We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Honeymoon”
Review of Tirimoana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tirimoana House
Ranked #4 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Michelle and John are the most wonderful hosts! Their home is spectacular and they welcomed us like we were part of their family. We were on our honeymoon and enjoyed fabulous food, breathtaking views, cozy evenings, and warm hospitality as only Michelle and John know how to do! Their dog, Shug, was delightful as well! We look forward to returning to New Zealand in the future and staying at Tirimoana House. It was truly a dream honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushilax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

Great position for touring the area, and the Queen Charlotte Walk (and Drive). Very clean with great food and wonderful friendly hosts who do everything they can to make your stay one to remember. The views from the bedrooms are spectacular, and breakfast is something to look forward to every morning - especially when the Tui bird is singing in the tree by the veranda.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losmatillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

John and Michelle couldn't be make us feel more welcomed and comfortable, going above and beyond what is expected to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They made us feel like we were visiting friends rather than guests!
The rooms are luxuriously furnished with breathtaking views. I could stay all day sitting on the veranda with a book and a glass of wine, soaking in the surroundings.
Oh and the food... mom said it was the best we had in NZ. And mind you, among the contenders were some highly recommended Michelin restaurants. You must must must have dinner there to sample Michelle's extraordinary talent for cooking. Oh, and of course, John's (the professionally certified barrister's) coffee with an oomph. ;)
But hurry, you gotta catch them before they go on their Australian Adventure very soon. We're thankful we did, the stay at Tirimoana house completed our NZ holiday :)

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

The best start we could have imagined to our honeymoon. We spent 3 days enjoying the local walks, wine and the 5* Food at Tirimoana. John and Michelle are truely excellent , knowledgable and personable hosts which made all the difference. Many thanks and we hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilandTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Our party of 5 arrived after 4 days walking the QCT. I phoned Michelle and she would have happily picked us up from the wharf but we decided to walk.
Michelle came out to greet us and we were offerred refreshing cool drinks / tea with beautiful homemade cakes.
We were given a tour of the house which a beautifuly eclectic , Michelle & John's paintings are everywhere and there are some very interesing antiques from their travels.
Every room has views of The Sounds and every room has an en-suite though some are squeezed into the room. The rooms were light and airy, well appointed and every small detail had been throught of , including binoculars to view The Sounds!
Access to the internet at no charge was great too
Dinner was an excellent Chicken Tagine. Our party the other 2 guests ate on the terrace. John hosted the table and ate with us while Michelle worked wonders in the kitchen.
The dinner was rounded off with espresso coffee from a cafe sized machine - perfect!
After we'd finished the meal, John came to us to ensure that there was nothing else we needed.
We had booked a 7.30am water taxi back to Picton but Michelle was up early to provide us with a hearty cooked breakfast then took our luggage down to the wharf.
John and Michelle saw us off from the wharf - like old friends.
This was our best accommodation / dinner experience of the QCT.
Michelle and John could not have been more attentive.
Our only issue was vicious sandflies (which are verywhere on the QCT) - so keep the insect repellant at hand.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longuevilletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirihouse, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write this for us.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Have a great Christmas
Best wishes
Michelle and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Best B&B that we've ever stayed at. Michelle and John are superb hosts. The views of Queen Charlotte Sound are magnificent. The room was perfect in every way. Great location; peaceful and cozy. A must if you're going to be in the Picton area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My mother and I spent a wonderful 4 days at the Tirimoana House. Our hosts, John and Michelle, were hosts that provided us with everything we needed during our stay - good laughs, history and stories about the region/country, gourmet and delicious food, comfortable and spacious room, hot tub, complementary boat ride to the Queen Charlotte track starting point, helpful tips and other support that enabled us to have a memorable vacation and life-long souvenir. I highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirihouse, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Thanks so much for your kind words.
Glad you enjoyed the stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anakiwa hotels
0.4 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anakiwa Lodge
Anakiwa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Anakiwa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
130 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tirimoana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Address: 257 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: £151 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing