We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect end to the Queen Charlotte Track” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tirimoana House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tirimoana House
Ranked #4 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect end to the Queen Charlotte Track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

Our party of 5 arrived after 4 days walking the QCT. I phoned Michelle and she would have happily picked us up from the wharf but we decided to walk.
Michelle came out to greet us and we were offerred refreshing cool drinks / tea with beautiful homemade cakes.
We were given a tour of the house which a beautifuly eclectic , Michelle & John's paintings are everywhere and there are some very interesing antiques from their travels.
Every room has views of The Sounds and every room has an en-suite though some are squeezed into the room. The rooms were light and airy, well appointed and every small detail had been throught of , including binoculars to view The Sounds!
Access to the internet at no charge was great too
Dinner was an excellent Chicken Tagine. Our party the other 2 guests ate on the terrace. John hosted the table and ate with us while Michelle worked wonders in the kitchen.
The dinner was rounded off with espresso coffee from a cafe sized machine - perfect!
After we'd finished the meal, John came to us to ensure that there was nothing else we needed.
We had booked a 7.30am water taxi back to Picton but Michelle was up early to provide us with a hearty cooked breakfast then took our luggage down to the wharf.
John and Michelle saw us off from the wharf - like old friends.
This was our best accommodation / dinner experience of the QCT.
Michelle and John could not have been more attentive.
Our only issue was vicious sandflies (which are verywhere on the QCT) - so keep the insect repellant at hand.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longuevilletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirihouse, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this for us.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Have a great Christmas
Best wishes
Michelle and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Best B&B that we've ever stayed at. Michelle and John are superb hosts. The views of Queen Charlotte Sound are magnificent. The room was perfect in every way. Great location; peaceful and cozy. A must if you're going to be in the Picton area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

My mother and I spent a wonderful 4 days at the Tirimoana House. Our hosts, John and Michelle, were hosts that provided us with everything we needed during our stay - good laughs, history and stories about the region/country, gourmet and delicious food, comfortable and spacious room, hot tub, complementary boat ride to the Queen Charlotte track starting point, helpful tips and other support that enabled us to have a memorable vacation and life-long souvenir. I highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirihouse, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Thanks so much for your kind words.
Glad you enjoyed the stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the hague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We traveled in New Zealand and wanted to explore Marlborough and do some hiking in the Sounds. We made reservations at Tirimoana House. When we arrived we thought we were at the wrong place, the entrance does not look fantastic. But after Michelle stepped out the door we loved every minute of it. the room was lovely with a lot of space, food was delicious, owners are very warm and very helpful but the view was the most exciting thing, so beautiful! We spend 3 nights there and loved every minute!
Wonderful place and owners!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mj_hague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Michelle was fantastic, great food, great rooms, very hospitable and organised a wine trail with the bubbly grape which was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Located at the foot of Queen Charlotte Sound, Tirimoana House sits on a rise with simply beautiful views down the sound. Those views are constantly shifting with the interplay of sun, clouds, wind and occasional rain. The house and the rooms are very comfortable, decorated in an eclectic style with lots of paintings by our hosts, John and Michelle, who are talented artists in addition to being lovely and accommodating people. Breakfasts on the front deck watching the sun rise over the sound offer a welcome variety beyond the standard cereal, toast and eggs, that includes french toast with real maple syrup and eggs Benedict. They also offer guests who don't want to travel to Havelock or Picton (12 and 15 miles respectively) the opportunity to join them for wonderful dinners that include a nice selection of wines and entertaining conversation.

The location of Tirimoana House is ideal for those wanting to hike on the Queen Charlotte Track or explore the Marlborough Sound area by foot, boat (and they have sea kayaks available for guests), or car.

We can't imagine that we could have stayed anywhere in the area where we would have had a more enjoyable time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

My wife and I spent two nighs at the Tirimoana House, including Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The B & B is located up a quiet road of the Queen Charlotte Drive. We stayed in the Sunrise Room which had beautiful views of the sound and great private deck to sit out on. The place itself is very eclectic, with great little knick knacks around the house. John and Michelle, our wonderful hosts, are both amateur painters. You can see paintings from all of the places they have visited. Breakfast is served outside on a beautiful deck with views of the sound. Michelle is an amazing chef and breakfast was great. My wife and I also had Christmas Eve dinner with John and Michelle. It was one of the big highlights of our trip to New Zealand. Christmas morning brought carols playing, John and Michelle (and even Sugar the dog) dressed in holiday fare. We were even treated to a Christmas present at the breakfast table. John and Michelle made us feel so welcome in their home and I would recommend the Tirimoana House to anyone wanting a great B & B experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjraye35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirihouse, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Thanks for the kind words and for taking the time.
Getting busier here now.
Hope you have a wonderful Christmas
Best Wishes John and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
5.4 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
16.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
7.4 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.4 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirimoana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Property: Tirimoana House
Address: 257 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing