We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy kids, happy parents!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drake's sun terrace overlooking the grounds and pool Cosy large lounge area with the finest quality furnishing to make your stay more comfortable!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Drake's sun terrace overlooking the grounds and pool
Cosy large lounge area with the finest quality furnishing to make your stay more comfortable!
Fully fitted kitchen.
Family bedroom with king size and bunk beds
Twin room in Drake Cottage. Ready for a bedtime story
Family bathroom in Drake Cottage
Drake Cottage and barn with table tennis, pool table and darts
Sevenne farmhouse & Drake Cottage
The covered terrace overlooking the front garden and duck pond. Your alfresco dining room!
Peace and quiet beside the duck pond
Silk painting workshops held weekly. Untap hidden talents!
Silk painting is great for all ages. Here's what we did earlier!
A tree house in the garden. Great fun!
The gardens
Free range hens
Waiting for the post!
Night markets in July and August, a chance to taste and experience the real 'France'!
Fresh vegetables and strawberries for guests enjoy! (subject to season and availability)
Little touches that make all the difference!
Wisteria around the pool.
Sunflowers in Summer
The colours of autumn
A dip anyone?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Labretonie, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Grainne O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy kids, happy parents!”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our stay in Drake Cottage with our 4 kids for the past two weeks. The setting is beautiful, lovely country roads for walking, spectacular scenery and charismatic villages nearby. The gite itself was perfect, every detail well considered, from fresh flowers to luxurious linen to a welcome pack of supplies on arrival. It's very well kitted, great to have a washing machine (with detergent supplied, that's a first!), BBQ, wifi and UK TV (although we only switched it on a few times for Euro 2016 matches - a testament to our great holiday!). The grounds are wonderful, a huge well kept garden (a natural wonderland for kids) and a lovely pool with plenty loungers and chairs.

Our kids (from 4 months to 5 years old) had an absolute blast. Sandie and Mark have thought of everything, great toy boxes in the house, trampoline, tree house and a barn full of toys and ride-ons for the wet days. But above all it is the hosts that make this place so magical. Striking the perfect balance between giving us space and making sure we were enjoying our holidays, it felt like staying with friends. The kids were absolutely mad about Sandie. We went out one night to dinner (Ma Maison in La Sauvetat du Dropt - highly recommend) and Sandie babysat. We could really relax and enjoy the night knowing the kids were in the safe hands of their new "favourite person". They got a real kick out of helping collect the eggs in the morning and walking Ellie the dog. We all spent a very enjoyable afternoon silk painting with Sandie, very therapeutic and a perfect souvenir.

Highly recommend this relaxing holiday. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you for being the perfect guests. The children were so polite and well behaved they were a pleasure to be around, they are credit to you both. We can't wait to welcome you back for more fun and laughter, here's to your next visit! X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine...
1 review
“Very thoughtful hosts”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent a week at Drake Cottage and the property was lovely - a choice of 2 great outside dining spaces and perfect for children in good weather. Sandie was so friendly and engaging with our 4 year old, taking him to feed the animals and bringing out toys for him and our baby. She has a great toy and baby equipment collection - so useful. Unfortunately we had quite a lot of rain so couldn't make full use of the garden and lovely pool but Sandie had good suggestions for wet weather activities. She was also around to chat to about the house or area but was never intrusive - a delicate balance. I should say that Mark was away, which is the only reason I haven't mentioned him!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you Katharine, I really enjoyed your company. It's true that the weather could have been better but you certainly made the most of this fantastic area. We hope to welcome you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBelch
1 review
“Beautiful French Oasis!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have stayed with our children in both Duck and Drake cottages four times now.
Set in beautiful tranquil grounds surrounded by sunflower fields (best in July/early august) both gites could not be better equipped for anyone's needs!
The children love the pool and the animals, and are often found helping Sandie collect eggs/fruit/veg.
Sandie and Mark who run the gites could not be more friendly, welcoming and helpful and always make our stays very special, with presentation evenings on the last night for the children. We are always very sad to leave.
The local area has lots to do, would highly recommend having a car as most things including supermarkets are about 20-30 minutes away. There are some fabulous restaurants in the area also.
We could not recommend Gites De Sévenne highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave L
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relax and Enjoy Rural France”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We followed the excellent directions and drove past the duck pond with chicken and ducks roaming freely to be welcomed by Mark and Sandie.

Drake Cottage was immaculate and with its open plan lounge and kitchen dining room ,with a veranda overlooking the duckpond , gave us everything we wanted although we were hardly indoors as the weather was so good.

The patio over-looking the pool was great, we had breakfast there having got our croissants and so much more at one of the 3 bakeries within a 5 to 10 minute drive.

We were surprised to find most of what we needed in St Barthelemy at reasonable prices. The large supermarket at Miramont, 15 mins away offers a full array of produce, the town has quaint streets and open air restaurants .

We found it hard to drag ourselves away from Sevenne , the peace was addictive.

I was worried the teenagers might be bored, but the top quality table tennis, Darts and billiards table offered a great addition to the pool which is fully fenced with wonderful flowers and loungers .

For younger families, the egg collecting, trampoline , tree house and genuine pleasure Sandie and Mark take in their guests , gives every family a chance to relax and have fun.

I am sorry we only discovered the night market late in our holiday .You arrive with table cloth, plates and cutlery and choose your meal from some of the best local produce , they will barbecue it for you, you just sit back and enjoy the music and the views.

The only way we could bear to leave was because we booked to go again next year .

There are some great short trips including a wonderful Lily farm that our friends went to ,countless charming hamlets.

Everyone was welcoming, I enjoyed leaving doors and windows open without fear of theft .

A real find.
Getting away from it all in rural France

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners and cheap food and wine.
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness and relaxed atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble
Liked least: The kids were a bit scared of the hens, which did try to come in!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and grounds and our hosts
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
miawithaz
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect, cant wait to go again :-)”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We travelled down to this Gite as 2 families with 3 young children between us. As soon as we arrived the owner Sandie made us feel very welcome and relaxed.
The area is so beautiful and the gite is amazing. The pool,tree house, table tennis,large garden and toys were a haven for our 3 boys aged 10,4 and 2.
Sandie encourged the boys daily to help feeding the chicken and ducks and thry came back most days with fresh eggs for breakfast.
The accomodation had everything you could possibly need as a family and the adjoining gites were perfect for 2 families holidaying together, yet gave you your own space and privacy.
Although the boys were with Sandie for a short period each day helping with jobs, it was their choice and they seeked her out, which she was more than happy about. Other than this we wernt aware that the owners lived in the farmhouse and we felt like we had the whole space to ourselves.
We are looking forward to visiting again soon :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing