We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere, great tours!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Father's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere, great tours!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We went to Cameron Hoghlands by backpacker bus from Penang. The staff in the Guesthouse is nice, welcoming, friendly and has a lot of good recommendations to offer, for example the tours or the banana pancakes for breakfast at the restaurant nearby. The rooms and bathroom facilities are clean. As it is raining quite often and the air is very humid in the Highlands, the only thing that is missing is air conditioning to get rid of the wetness inside (Don't wash your clothes unless you're staying longer - they will never dry!). However, if there was air con they certainly could not offer such a good deal!
Positively I have to mention that there were three hair dryers to borrow, facilities for making coffee or tea and a terrace and balcony on the outside. There also were few books left behind from other backpackers if you ran out of stuff to read. The tours offered by the guides working together with the guesthouse were great fun - thanks to Jason - he was great! If you want to do a hike on your own grab one of the maps and ask for directions from the staff.
Altogether a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vallemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    338
    101
    29
    10
See reviews for
78
428
159
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best things about this place is the people who work there. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. Gerard was more than happy to share lots of local (and national.. International too!) knowledge and guide us to the best places to eat.
The guest house has lots of communal areas inside and out, a couple of balconies equipped with sofa's and a nice little garden. There's is a good atmosphere here and its a good place to socialise with other guests in a nice environment.
Includes Free tea, coffee, wifi, communal computer + tv.
We had a private room with its own bathroom. Basic but comfortable.
Location - a few minutes walk away from all the places to eat in town. The town its self is limited but there are a few walks you can reach near by on foot and plenty of options to book other treks.
The trek we booked through the guest house was great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephi draws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Back from Taman Negara we went to father guest house and they brought us to the Gerald's place. Very clean, cosy and nicely decorated. We felt like home. A walking distance to go to the main street, but the city is small so not really an issue. The owner Jane took great care of us, especially since we were with a two years old kid.
Good advices for trekking, restaurant and tours.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Clean guesthouse, very quiet, a 5 min walk away from the main street. They offer tours and advice on tourist spots. A safe bet. Be aware they don't have a kitchen or fridge so you wont be able to cook or store food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ot1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was lucky to have this place recommended by a friend living in Kl! Its clean, homey and good value. The location is also ok for walking to restaurants etc, we took a tea plantation tour organized by the hostel and had a great guide with a lot of care for the environment. Do recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here just for 1 night,The rooms are clean and nice. The stuff so friendly and helpful.
We had a private room with shared bathroom for 70RM per night. You won't find that kind of room anywhere else in Tanah Rata, for that price. We are extremely glad that we picked this place :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMH2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Right from the start they were very helpful, picking us up from the bus and advising us on where to eat. They also booked tours for you which was very handy.

The rooms were nice and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly.

Very good!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyL1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.4 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.4 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 27 in Tanah Rata
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arundina Cameron Highlands
Arundina Cameron Highlands
#4 of 27 in Tanah Rata
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,354 reviews
1.9 mi away
Strawberry Park Resort
Strawberry Park Resort
#2 of 12 in Tanah Rata
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Father's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Father's Guest House

Property: Father's Guest House
Address: Number 4, Jalan Mentigi | 200 meters across Maybank, Tanah Rata 39007, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Father's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fathers Guesthouse is situated 2 minutes walk to Tanah Rata town/ Unititi Express bus stop. Located across the road from Maybank, behind Twin Pines Chalets. Close to shops, restaurants, banks, money changer, and pharmacy and laundry service. Clean, cozy, affordable and comfortable rooms, friendly service and ideal + peaceful location, make it the place to stay for backpackers & budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Father's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Father`s Guest House Hotel Tanah Rata
Father's Guest House Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing