We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portland Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lybster
Certificate of Excellence
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rural Retreat”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here and were offered one of their larger and more lizurious suites. The price was slightly higher but we thought we'd give it a try. We weren't dissapointed. We looked out onto the countryside and woke to the sound of sheep. A very rural and country experience for us both one that we now look for in many other country hotels.

We were offered a very fancy scottish breakfast in the morning. I have never eaten anything quite so filling in my life. Everything you could possibly imagine was available to us.

Highly recommended.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    19
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
21
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

I was disappointed to hear that the Portland Arms had closed. However it's now under new management and I've just returned from a two day stay.

The staff are friendly and attentive giving the atmoshper,one of a family run hotel. The food is a mixture of traditional Scottish fare and specials. The sirloin steak that I had was excellent and cooked exactly to my specification.

The room was huge and looked like it had been recently refurbished. The rate is excellent - and all in bb plus the evening meal in the bar worked out at £100 per night for two of us. A great deal.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Me and my wife ate at this hotel on the weekend 22/06/12 when we were in Lybster staying at a B & B, the Croft house, just outside Lybster. When we walked in we were met by friendly staff who quickly seated us and took our drinks order. The menu is limited but has the basics. I had the Chilli which was excellent and my wife had the Scampi which also looked lovely and which she enjoyed. The two waitresses were very attentive and checked that we were enjoying our meals. This Hotel appears to be a good ald fashioned well run hotel that I was told is just under new management. The real fire is also a great attraction.

Loved the food and would definately eat there again if I am ever passing again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We checked in here on Thursday night after a hard day in the saddle. My room was not obvious to the receptionist, so he put me in the lounge where tea and coffee were waiting for us. Five minutes later he had found me a room but upon checking there were no towels, so I had to chase them up. When they arrived they were brand new and still had the labels on them. I quickly freshened up and went down for dinner. We had a really nice pub meal with friendly staff. we were then shown into the lounge where a log fire was burning for coffee. i retired to bed and checked the room out. It was appalling, there was dust every where the floors had not been hoovered, there were 2 stains on the bed cover, dead insect squashed on the skirting, a previous guest smelly old sock under the dresser and the TV did not have a remote. In the en suite there was no bath mate just an 18" square of old carpet by the toilet, The shower had not been cleaned the wash basin was filthy, there were 2 discarded old shower caps in soggy boxes and a previous guest razor blades. The breakfast wash a bit Fawlty Towerish as some of the staff had refused to get up early as they had worked late the night before. My breakfast got forgotten so despite being down early I was one of the last to eat. Some of our group likened it to a Scottish Fawlty Towers with a female Basil! If I was going to stay around Lybster again I would find a nice B&B and eat at the Portland Arms. It says it is AA four star rated but it is no better than a 1 or maybe 2 star.

Room Tip: Find a good B&B and use this place to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIDINGAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel on our way back to Orkney. We had a room at the top of the building. It was cold when we first went into it, but the radiator soon heated up the room. We were asked if we would like a further electric heater but declined the offer.
The evening meal was very good. I had scampi and a 'small portion' of chips - which was huge! I would hate to see the 'normal' portion! My husband had gammon steak, which he said was cooked perfectly.
The breakfasts should come with a health warning! My husband had the full breakfast, cereal and juice, followed by loads of toast, eggs, bacon, beans, fried bread, tomato, mushrooms and black pudding. At 6pm he's still not hungry!
We would certainly stay there again if the boat is cancelled.
Yes part of the decor looks a bit aged, but otherwise it is a very good hotel. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Good luck in their new venture, I hope they make a success of their venture, they deserve it.

Room Tip: If you are tall a bedroom onthe 3rd floor might be a problem as the corridoor ceiling is a bit low a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Did not stay over here but ate there three time over our four night stay. The food is lovely and very reasonable and so are the bar prices.The staff are so friendly and the only downside is that we had go home. Our little dog was spoilt there with fresh water and biscuits being supplied to keer her happy - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Staff were so nice to be around, very helpful and always happy. Rooms were neat and tidy, the food was great too, such large helpings, didn't know where to put it all really. Will definetely be staying here again if we are up in this direction.

Thanks guys, had a lovely stay :)

alastair

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lybster
11.6 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
289 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
222 reviews
24.1 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
261 reviews
11.5 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Antlers
The Antlers
#3 of 5 in Lybster
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Arms Hotel

Property: Portland Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lybster KW3 6BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lybster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lybster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portland Arms Hotel is located near the wild, rough Caithness coast, on the edge of an old fishing village in Lybster. It provides guests with the ideal base for exploring the far north and the Orkney Islands. Dating back to 1850, the hotel was originally a Coaching Inn; today it's a family run business offering superb food which is cooked to order by our talented chefs. The hotel reopened in March 2016 after being closed for three years. We have a bar and restaurant, as well as a traditional ballroom which can cater for up to 300 people and we even have our very own event organiser to create the perfect event just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Portland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Arms Hotel Lybster, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing