in fact, rude.

We booked a family suite and requested for additional bed because we are a family of 5 and they said they do not provide as they insisted this is the policy. We had to booked for another room for the 5th person. It is not about money, it is more of a hassle and preference to be in the same room together with your children. After all, this is meant to be a family getaway. We indicated the extra bedding during reservation and was only informed after we have checked in. In the end, we had to pay 100++ extra for the 5th person to be in the same suite BUT still without a bed.

Despite that, whenever the water/ shower is turned on upstairs, there will be an annoying sound. Imagine this throughout the night. Some of the light bulbs are gone and they did not replace it. Shower temperature varies, it becomes extremely cold suddenly and back to Luke warm.

The food quality is poor, Suggest only to have afternoon tea or breakfast only.

Friends were recommending The Lakehouse, should have listen to them. This is our first and last time in this hotel and will never recommend friends to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Round_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel and surroundings are very nice with excellent landscaping and a quiet atmosphere. We booked five rooms and a suite. The rooms unfortunately had a very mouldy smell. The worst part of our stay was the hotel meals, with the overpriced dinner costing 70 to 80 Ringits each. All our party did not enjoy the meals at all. My meal was described as roast chicken with stuffing and Cranberry sauce. The chicken was a very dry chicken thigh, the stuffing was a small log shaped piece of the worst tasting and smelling pate I ever experienced! You can get meals in the nearby town, if all you like is :steam boat". When we complained about the food, the hotel gave us some sandwiches to take away. A big part of any holiday is the food, so don't go to the Smokehouse if you are looking for good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Enjoyed hi-tea there one rainy afternoon in the Breakfast area. Table were a bit worn out (without the table cloth) with occasional rain dripped through the ceiling crack; but the scones with jam and cream were perfect.

Nice picturesque garden outside with colonial setting, good for photo-taking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It is our big family trip from 2 August 2013 to 5 August 2013, we rented 6 rooms and 1 suite including breakfast. There is only two meals choices for breakfast, its like big meal serve in KFC or MacDonald except their home make jam which taste yummy. The waiter/waitress has limited knowledge of the menu, as well as limited smiles. Justifying from the menu paper quality Dirty spots on its cover, and its paper is tearing apart,think it has been served for a long long while.

No doubt the interior design carry unique and beautiful English style. Hold your breath while standing by the reception, strong moldy smell !!!!

We have 13 persons live in various countries decided having dinner while enjoying the interior design. 13 of us almost order all listed main courses in the menu. Incredibly all of us give their food with "ZERO" mark !!! Is tasteless !! not even served in presentable! Fried cod fish serve like Fried Banana or "Goreng Pisang" , Pie with chicken taste like overnight chicken serve like " Dog Poo" etc. Food are overall cold! We get "zero" food taste and decoration, and we have paid extra high prices (USD155) just for the main course. USD155, we paid Ringgit Malaysia (RM155) for an excellent food in an restaurant by the main road, Tanah Rata second day.

With disappointment, we brought this out to the front manager, we are shocked when we saw their face expression shows no sign of "surprise" or "sorry" but like "oh ok" !!!

There are many new hotels are building apparently, hopefully SMOKEHOUSE could find ways of improvement. I am afraid if this continuing, smokehouse will lost its charm to the new hotels coming up soon.

All in all, hardware is "great" ! Software is "crab" ! I

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 813didid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
3.7 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.8 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.1 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Property: Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
Address: by the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smokehouse Hotel And Restaurant By The Golf Course
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing