We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
CH Travellers Inn(Tanah Rata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gerard's Place(Tanah Rata)(Great Value!)
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Arundina Cameron Highlands(Tanah Rata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Father's Guest House(Tanah Rata)(Great Value!)
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orchid Lodge(Tanah Rata)(Great Value!)
US$15
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Strawberry Park Resort(Tanah Rata)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De' La Ferns(Tanah Rata)
US$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
116
35
8
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
35
8
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscameron highlandssinging karaokethe busperfect place to relaxother travelershot showercup of teatanah rata townbonfirevolunteersjunglehostelmalaysiapuppiescabinaccommodationbackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 176 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

De native guesthouse is set backup a short hill which provides a quieter setting for the stay, although the dogs can be quite loud early in the morning. The owner Krish went above and beyond to ensure the guests enjoyed their stay by providing food one evening and socialising with the guests. Great location for some cooler Cameron highlands weather and easy access for walking trails and to the centre of the town.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

If you want to stay in a place worst than a homeless shelter this is your experience. Roten and brown mattress with a terrible access to facilities and no working internet. There are way better places in the area for a better price.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank alfonso1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This stunning hostel was really close to the town center, 10 minute walk. The Little huts were perfect for two people, with wonderful bathroom facilities, including a hot shower which was perfect after a long day trekking. The on site bar was a lovely communal are where my group (about 20 of us) had a brilliant couple of evenings socializing, and even singing karaoke. The host, Krish, was incredibly friendly and helpful. He picked us up from the bus station, made us feel very welcome, and gave us advice on what to do and where to go. I would definitely recommend this hostel for back packers, holiday makers and couples as its so well priced and was definitely a positive experience. Everyone from my group is excited to go back as the hostel made our weekend brilliant.

Room Tip: Bungalows are very good for one or two people, but the dorms were really nice too.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HRais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I've been to De'Native and loved the place. The feeling of the place is really like you stay in houses of the Malaysian Native tribes and there is a great bar at the back with every night a bonfire. This is really good to meet other travelers and drink a beer together.
Krish is the owner and he is a great person who will make your stay unforgetable. Also they have such sweet dogs who will greet you when you come up and they love to be pet.
I ended op staying much longer than planned because it was the best stay so far for me.
The town is a small walk away and there are really great things to do all around the Cameron Highlands. I loved the tea plantations and all the different hikes around.
So if you are looking for a great social and affordible place, De'Native is absolutely the number one in the Cameron Highlands.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Frakkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Probably one of the most charming places in Cameron Highlands. You will find De'native tucked away on a hill just out of the center of Tanah Rata. Once you're up there you'll be "greeted" by a bunch of dogs.. this can be quite intimidating.

The cabins itself are charming from the outside but lack quality on the inside. During the night the roof started leaking and left our luggage soaking wet. The bathroom smelled like fungus and that's when you look at the ceiling and you'll see sand, roots and creepy crawlies doing there thing.. the only thing that separates you from this is a thin film of building plastic. During our stay we found a brown widow spider in the bathroom.

The mattress is squeaky and unpleasant to sleep on.

The dogs I mentioned earlier tend to get rowdy during the night.. so bring some earplugs if you still want to stay at De'native.

The volunteers are a cool bunch of people whom are willing to have a chat, except for the old guy from Australia, he's a bit weird.

Friends of the owner tend to hang at the bar and leave with a lot of noise, somewhere during the night. Once again: bring earplugs.

So, are you in for some creepy crawlies and a bad rest at night? Stay at De'native. Not your cup of tea? Search a bit more for a better stay somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews