We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$30
View deal
Hotels.comUS$30
Trip.comUS$36
Booking.comUS$30
TravelocityUS$30
CheapTicketsUS$30
Orbitz.comUS$30
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
491
159
21
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
491
159
21
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2019

Gerald’s Place in Tanah Rata was a ‘home away from home’.
Jay was a wealth of information about the area and the various hiking trails around Tanah Rata.
The service provided by Jay and Bella was always very helpful and appreciated.
The common living room was also a nice touch as well as the beautiful view from the balcony.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2019

This is budget accommodation that provides simple,clean quiet rooms. Ours had an en-suite. The room had an easy chair which was nice to relax in. Breakfast is included and is toast and jam, coffee and tea are available for free all day. There are eight rooms on the ground floor of a block of flats and the accommodation is a ten minute walk up hill out of the town. We liked that as it wasn’t noisy. It’s a a good budget option and I would recommend it. All the rooms are off a central lounge that has a tv.
The town itself is small with lots of restaurants to choose from, but really only merits a two night stay as all the sites can be visited on a day tour. It is better to visit out of season and school holidays as it gets rammed full with locals. We arrived nNew Years Day and the place was full of noisy day trip scooter and motor bike riders. All gone by evening.

Room tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 921SueD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2018

Stayed for 3 nights. 15 minute walk from the bus terminal but it's all uphill for the last part. It's across the street from the Heritage Hotel. Walked to town for meals took about 5 minutes downhill. Basic breakfast included (bread/jam). Tea/coffee available 24 hours. Parking available. Free wifi but it was sketchy at times due to the weather & which room you're in. There were 2 shared bathrooms in the unit that we'd stayed in. The lounge area was very comfortable. Sat outside on the balcony in the morning. Feel like home. Very quiet neighborhood. Place is kept very clean but there's signs of aging. Bella, the manager of the place is wonderful. So friendly & very helpful.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilmooshuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms and most important of all - really friendly and helpful staff! Jay gave us great recommendations and helped us with everything we asked for and even more! Our stay at Gerard’s place did our time in Tanah Rata perfect. Would recommend everyone to stay here and I am definitely staying here next time my roads will cross Cameron Higlands!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sannasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to the Cameron Highlands as backpackers. We recommend to take a taxi from Tanah Rata center with big luggage as you need to walk up a hill for 10 minutes.
We have booked one room with shared bath in a 3 room apartment. It was clean and everything important was there. Our sleeping room was big enough, the bed was comfy. The shared living room and the terrace invited for a sit in with a very nice view to green hills and jungle.
We experienced a very warm and nice service from the owner of Gerard’s place, as she helped us to get our stuff to a laundry so we didn’t need to care about it at all. She was also very friendly in taking us with her to Tanah Rata, recommending us few hikes and restaurants and picked us up for the transfer to the bus station on our way back to Kuala Lumpur.

To see all the best of caneron highlands we recommend to book a taxi for 25ringit/hour at the bus station as it takes you wherever you want for a reasonable price. We visited the St. Palas tea Plantage and the Cameron Highlands Plantage. The St. Palas was the one with a better view but both places offered very nice views. Unfortunately we didn’t have the time to see the sunrise as it was also rainy during our visit but I can imagine that if there’s sun it would be an awesome experience for everyone especially photographers.

We also recommend the barracks cafe next to Gerard’s Place, try out their bowl which is a very nice and delicious meal offered in a bread bowl.

Long story short we had a very nice stay at Gerard’s Place and can recommend it to all backpackers. It is a good starting point for all tours with very friendly and helpful owners.

Cheers
Andrej & Theresa

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank andrejs_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews