We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely village, lovely house, definitely...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of La Grande Maison

La Grande Maison
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Grande Maison
Paving outdoor area close to the outdoor kitchen La Grande Maison
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
La Grande Maison
Paving outdoor area close to the outdoor kitchen
La Grande Maison
La Grande Maison in Winter
Lounge Room
Wood heater and TV in lounge room
Dining table (seats 8)
Bedroom 1 -  1 double and 1 single bed
Bedroom1 - 1 double and  1 single bed
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 (showing 1 of 2 beds)
Bedroom 4
Kitchen full equipped
paved outdoor area
Foyer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Frayssinet-le-Gelat, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kattycrof...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely village, lovely house, definitely recommend.”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

It was a lovely stay with the family for a white Christmas. Unfortunately didn't quite snow for Christmas but was still a great place to cuddle up in front of a fire. Great facilities and comfortable size for a big family. Markets in praysec were
great lovely food a great ambience with the smallest stall selling a solitary truffle. The local village with the great boulangerie and local corner store were great!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review .
We are glad you enjoyed your stay .
We look forward to seeing you again .
Regards Chrisitne and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanniboo8...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Felt like we were being constantly monitored”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Firstly I'd like to say I absolutely love the village this property is in. I have been going there for 25 years. We stayed at this property with the previous owners and had a lovely time.
However, we arrived in August as 3 adult friends and immediately felt like Alison (who lives on site) was anxious.
Shortly after we were shown around the house, which is lovely, one of our group leant against the back door and one of the old panes of glass fell out. We immediately told Alison, cleaned it up and said we'd pay whatever was necessary.
From that moment on, we all felt that we were being monitored by Alison. We were told we were not allowed to use the front door of the house as there is only one key so it might get lost - well then get a new one cut!! Instead we had to go around the back of the house to enter and leave where there is no lighting whatsoever.
During the week we were very quiet and all wanted to relax. However on the last night we wanted to have a BBQ with a few friends from the village. We saw the other guests and asked them if they minded, they were fine with it. We said we'd sit behind the house so we wouldn't disturb anyone. We then spoke to Alison who immediately started flapping. She came to the house on more than one occasion that day wanting to know how many people were coming, that there are other guests to consider etc etc. It actually says in the house info book that guests are allowed until midnight. When I mentioned this to Alison she said "no, it's until 10pm" to which I argued that if it is in the rule book she can't change it. We had the BBQ, very respectfully and everyone left on time. No drama.
The holiday was ruined by feeling like we couldn't do as we wished and there was a constant feeling of worry from Alison. I will not be returning here and will be letting others know that there are plenty of other gites where you truly can treat it as a home.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
We are genuinely sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. As you rightly say we are the new owners and are striving very hard to create an excellent holiday venue, ensuring that all our guests enjoy a happy, relaxing time with us. Any concerns that we may have had during your stay were entirely based around our desire to make sure that the other families on site enjoyed their holiday with as little disruption as possible. We are happy for our guests to invite family or friends to share their experience here but this obviously has to be done with care and consideration for others. Christine and Scott. Owners of The Old Distillery in The Lot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoine S
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, beautiful and comfortable house, excellent service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house was beautiful with a large garden and a nice swimming pool. We made a lot of interesting trips. Don't forget to visit St. Cirq Lapopie and Les Arques with its nice restaurant.
There is also Alison with her good advice for trips and restaurants.
This was a holiday to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Thank you for the kind comments concerning your holiday at the Old Distillery in The Lot.It is indeed a beautiful area of France with an almost limitless number of interesting/exciting sites and villages to visit during your stay,not to mention the huge choice of restaurants as you discovered.Alternatively,time spent around the pool will keep children entertained for hours and parents relaxed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable spacious home in lovely village”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here with friends in Le Grande Maison. Beautiful 4 bedroom house. Lovely open lounge and dining area. Beautiful grounds with outdoor entertaining area and pool.
We had dinner at Cafe Bourian in the village. Beautiful meal. Also would recommend the Hostellerie in Goujanac.
We had a lovely week staying here. There are lots of beautiful places to visit. In particular we loved Rocamadur.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and yes Cafe' Bourian and the Hostellerie at Goujounac do have excellent menus as do any number of restaurants in the Lot.
As you found out, the sites and attractions are almost limitless and within a reasonable driving distance of La Grande Maison.
We hope that your time here will spur you on to return at a later date to investigate further the many attractions that our local area presents.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing