We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Curries with friendly service.”
Review of Kumar's

Kumar's
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Tanah Rata
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Kraków, Malopolskie, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good choice for Curries with friendly service.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We will have to agree with Kassim, our host of our B&B; that this is one of the better Indian Restaurants in Tanah Rata.

The choice of food is amazing; as the friendly staff of the restaurant will be sure that you are well taken care of!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    114
    66
    32
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just ok food with an expensive tag”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Had late dinner with my family at Kumar's - coz my daughter couldn't take the spices from Singh Chapatti (which the food was pretty decent by the way).

We didn't know what to expect, so we decided to NOT put a high expectation on the food in Kumar's. We ordered Chicken Tandoori, a plate of PLAIN rice, Maggie Goreng and a cup of hot Milo.

The waiters forgotten my Milo. I had to reorder. Food was edible, nothing too bad about it. Nothing to shout about as well. But the total bill came up to RM18. That's pricey for such a restaurant. People told me that food in smaller towns cost lower than big cities. I'm from Kuala Lumpur and the same orders will only cost up to RM14 max.

I should've tried the restaurant next to Kumar's instead.

My advice, go try others.

Helpful?
1 Thank mr_ngiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulim, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a wonderful moment having our dinner meal here on our day 2 of visit to Cameron highland. Staffs are friendly, Meal portions are big and the taste of the food is exceptionally quality. This is our 2nd time of visit, 1st was somewhere in 2011. For anyone who wished to have an authentic and fine indian spice food, this is the place it is. Recommended "thosai" with chicken curry and a hot cup of milk tea, simply will bring you away to a very nostalgic moment!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gauthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Naan! And maggi goreng.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

You need to go and talk to the guy who's cooking in front or who just calls out to you while you're passing. we didnt like the ready-made veggies so we told him what we wanted and he made it fresh for us. he also made us maggie goreng with lots of veggies - really good stuff. the highlight was the naan - it's fire roasted. definitely one of the best naans ive ever had!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad Bad Food Trip”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We were at Kumar's for lunch. To begin with, this eatery looked dirty and greasy and the ironic part that we were there was due to the hyped up reviews in Trip visor. Thank you very much. We had a South Indian banana leaf rice set that consist 2 hard boiled egg masala, 1 small plate of chicken masala, 4 pinch of varied vegetables and a diluted iced tea before our trek in the highlands. Staff was unfriendly and price came out to RM17 dollars. That was a F ripped off, mate. I could get more from this price from where I come from. Thumbs down and the last time that we will eat at this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kumar's also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Kumar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing