We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still charming but needs a lot of attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
Ranked #5 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have been going to the Smokehouse since I was a young child. The exterior and the gardens are just as beautiful as they were before but the interior needs a lot of work!

We went for a couple's lunch on the weekend and we could not sit in the dining area inside because of a strong, musty smell. Luckily the weather was good although it looked as if it was going to rain.

We sat outside for a three-course meal on badly maintained, heavy iron garden furniture.

The food is pretty good. Pricy but pretty good. And so is the house red.

Overall is was quite a nice, albeit a bit on the expensive side, experience and I will definitely visit again.

I just hope that the current owners will do something about the upkeep of this beautiful cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ziKiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have had 4 nights at the Smokehouse and it has been a fabulous experience! The decor and ambience is just relaxing and so very English. Our room was just amazing - a beautiful 4 poster bed and lovely couches - very roomy. We have loved the dining areas - breakfast in the conservatory and we found the lady and the other staff very friendly and polite. Our breakfasts have been delicious and the home made jams yummy. We have had the scones and tea in the beautiful gardens and our night meals in the dining room very tasty! The soups are delicious and the roast dinners are huge serves and the vegetables fresh. We love how you book the time for dinner and then have a pre dinner drink in the bar by the fire with Joe the lovely bar attendant very friendly. After 4 days here and reading some of the negative reviews I find it hard to understand why these were written as we have found the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable and would recommend it to anyone looking for a more personal stay rather than a large hotel. Yes it is old but such a fabulous experience. And the gardens are just awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with a full family. So we had 2 suites and one deluxe room. The 2 person suite is very spacious and very charming. Well worth the money. The family suite and deluxe rooms are okay.

However, the service leaves a lot to be desired. The breakfast lady should be made redundant. Terrible attitude to great you in the morning. The food is as bad as the service. And they allow outsiders to eat breakfast and take pictures slowing the service to a hault. It took almost 1 hour to serve the breakfast. Either hire more people or only allow outsiders to dine there.

Most charming hotel in CH, but being the most expensive you would expect better service from the entire staff. Althought the front desk was helpful it is not exactly the most polite or friendly staff you will meet.

The hotel should be experienced for at least one night. It is a very nice walk to tanah rata (30 minutes). The wifi is excellent and a beautiful scenery surrounded by the golf course.

If the owner made an attitude adjustment with the staff this hotel would be unbeatable in CH.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The price of what you are going to pay for the breakfast is a total ripped off! The muffin is hard and it felt like a brick! The fruits served were only a few pieces and that is with some funny smell to it. The orange juice tasted so sour! Waited for an hour for such lousy quality of food! The light breakfast costs RM26 and it's a ripped off! The table were not immediately cleaned and was left it unattended until the other guests complaining about the waiting time. The toasts bread were cold and hard just like a brick! Not recommended for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank sherylckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We saw the introduction of the Smokehouse in a Japanese tourism magazine and decided to experience it ourselves. When we arrived at the Smokehouse, we were mesmerized by the gardens and the environment.

Unfortunately, The Staffs are not welcoming, bad service attitude, in fact, rude.

We booked a family suite and requested for additional bed because we are a family of 5 and they said they do not provide as they insisted this is the policy. We had to booked for another room for the 5th person. It is not about money, it is more of a hassle and preference to be in the same room together with your children. After all, this is meant to be a family getaway. We indicated the extra bedding during reservation and was only informed after we have checked in. In the end, we had to pay 100++ extra for the 5th person to be in the same suite BUT still without a bed.

Despite that, whenever the water/ shower is turned on upstairs, there will be an annoying sound. Imagine this throughout the night. Some of the light bulbs are gone and they did not replace it. Shower temperature varies, it becomes extremely cold suddenly and back to Luke warm.

The food quality is poor, Suggest only to have afternoon tea or breakfast only.

Friends were recommending The Lakehouse, should have listen to them. This is our first and last time in this hotel and will never recommend friends to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Round_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel and surroundings are very nice with excellent landscaping and a quiet atmosphere. We booked five rooms and a suite. The rooms unfortunately had a very mouldy smell. The worst part of our stay was the hotel meals, with the overpriced dinner costing 70 to 80 Ringits each. All our party did not enjoy the meals at all. My meal was described as roast chicken with stuffing and Cranberry sauce. The chicken was a very dry chicken thigh, the stuffing was a small log shaped piece of the worst tasting and smelling pate I ever experienced! You can get meals in the nearby town, if all you like is :steam boat". When we complained about the food, the hotel gave us some sandwiches to take away. A big part of any holiday is the food, so don't go to the Smokehouse if you are looking for good food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Enjoyed hi-tea there one rainy afternoon in the Breakfast area. Table were a bit worn out (without the table cloth) with occasional rain dripped through the ceiling crack; but the scones with jam and cream were perfect.

Nice picturesque garden outside with colonial setting, good for photo-taking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
3.7 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.8 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
797 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 13 in Tanah Rata
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 13 in Tanah Rata
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: by the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: £67 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smokehouse Hotel And Restaurant By The Golf Course
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing