We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite After A Long Drive”
Review of Hotel De' La Ferns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De' La Ferns
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Singapura
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Respite After A Long Drive”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I drove up to Cameron Highlands with my family for the first time one June 2nd for a 2 night stay. I drove up using the Simpang Pulai route as I was from Ipoh at that time. Halfway up, I encountered a massive jam. A drive that would take 1.5 hours, took me 5.5 hours. Unknown to me, as I am not a Malaysian, the weekend coincided with the school holidays, the King's birthday celebrations and a temple chariot procession. Add to this, the weekend night market at Brinchang, you can understand the time taken.

I was regretting my decision to go up Cameron Highlands and I was at my wits end. De' la Ferns changed it all. I was weary, exhausted but somehow the sight of this hotel made up for it. I stayed in a family room. It was huge and superb to say the least. The breakfast was great and the hotel assisted us with a trip to the Boh Tea plantation. We drove around CH to get to the other attractions. It was a worthwhile trip.

I went down back home using the Tapah Road route, just in case.

Room Tip: Try taking a room facing the mountains as opposed to the main road. The higher the floor, the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fijiboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    272
    125
    40
    17
See reviews for
194
170
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The room is clean and nicely furnished. It also has a decent sized balcony although only one foldable wooden chair was provided. It would be great if they provide two instead. It is however abit noisy at night as some motorcycle dude decided to speed and some car owners had their car alarms tripped constantly. Food (steamboat dinner and buffet breakfast) was quite good and they are included in the package.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meelin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I went to CH for the second time after about 20 years!was afraid to spend more than one night as the reviews suggested that there was nothing much to do.boy was i wrong!though the climb was a long and winding one,(we took the genting sempah-bentong-raub route),it was worth it.i guess the hotel plays an important role.de la fern is a small boutique hotel,situated in the middle between tanah rata and brinchang.the only minus point is of course the location,which could be a bit noisy at night.i took 2 family rooms,which were spacious enough for us.cleanliness was average,the floors were carpeted,and since my super sensitive nose didnt sneeze when i entered,it was a good sign that it was well cleaned.thumbs up to the service,very friendly staff.the steamboat was delicious.however,the only complain i have is about the food prices.at the hotel,the fried rice costs about rm20,and the same dish costs rm6 at the restaurant next door!do remember this is a small hotel,so dont expect much activity at the hotel.it is a quiet place to relax and enjoy the weather.
p/s dont forget to visit the rose garden and Boh plantation,and wear good walking shoes!leave your strappy sandals at home as this is a place to enjoy the nature,by walking,that is:)

Room Tip: get rooms facing away from the road.also dont bother about having balcony,the rooms with balcony are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putriizwaniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Decent place to stay in Cameron's. We stayed in a family suite which was huge, enough for 4 adults with a living room. The room was clean & comfortable. Breakfast was alright, mixture of local & western dishes. We were there during the school holidays which meant it was very busy, reception was manned by one person thus creating a long q. Inadequate seating for breakfast too.
Overall, nice hotel but avoid coming during public & school holidays as the whole of Cameron's is one big traffic jam !!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mkjs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel has a good location in terms of its location that is between the 2 main areas in Cameron Highlands which is between Tanah rata and Brincang. Book early to avoid being dissapointed especially during the holiday season.

On arrival one would be greatly pleased by the ample parking available around the hotel. It is a good thing that the management decided to allocate this parking space at the expense of having a smaller hotel. Definately a plus point in current times where a basic thing like parking has become a luxury instead of a basic available amenity.

The external "tudor" designed building is nice. The lobby area has been decorated tastefully with a mixture of wooden architecture blended with a modern design which is pretty unique.

Good variety of rooms with options of double, triple and quad sleeping options which is good for families.

The rooms are clean and have been kept pretty clean. Basic tea/coffee making facilites in the rooms and TV with some basic satellite channels. Another plus point is free wifi available throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is available at the ground floor restaurant which has an average spread with an alternative spread every other day. However could get a bit monotonous if you stay for a couple of days.

There is also a restaurant next door which serves some pretty decent steamboat (a must have at least once during a trip to the Highlands)

Room Tip: One suggestion is to request for rooms which do not face the main road and can get a bit noisy at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveNLetLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

If you focus on walking and travelling around CH rather than on staying in the hotel and drinking tea on the cozy sofa on the terasse of cozy place than I can recommend this place. The design and climate in the hotel is reasonable for what you can expect from 3-4* place. The location is very good. Breakfast slightly disappointing but may be because of my earlier experiences during the trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back seems to be more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciem_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

One of the better hotels in Cameron Highlands. Right choice for me. Staff was helpful and hotel room was reasonably clean. Ample parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.7 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.6 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De' La Ferns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De' La Ferns

Property: Hotel De' La Ferns
Address: Batu 39, Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De' La Ferns 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De' La Ferns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De' La Ferns Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing