We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in this very nice house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Father's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful and the house is well kept.

We had a spacious and comfortable room and liked a lot the common area where you can play board games or just chill out.

The town is only few minutes away with few good restaurants (especially for the breakfast which is not included).

We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Father's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Currently in Tanah Rata, I really like my stay at Father's Guest House so far. Have stayed in a double room with shared bathroom for two nights (RM 70 = AUD 23.50 per night), then moved to the dorm (RM 20 = AUD 6.70 per night). The guest house is well situated just off the main road in a quiet side lane and as the village is so small, pretty much everything is in walking distance.

The place itself is sparkling clean (including the rooms and shared facilities), it has some cosy common areas inside and on the balconies, the WiFi is free (if slow in the late afternoon and evening when everyone is online) and so is the tea, and the reception staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They cooperate with local guides to organise tours to the surrounding areas (tea plantations, mountain rainforest, the Rafflesia aka the largest flower in the world, etc.) of which I took one and thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide on the rainforest walk was very knowledgable (university educated biologist) and gave interesting and thorough explanations of all the plants around us, their toxicity, medicinal properties, evolutionary characteristics etc.

The Cameron Highlands are quite cold at night though and so is the Guesthouse - I somehow question the point of the fan in my room and wished some magic spell could turn it into a heater.

Room Tip: If you want a double room, take one with a shared bathroom - it's cheaper and I had to share my...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BloodyScreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Really liked staying here, stayed in a dorm, 20rm great value, good facilities. Only negative I'd say is you don't have a locker and the beds are really creaky but the staff downstairs are happy to put stuff in the safe all the time. Great chilled out vibe, good for meeting other travellers, lots of single travellers here. A place where families and backpackers live in harmony! Free tea and coffee, hair dryers, boards games, good wiifm computer, book swap.. No food facilities but 2 min stroll into town all amenities. Such lush staff make you feel so welcome and at home. Could spend days just lazing around here enjoying cool temperatures and relaxing vibe!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank ldbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights while we explored the highlands.

Rooms and bathrooms are clean, beds are comfortable, free internet, comfortable lounge area and board games for when you need to relax. The customer service is GREAT - thanks for a great stay guys!

Only bad thing is that there is an obvious problem with the sewage system in the area - there is a nasty smell that hangs around, especially in the mornings and evenings. I expect that this is totally out of the control of the guesthouse, and is a town council issue, but it would be great if this problem was fixed!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hudbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We ended up staying 4 nights at Fathers because it's such a gem. The place is immaculately cleaned every day. Great rooms with excellent beds, nice new bed linen and generous towels. Gerard puts a huge amount of effort into helping his guests, and the rest of the staff are all super sweet and helpful. Great communal areas, wifi everywhere, a book swap, cards and games to use. If only every hostel was as nice and reasonably priced as this one!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at Gerard's House which is about a km away from Fathers. We showed up at Father's late friday evening, and Jay came and picked us up in her car and drove us to gerard's. It was clean, nice, and everyone there was kind. Jay really made you feel at home and answered all our questions about trekking, tea, and where and when to go. She even bought our bus tickets for us to KL.

Great place to stay and great people.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but has all the basics covered.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaLH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We got lucky and were able to snare a room at this great guesthouse at the last minute. Before our trip I did a little online searching and found the website for Fathers, but the site was not the most informative and I wasn't able to make an online reservation at the time (they had also just opened the new building so I think a bit of confusion was going on)

Anyway, we were taking the shuttle from Taman Negara Park to Tanah Rata, and we still had no place to stay. The driver called a some places en route and said that there was a cancellation at Fathers, so we jumped on it. Luckily, there was 2 rooms with the cancelation so another couple in the shuttle was able to get the other one.

This place was great. We paid 90 RM (like 30 USD) for a nice big room, with AC etc. The whole building was brand new, and very airy and cool, with open hallways and tile floors, big terrace with lots of plants for chilling out and a big upstairs balcony. The place was a great way to get cleaned up and refreshed after spending 4 days in the jungle! The staff was super friendly (the lady also spoke French which was helopful as well) and they even offered us that we could take a shower AFTER we checked out the next morning and did some hiking, which was a very nice gesture.

Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.1 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 13 in Tanah Rata
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 28 in Tanah Rata
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 22 in Tanah Rata
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Father's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Father's Guest House

Address: Number 4, Jalan Mentigi | 200 meters across Maybank, Tanah Rata 39007, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: £13 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Father's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fathers Guesthouse is situated 2 minutes walk to Tanah Rata town/ Unititi Express bus stop. Located across the road from Maybank, behind Twin Pines Chalets. Close to shops, restaurants, banks, money changer, and pharmacy and laundry service. Clean, cozy, affordable and comfortable rooms, friendly service and ideal + peaceful location, make it the place to stay for backpackers & budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Father's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Father`s Guest House Hotel Tanah Rata
Father's Guest House Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing