We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad scones.”
Review of KouGen

KouGen
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Tanah Rata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The current listings on trip advisor are very limited and this relatively new establishment provides good food at reasonable prices, and provides a different choice (japanese) for people (esp after travelling for an extensive time in Malaysia)
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“bad scones.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We're vegetarians so we're obviously biased but there wasn't really anything for us. So we gave the scones a shot and it was horrible. Hard, tasteless and just bad. go to lord's cafe for scones. best scones.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    72
    35
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Gyoza”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lovely place, fun to watch the guy cook your food as you relax. Food was more real Japanese style that I've seen in most of south east asia. The gyoza were really lovely with a nice complicated taste - so good we ordered another lot when we finished the first. Nice atmosphere, would definitely go back again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank briannaAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We had both lunch and dinner at KouGen - as it was so good, at a very reasonable price. Two thumbs up!

Helpful?
Thank DomCH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant and quaint ”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

If you ever have a craving for Japanese food in this part of town, it's really the place to go. They offer a nice spread of Japanese food and in fact, we had one which wasn't even the menu, the shirashi ( not sure if it's spelt right ) sushi. If you love sashimi, you'll definitely love this one. It's a nice mix of all the fishes in one. And they have power points at each table and wifi is available too! Great place to just have wonderful Japanese food and just chill out in CH.

Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very gd service”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Everyone should at least go there once
Sushi (flower fragrance) is different from the ones we usually eat.
Owner provide very gd service and welcomes positive feedbacks .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsPiglet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KouGen also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to KouGen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing