We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Must Stay”
Review of Tirimoana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tirimoana House
Ranked #4 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2013

No matter where you are travelling in New Zealand you must, absolutely must, spend one or more nights at Tirimoana House at Tirimoana, which is at the start of the Queen Charlotte Track in the Marlborough Sounds. This B&B and it's host Michelle offered something very unique which included extremely comfortable and private rooms with the most awe inspiring views, coupled with food and service I have only ever experienced in 5 and 6 Star establishments. If you are seeking an environment offering peace, tranquillity and relaxation you have to experience Tirimoana House This is just so unique, I wish I could have stayed longer. I have only ever experienced this level of service on one other occasion which was at at the Williamsburg Inn, Williamsburg, Virginia USA.

Room Tip: My first night was in the Sunrise Room which was excellent, however because of a prior booking I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Tirimoana House is located in a place of great energy and beauty. Many travellers are passing through, being at one end of the Queen Charlotte Track, but it doesn't feel touristy at all. Tirimoana House itself is a warm, welcoming place with beautiful rooms. Any of you running on high revs might just find yourself putting grand plans aside for an hour or a day because this place has a feeling of serenity that just creeps up on you.The lovely hosts Bev and David are truly carring people who genuinely want your stay with them to be a good one - no pretenses at Tirimoana House. You must do yourself a favour and have Bev's perfect scrambled eggs with wood smoked Salmon for breakfast and David's award winning Chipatis (and the best Dhal I have ever tasted) hand made and piping hot. David bless his soul got up early the day I was leaving just to make these awesome chipatis for my breakfast - need I say more? Lastly, sit down and have a glass of wine or two with Bev and David (and if you are an animal lover their two cute as doggies) you will feel like you have made two new friends!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGruyere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Absolutely lovely spot overlooking the Sound. Out of the way and quiet. The owners Dave & Bev are friendly, helpful and fun but never intrusive. Lots of privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelers058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Secluded Private Peaceful Quiet Fantastic location. Bev and David brilliant hosts, the room we had Queen Charlotte Lodge was perfect. We used the private spa with views over the water, romantic and quiet. Location was so quiet even though there were ther guests we only saw them in passing. Great food, service was 100% would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Queen Charlotte Lodge was the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jan_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

New owners bev and Dave are gracious hosts...lovely little gem with spectacular rooms. Comfortable...delightful and delicious meal prepared by our hosts. They could not have been nicer! Excellent location near one end of queen Charlotte track

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay at this wonderful property. We can not recommend it enough if you want to enjoy the quieter stunning location, surrounding area's activities, great hosts and lovely accommodation.

The property is located in a small village on the edge of the Queen Charlotte Sound and has the best views you can get! Every morning you awake to a stunning vista across the sound, to the many mountains beyond. It is situated a way from Picton, but we'd rather stay in this idyllic location rather than Picton anytime.

We used the property as a base for us to explore the area, taking our time to relax and enjoy the local area's attractions/activities and this accomodation. Each day would begin with a fantastic filling breakfast on the breakfast deck with views of the Sound, before chilling out on our suites balcony and enjoying the ambience. We spent a day on the Queen Charlotte Walk which begins within a few hundred metres of Tirimoana House. Another day we spent riding bikes around the wineries of the region before going out fishing on another day whilst enjoying nearby towns for fantastic dinners.

The property has what must be the best location for spa in NZ. The elevated spa overlooks the property and on to the Sound. We spent a hour or two each sunset enjoying a wine whilst taking in the scenic location in the 39c heat of the spa!

The hosts, though relatively new to the property, are great hosts, always accommodating and happy to help - they never seemingly get put out by any request, the phrase "of course you can" always being their response. Their cooking skills are also high quality judging on the breakfasts and one evening meal we enjoyed there.

We felt sorry for those people we saw who only booked for one night, arriving in the evening and leaving in the morning for their next destination, they missed out on this great setting and fantastic property.

Room Tip: Choose the Queen Charlotte Suite if you want space, luxury and an balcony with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Great ,remote and beautiful location

Relatively new and inexperienced owners, who have need of more efficiency.
But we are sure that in the future this can only get better, since host are very motivated.
They make a great dinner, breakfas is ok.
Perfect location for a few blissful days of rest.
Plenty of opportunities to walk on the Queen Charlotte Trail








Relatively new and inexperienced owners, who have need of more efficiency.
But we are sure that in the future can only get better.
Owners make a great dinner
Perfect location for a few blissful days rest.
Plenty of opportunities to walk on the Queen Charlotte Trail

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMIELANDMARLEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anakiwa hotels
0.4 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anakiwa Lodge
Anakiwa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Anakiwa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
130 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tirimoana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Address: 257 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: £151 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing