We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag of good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillview Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A mixed bag of good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My reviews on here are usually quite short but I think it will be helpful to offer more detail on this one. First the good. It's basic but very clean and pretty cheap $108 for two nights. There's also a cafe area at the front that is inexpensive and does decent breakfast options. While the rooms are fairly small and simple they have excellent wifi and there are some communal seating areas with TVs on each floor. The location is perfect for easy access to the town and places to eat. They offer a laundry service for RM10 for up to 3kg and 'tours'. In inverted commas because ours (the country tour) was really just a driver and a mini bus shared with others but the driver was very friendly and answered lots of questions. The really good part is that it cost RM25 (£5) for over five hours visiting lots of places.

Now the bad. When we arrived there had been a water shortage problem in the town for a couple of days. Not the fault of the hotel owners obviously but the tank system they use meant it took ages for water to be restored to all the rooms once the issue was resolved. We started to lose hope and went looking at other options, but from what we saw I'm not sure there are many that are much better in the town. There's also no heating and it can get cold at night in the Highlands. The lack of heating also gives the place a generally feeling of cold and damp. Also meant that the bathroom floor never dried after having a shower which like all we'd had in Malaysia was wet room style so we had to take our socks off to go in after. Only having one towel each we didn't fancy using them to wipe the floor all the time.

The other significant issue is that it's opposite a huge construction site where a massive derelict building is being knocked down, very noisily. It starts between 8.30-9.00am and when we were there finished around 7pm. So no major impact on sleep unless you want a lie in, but given the weather can be bad at times (rained heavily both afternoons) it's not the ideal place for hanging out.

The reason we chose the hotel was because we generally prefer to stay in a town centre where it's easy to get out to eat etc and as I said it looked the best option when we booked. So if all of the above sounds ok then go for it, but if you can afford it maybe look into one of the out of town options like the Cameron Highlands Resort and get a cab into Tanah Rata to eat. We went up there when we were despairing of the water ever coming on and it looked like a whole other world but was sadly fully booked.

Room Tip: As far away from the construction site as possible.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    94
    120
    32
    19
See reviews for
50
126
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is in a very good location within easy walking distance of the town and It is a very attractive building. The rooms are basic and in need of some refurbishment but they are clean and comfortable. It was a little cold at night but this was actually quite a refreshing after heat of the rest of the country. The only downside was the manner of the staff who seemed surly and a bit unfriendly. I know there is a language barrier but a smile translates to any language. It may seem petty but in the context of the utter friendliness and courtesy we met all over Malaysia it was a bit of a shock. That being said the hotel was good value for the price and I would not want to put anyone off staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens which are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

we were looking for a place close from the tanah rata from where the sightseeing tours pickups will be available. And the hotel is perfect for the same. The hotel location is quite good, but as everywhere in Malaysia, soon the hill view will vanish as the very hill is being scraped and bulldouzed to make room for further activity.

room location, size and ambience greatly varied. Ground floor rooms are nothing more that a place to lie down in the night. 1st and 2nd floor rooms are sightly better, but then have vastly differing sizes and feel. The architect has cut corners in the toilet/gallery design so you may end up with a room being in someone else's gallery. pl make sure that the room you select on check-in is decent. Otherwise rooms are clean. Else a nice cozy hotel in right location...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fafene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotels are very expensive here for what you get. This hotel is spotless but rooms are small. Carpets are threadbare and stained. Breakfast is extra. This hotel needs new carpet and some bedding. Only sheets and a blanket supplied. No a/c but not really needed it here. Lights stay on outside all night so I woke up at 3am and thought us was morning. Management...spend some money to refurbish and you will have a nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandifreo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have just finished a tour with G Adventures, this hotel was our stay in the Cameron Highlands. The rooms are basic but clean. Each room has their own balcony, and if possible as for the garden view .

The staff and the owner were amazing, she is from Indian , and reminds you of favourite grandmothers. The walk to the town was very near. The breakfast were amazing they make their own yogurts

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden View, there is only a few , but looks out onto their beautiful garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandifreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The standard offered is of a guest house or a hostel. Clean but outdated, minimalistic.
The biggest disadvantage: the temperature in the night. It was very, very cold. Only blankets on the bed so we had to sleep in our clothes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grubi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
860 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were pleased to stay at this hotel as it was clean and had a pleasant staff. It doesn't take too long to walk down to experience some very enjoyable restaurants. The rooms are a bit plain but overall it was a good stay. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Codiak!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.5 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Inn

Property: Hillview Inn
Address: 17 Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Hotel Tanah Rata
Hillview Hotel Cameron Highlands
Hillview Inn Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing