We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great from the outside, but mediocre inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
KL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great from the outside, but mediocre inside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Nothing really marvelous about this hotel, and at the same time, nothing really bad to complain about. room was worn out, and this was evident in the setting of the room (bed, writing table, wardrobe, carpet). and i don't really like the green theme of the room, because it somehow highlighted the imperfections and the age of the hotel. called the housekeeping dept for a hair dryer and call when unanswered. quite a few channels of the cable tv are not tuned properly. curtains are not thick enough and sun shines right through in the morning. snooker available foc at the chill out zone on ground floor. they have a small mini game room too but its chargeable (rm4 for foosball, arcade games...etc). front office staff didn't smile much and i am very particular about this. breakfast was just average with the usual spread of nasi lemak, egg station, salad, fruits, cereal, fruit cordials, sausages, bacon....etc. tv at their chill out zone on ground floor is only 32" and their cable tv subscription (astro) is not hd. i was better off streaming football matches on my laptop through astro on the go. and as per the title, the hotel looks great from the outside, but when you enter into your room, the disappointment sets in. all in all, it's just a place to get some rest, with nothing really interesting. given the choice, if i were to come back here for a holiday, i will try some other hotel instead of this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelier_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    184
    219
    69
    59
See reviews for
160
230
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My family had a great and memorable holiday in Cameron Highlands. We stayed in Heritage Hotel new wing. The room is clean & spacious. The bonus point is our room is equipped with a DVD player where my kids can watch DVD/midnight movie every night.
Every morning, Mr KC Yow, the F&B manager of Rainforest Restaurant greet us with a great smile when we are having our breakfast. Mr Yafet, Harris & Shamala from the front desk are very friendly n helpful. A big thank to every service team that we have met. Your excellent services have touched our hearts and made our stay memorable. Well done! Pls keep up the good work. Cheers :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilia268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked a deluxe room situated in the new wing of the hotel. Room is spacious and quite new. Balcony gives a good view of the distant mountains. It is a bit of a walk to the town center of Tanah Rata. Walking is not a problem because of the cool weather. The staff are not so friendly, not very motivated and looked rather gloomy. The experience I had in the chinese restaurant during my previous stay was not pleasant. Food was slow in coming, even though the restaurant was quite empty. The restaurant looked in a sorry state. Food wasn't so special. Breakfast was in the coffee house, which is slightly better. There are many framed pictures of Cameron Highlands in the early years and interesting to note how Cameron Highlands had developed over the years, maybe overdeveloped and lost its charm. All in all a good place to stay in for a night or two, just don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Booked deluxe rooms in the new wing and asked for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The only likable aspect is the spacious room and the fresh cool air which is part of Cameron.
Moldy toilet that is not thoroughly cleaned. Morning call booking with the front desk was not carried out. Generally the hotel staff are not very attentive and have a laid back attitude. We were warned by our tour guide not to expect quick service as this is the lifestyle of the people around here. That I can accept but no excuse below par cleanliness in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

quite an impressive room, though i was told its a 4 star hotel. for me i give it only 3 star. compare to other 3 star hotel nearby, the price is a bit better than heritage. check out system is very poor, perhaps due to procedures which should be simplified after all we all are the guests and we don't stay for free.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iskandar756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wished I had stayed for at least 2 - 3 nights there. It was short 1-night trip.

Heritage Hotel - 5 stars for the property, design, landscape and especially cleanliness. The hotel environment is so breath-taking and having placed us at level 5 made it all so much better. This hotel is extremely quiet and not crowded when I was there 2nd Sept 2013. No kids running around made it perfect for a quiet stay needed. The room we were given seems to be for triple sharing. So my friend took the king bed while I took the single. The room is so spacious, enough room to mess our stuffs around (well, u cant blame 2 ladies on a trip right!). Sadly, there isn't any robe provided. Otherwise all are great. Facilities, amenities and toiletries suffice - nothing to feedback about.
Staffs - 3 stars. Wished the concierge and front desk were more friendly and proactive as compared to their housekeepings (which I'd rate 5 for the housekeeping team). For me, service is very important and does make a lot of impact for my trip.
Location - 4 stars. We had no issues with the location as we had transfers for every places we wanted to go to. But the hotel is located pretty far from the rest of cameron and on steep hills. Convenient to nearest street shopping and convenient stores.

--
In-room dining: Food was alright. 3.5 stars. We ordered chocolate milkshake and mocha, which was bad and we left it after one sip. It would have been just better if we made our own milo and nescafe (3-in-1 packs), thats how it felt like.
Breakfast: Spread wasn't awesome but is good enough. 4 stars.
--

For a night, this place was really pleasant. Would return and recommend for anyone if you love quiet and serene.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyssaNyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here during Malaysia Public Holiday, Cameron Highland was very packed with tourist and traffic jammed badly. The least thing we want is smelly place to stay.
Our room is on the 4th floor. We can smell the stinky bed right after the elevator doors open. It was like never been cleaned. But we continue to walk to our room without anybody showing us which wing which way, we get lost inside the building. The smell really bother me a lot. There is stained on the carpet, on the bed, in the toilet, everywhere. Then the heavy rain comes, we can hear the sound of water drop and leaked on the room ceiling, so irritating. Check out the blood stain photo below, its unbelievable. The phone in the room was not functioning at first until I check the cable, then only we can contact housekeeping for change. When we call, they doesn't sound surprise at all and come to change it after 30 mins! There is bed bug crawling all over the bed at night, I can't sleep well.
A la carte food was nice but the waiter can't speak English very well. Here the conversation goes: Me: What type of fish do you use in this 'Asam Pedas'? (by referring to the menu on my hand) , Waiter: Err... err... Fish. fish.. its CHICKEN!'.. :D ok fine, I just wait to see the fish arrive on my table. Its actually Ikan Tenggiri... it is important to know every item on the menu to explain it to your diner... The breakfast: lots of choices but tasteless.
The hotel look dated,need refurbishment. The only reason that I didn't rate this as terrible is because of the view from our room is nice and speedy check-in and check-out. Will come back again to this hotel? No.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pow_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.6 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.3 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands

Property: Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Address: Jalan Gereja, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands is a 238 room low rise tudor style boutique hotel situated on a hill in the town of Tanah Rata. Surrounded by elegantly sculptured gardens reminiscent of the Old English countryside set in a lush tropical rainforest as background, it is the prefect place to refresh, relax and rejuvenate from the concrete jungle of most cities. The hotel blends tradition with modern comfort for discerning travelers with personalized services from friendly staff. LOCATION The Hotel is ideally located at 1800 meters above sea levels surrounded by lush tropical forest with a birds eye view of the panoramic town of Tanag Rata. It is a 8 minute stroll to the town of Tanah Rata. ACCESSIBILITY We are easily accessible via the North-South Highway (trough Tapah exit),the Simpang Pulai new access road and the Gua Musang new access road. Three and a half hours drive from Kuala Lumpur or just one and a half hours drive from Ipoh city. Taxis and coaches are also available from all major cities within Malaysia to Cameron Highlands. GUEST ROOMS Our 238 rooms and suites were designed with your comfort in mind with rooms and suites ranging from 320 square feet to 860 square feet. With its sleek interiors, we have managed to include in a full range of amenities which include IDD, mini bar,LCD TV with inhouse movies, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and attached private balcony. Our choice of rooms range from Superior (320 sq.Ft), deluxe (430 sq.Ft),to Deluxe Family Rooms. Our suites range from Superior Suites to Deluxe Suites and Presidential Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cameron Highlands
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing