We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”
Review of Twin Pines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Twin Pines
Ranked #21 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This is very basic accommodation. Simply a mattress in a room. At least you are given a blanket on the bed as nights are cold in the Highlands. I was surprised not to be given a towel as I had at all the other hostels on my trip. The shared bathrooms contain a toilet, sink and shower in one small cubicle and are uninviting, no toilet paper is available either. On the up-side, the showers are hot. Breakfasts can be bought at additional cost but I can't comment on how good they were as I only had toast and jam.
The hostel is quiet, had a good mix of people when we stayed and is a short walk to the main road. But the staff are not welcoming and went down further in my opinion when they failed to let anyone inside the building know that they were about to be engulfed in a fog of mosquito pesticide sprayed by the town contractors, and that we weren't on fire.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bangarara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Twin Pines
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and met some cool people. The rooms are clean, breakfast good and staff helpful. It's all pretty basic stuff, but we found it to be a nice place to stay. Can sometimes be a little noisey when trying to sleep because of the windows that open into the hallways.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank robby71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stay there over a night the only good thing was the garden . the room was poor compare the price u pay.the share bathrooms was with no lock key. Wifii was no work and if does was too slow to surf . The tv room was dusty and the tv show only one channel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Dotan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This place looks great from the outside lovely garden with a great fire pit. We had a couple fires in the vening which everyone gathered around to keep warm which was cool.

The rooms are not nice pretty much a bed in a small square room, all fake walls so pretty loud. Also had to ask for more bedding - as did others, as they only give one fairly thin blanket in pretty cold climate. The bathrooms were also not great, almost every toilet was leaking meaning the floors were constantly wet. This was very annoying as it meant you were always tredding water around other places. The showers however, were very hot and stayed hot for a good while which was very welcome in the morning.

Price was super cheap so I guess you get what you pay for, worth it for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philallen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The most amazing garden with real grass!! We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed it very much. Clean rooms, many toilets/baths, not always hot water though but nice staff and free (slow) wifi. We enjoyed staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This place is a good value for the low price they charge. Rooms are basic and very small, walls are thin. The location is good, very close to the bus stop and the main area of Tanah Rata. The guesthouse helped arrange an excellent value tour (I hate tours but public transport is not good in that area, anyways the tour offered is a bit rushed but a fair value). Garden area is nice. Staff was OK, no problems. Would give 3.5 stars if I could, I would probably stay elsewhere in the future though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Staff is very nice! They helped me when I had some injuries from a jungle hike. There were some bed bugs in my room (sucks, but harmless) and they were very concerned and gave me an other (bigger) room.
The comfort is basic, but that's what you pay for.
Everything is clean and taken care of.
Extra thumbs up for the friendliness of the staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maartenvervaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.2 mi away
K R S Pines
K R S Pines
#16 of 28 in Tanah Rata
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cameronian Inn
Cameronian Inn
#6 of 28 in Tanah Rata
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
TJ Lodge
TJ Lodge
#11 of 28 in Tanah Rata
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CH Travellers Inn
CH Travellers Inn
#7 of 28 in Tanah Rata
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 22 in Tanah Rata
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Highlanders
The Highlanders
#14 of 28 in Tanah Rata
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Pines

Address: 2 Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: £11 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Twin Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Twin Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Pines Hotel Cameron Highlands
Twin Pines Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing