We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely average, dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Barely average, dated rooms”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Initially we were very impressed with the foyer expecting that the room would be the same. Not so! The room was dated and modestly appointed. Shower was a trickle.
Location was good as a short walk to restaurant area.
Buffet breakfast was very good, especially bread pudding. Egg chef was overwhelmed at times.
Did not have wifi in the room and that proved to be very inconvenient as the reception was slow in the foyer.
Overall, would give it a pass next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svendiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    204
    228
    71
    60
See reviews for
171
246
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

It is really hard to describe this hotel beyond my opening comment. Shame, this place could be a real winner if only it addressed these issues. I was upgraded to a suite in the new block. Sure the room was big as was the bathroom, but it lacked character and a remote control that could work either of the two TV's. Pillows were flimsy and bed rather too soft. Staff were pleasant enough. Breakfast quite basic. Both the bar and the restaurant were extremely high priced for the basic quality of what was being served. They have a library which was seemingly for use of their long stay Japanese guests as everything was in Japanese. Everything else needed to be paid for including their snooker table and small amusements area which was I assume for the kids. Would I use this again? Only if I was on a budget. Thanks for the upgrade. I am sure this made my stay a little better than the other comments i have read.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a huge resort-type hotel, so if you are looking for something with soul of Malaysia, it's not the place for you.

It feels like a big resort in Switzerland rather than south-east Asia. Either way, the place was nice. Nice staff, quick check in, spacious rooms with balcony. No air con needed as it is quite chilly in the mountains. Breakfast was ok and just a short walking distance to the center of town.

The rooms feel a bit tired already and require some minor works to maintain the right quality. Wifi only in lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sungai buloh
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The room is basic. No control for the fan. No security lock on the door. The walls are paper thin and we can hear everybody several rooms away. Killed one huge flying cockroach and several mosquitoes in the room. Fountain outside and mini waterfall on the other side of the room make you want to pee all night long. The food is overpriced and ridiculous: what they served me as a medium rare sirloin steak was a piece of pre-boiled stringy meat suitable for rendang only. Not a RM48 steak! The hotel is not within walking distance of the shops downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigitteleha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Heritage hotel as part of a tour package. The hotel is very well located near the town where there are restaurants and other shops and a park with a sculpture of giant Vegetables. We stayed in a room in the new wing. The room was excellent and had a great view of the mountains. The room would be better if it had an ironing board and a hair dryer. The hotel has a laundry with coin operated machine and dryer. The food at the hotel is average but reasonably priced. There are many restaurants close by in the town.

The staff were very friendly though one or two spoke little English. It is a large hotel and I think would be very busy on weekends.

Overall a good place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Australia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I don't recommend this hotel. Staffs are so rude and facility is old and not maintained. I booked rm360 superior room but they told me there is no available room and give me free upgrade to executive room. But something strange. how come they charge me rm450!? They said that price without service charge and tax, so it become rm450. Even including tax and service charge it should be less than rm420! I don't understand!
The room should be a nice, but shower is so cold and it was so cold inside room too. Kids are freezing.
At the morning buffet, many people were still having breakfast but well trained staffs don't care customer and take all food back to the kitchen. One family with 2 little kids who came into restaurant just before closing time, couldn't get any food. So pity kids.
I have only bad memory at this hotel. If you choose it, good luck.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa20121114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Gobsmacked to see this hotel won an award through booking.com in 2012!

The hotel was dirty and run down, with dirty bed sheets, dirty towels and a mouldy and tired bathroom. All fittings were wonky and old fashioned, exposed wires, an empty mini bar that was just a dirty empty fridge.

When we a arrived a dirty plate in the corridor remained for 24 hours in the same spot. The lifts stank and we saw cock-roaches running about in the stairwells.

Breakfast was served in a dingy Chinese restaurant, with a very limited continental breakfast selection. My bread-roll had had bushy clumps of green pin mould on it.

This was marketed as a 4 star hotel. I would have given it a bad rating if it had been a poor 2 star!

You always get someone who rants about hotels for the sake of it, but I beg you to listen to this review and don't give these cowboys any of your money. There are very few hotels to chose from in this area and I think the owner knows this and has got away with investing the bare minimum in this place for too long.

Room Tip: Just avoid the hotel all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James_Martin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.6 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
782 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.8 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands

Property: Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Address: Jalan Gereja, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands is a 238 room low rise tudor style boutique hotel situated on a hill in the town of Tanah Rata. Surrounded by elegantly sculptured gardens reminiscent of the Old English countryside set in a lush tropical rainforest as background, it is the prefect place to refresh, relax and rejuvenate from the concrete jungle of most cities. The hotel blends tradition with modern comfort for discerning travelers with personalized services from friendly staff. LOCATION The Hotel is ideally located at 1800 meters above sea levels surrounded by lush tropical forest with a birds eye view of the panoramic town of Tanag Rata. It is a 8 minute stroll to the town of Tanah Rata. ACCESSIBILITY We are easily accessible via the North-South Highway (trough Tapah exit),the Simpang Pulai new access road and the Gua Musang new access road. Three and a half hours drive from Kuala Lumpur or just one and a half hours drive from Ipoh city. Taxis and coaches are also available from all major cities within Malaysia to Cameron Highlands. GUEST ROOMS Our 238 rooms and suites were designed with your comfort in mind with rooms and suites ranging from 320 square feet to 860 square feet. With its sleek interiors, we have managed to include in a full range of amenities which include IDD, mini bar,LCD TV with inhouse movies, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and attached private balcony. Our choice of rooms range from Superior (320 sq.Ft), deluxe (430 sq.Ft),to Deluxe Family Rooms. Our suites range from Superior Suites to Deluxe Suites and Presidential Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cameron Highlands
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing