We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tirimoana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tirimoana House
Ranked #4 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

After treating my girlfriend to a night away last year at Tirimoana House, we decided to come back for a repeat visit on our mini break away. Needless to say the second stay was as good as the first! We once again stayed in the Sunrise Suite with beautiful unencompassed views down Queen Charlotte Sound. The atmosphere of Tirimoana House is welcoming and automatically encourages you to relax. The room is tastefully decorated with a seaside theme, the works of Art being painted by Michelle the manager. Breakfast was a delicious affair of blue cheese and baby spinach omelette, in the sunshine with views to soak up. 10/10 we will be back. Thanks Michelle.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank aldo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Manager at Tirimoana House, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you Aldo for your kind remark. It was a pleasure to make you welcome once again.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay
Kind Regards,
Michelle B
Proprietor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently stayed at Tirimoana house during a visit to the marlborough sounds. Unfortunately the same time the cyclone came through. We were delighted by our rooms - very special and lovely decor, perfect to just lie on the bed, read and relax. Michelle was lovely and an amazing cook. I would definetly recommend opting for her home cooked meal it was restaurant quality plus. Nothing was too much and they were very kind and attentive. Thank you so much. Jo and Dan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jo170983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just stayed two nights at this wonderful location for our 20th wedding anniversary. Our host Michelle is a friendly down to earth person who made us feel welcome & relaxed the entire time we stayed here. On the night of our anniversary she made us a special cake for the occasion which typifies her caring nature & willingness to make her guests stay a special one. Our room was clean ,comfortable & had wonderful panoramic views of Queen Charlotte sound & also access to a deck to enjoy these views & tranquillity further. We loved sitting in the hot tub with a glass of wine as the sun was rising over the sound. We must also mention Michelle's cooking, it was delicious with more than generous portion sizes & one of the main highlights of our stay here. We will definitely be back.-Andrew & Virginia.

Room Tip: Loved the sunrise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pottzeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hosts are very friendly and gave a lot of directions. Breakfast is very good, very intimate setting where you can talk to other guests. The setting is beautiful, not far from Picton but feeling much more remote. However the room was very cold, truly cold to sleep at about 16-17ºC, and the bathroom was small and not well lit.

Room Tip: Probably better to stay on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Tirimoana House and your kind words regarding Chris and my service and assistance. I am very concerned however, to note you found your room cold. Each of our Rooms is supplied with an electric heater which is stored in the wardrobe, coupled with extra blankets also stored in the wardrobe.
If only we were aware of your discomfort we would have further assisted by placing an electric blanket on the bed.
We pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and aspire to exceed the needs of all our Guests.
We are sincerely sorry that your stay was hampered by this discomfort and will ensure all arriving Guests are advised of the availability of heaters and extra blankets in each Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed three nights in March 2014 and it can't be bettered. The location is stunning, the rooms very comfortable and the professionalism combined with friendly fun aproach of Chris and Michelle make it a very special experience.
Dinner and breakfast are great too and with views straight down Queen Charlotte Sound it will long stay in the memory.
Thanks again and we hope to be back some day.

peter and Virginia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pedro1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Peter and Virginia,
Thank you sincerely for reviewing your stay at Tirimoana House. Your rating and kind words are very much appreciated by both Chris and me.
I must admit I am humbled by the number of wonderful responses, kind and eloquent words and also the ratings we have received from our Guests since opening Tirimoana House almost a year ago.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the possibility of making you welcome once again,
Best Wishes
Michelle & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at Tirimoana House in January having travelled round the South Island and just before our return to UK. This was without doubt a highlight of our one month stay in NZ. The room was wonderful, the evening meal a delight - perfect. We have recommended Tirimoana House to friends who are travelling to NZ later in 2014. Michelle was a wonderful host and if we are ever back in NZ we will stay again.

Room Tip: Don't want to give this away in case we are back at the same time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you sincerely for your wonderful comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Over recent months I have been overwhelmed by the acknowledgements I have received and feel very humble by the many Trip Advisor reviews that have been posted.
I look forward to the opportunity of making you welcome once again,
Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Michelle and Chris couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Lovely views over the Queen Charlotte Sound enjoyed from both the expansive common deck, where one dines al fresco, weather permitting, and the private balconies. Very comfortable bed and pleasant room. Swimming pool and hot tub for lazing after QC tramping.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelover2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to offer our Hospitality.
Also, your kind words are very much appreciated by both Chris and me.
We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay as well as enjoying the facilities of Tirimoana House.
Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
5.4 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
16.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.9 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirimoana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Property: Tirimoana House
Address: 257 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing